RateBeer
overall
100
100
style
Serve in Snifter, Tulip

bottled
available

on tap
unknown

Local Distribution

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 346   WEIGHTED AVG: 4.05   SEASONAL: Special   EST. CALORIES: 360   ABV: 12%
Share this beer with friends!
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
We are extremely honored to present to you our 13th Anniversary barrel aged blend! This is our fourth barrel aged release and each year is another adventure into the flavor unknown. Our oak aging cellar continues to grow and so do the blending possibilities. We peaked at just over 120 barrels in our program this year, yet only 53 barrels made this year’s final blend. We have stayed true to our original goal of making straight ahead strong ales and letting them rest in wood barrels to mature and develop flavors slowly and naturally. We again met with some of the area’s best wine makers and allowed them to guide us to the finished product. Most of the beers that are in this blend are old friends who we know well. Dark and ominous Parabola along with the rich and complex Bravo Brown were brewed again this year and together became the center piece of this blend. Other beers like the Rufus and Opal along with Sean Paxton’s Saucerful of Secrets are still tucked away in the cellar in their original first generation form, gaining character with extended aging. Velvet Merkin has established itself as a real barrel loving beer, although it is only 6%, it carries barrel qualities beautifully. A new beer, that was created this year by our Cellar Master Ali Razi, is Double Double Barrel Ale and it found its way into this blend as well. In the end, this year brought us seven wine makers and seven beers to counter balance our lucky thirteenth year of brewing beer on the Central Coast. The brewery is alive and well and oak is as much a part of our program today as it was back in 1996!

As a finished beer, 13 is more sublime then last year’s blend. It is all about the subtleties and quiet tones. It has deep dark chocolate notes and is accented with dried fruit and licorice. There are hints of molasses and even a little cherry in the middle complimenting the vanilla and coconut notes brought in by the oak. These barrel qualities are very well integrated and meld well with the roast malt and caramel undertones. It is best enjoyed in a half filled brandy snifter or wine glass. Allow it to warm to 55F to fully enjoy the pleasing and complex aromas. If left in a cool dark place, I suspect that this beer will age well. It was a pleasure in the making and I truly hope you enjoy our fourth oak- aged blend!


3.9
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
jercraigs (7638) - Toronto, Ontario, CANADA - JUL 19, 2014
2014-07-08. Very dark brown body small head. 3+ Aroma is pleasant, dark malt, sweet sugary touches. Flavour is rich, dark malt core, light fruit notes. Smooth medium bodied palate, soft carbonation. Pretty nice. Bottle, Tasting at cgarvieuk’s, Edinburgh

3.9
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
DuffMan (6534) - the land of bitumen, beef & beer, Alberta, CANADA - JUL 11, 2014
Bottle, RBAG 2014 prelim, vertical tasting 13 through 17. Certainly the darkest of the bunch. Plummy vinous aroma and flavour, dark toffee, light toasted coconut.

3.9
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
kbudd19 (562) - Edmonton, Alberta, CANADA - JUL 11, 2014
5 year vertical! Dark brown pour (they all are except 15). Aroma is burnt sugar, toffee, and some sticky sweetness. Taste is a bit oxidized, very mellow compared to the other versions, a little bit of vinous, mellow finish, with light carbonation. Really Good but 14 was the best of the bunch I think this one may be headed down hill but it’s still holding up well.

3.7
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 15/20
dfearnley (885) - Alberta, CANADA - JUL 11, 2014
Bottle to plastic taster at the RBAG14 warmup ... FW Anniversay Vertical Salt, caramel, malt. Dark brown, no head. Best one so far. First one so far. Citrus, caramel, nuts, anise. A bit mellow.

3.7
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
Ferris (3019) - Burnaby, British Columbia, CANADA - JUL 11, 2014
Bottle - Vintage 2009 - Raisin, prune and toffee. Dark opaque with almost not head. Raisin, toffee and some booze. Nice with a long creamy finish.

4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
BenH (2198) - Edinburgh, SCOTLAND - JUL 8, 2014
Bottle, thanks Craig. NEar black with tan head. Aroma is slightly oxidised, licorice, sherry. Taste is similar, sherry, licorice, bourbon, coconut

3.9
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
Stuu666 (1703) - Edinburgh, SCOTLAND - JUL 8, 2014
Bottle at Craig’s. Pours black, nose is toffee, vanilla, caramel, taste is rich, toffee, vanilla, dry, sweet, fruity, coconut.

4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
BelgianBeerGal (3103) - Panama City, Florida, USA - MAY 31, 2014
Vegas bottle finally enjoyed on the next -to-last night at 910. Dark pour like a stout with a tan head that dissipates. Big strong aroma of brown sugar, farm fruit and a little toffee. Thick syrupy mouthfeel. Lots of coffee in the taste. The booze has burned down a good bit but it’s still there. Very nice.

4
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
conway (1318) - - MAY 31, 2014
Bottle. Dark cola with no head. Aroma is maple syrup, roast and bourbon barrel. Taste is really woody from the barrels. Maple, chocolate, butter, coconut, soy and roast. Very deep. Delicious.

4.5
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 18/20
Bacterial (1404) - Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA - APR 8, 2014
The real deal. Bottle purchased at Blue Palms. Happy for me and unhappy for my credit card. Dark brown pour with a slight head big bourbon and chocolate nose. Big bourbon flavor in the taste, warm but not overpowering. Really nice.


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 35


Tick this beer

for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Copyright © 2000-2014,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
reserved.
about us
About RateBeer
FAQ
Contact/Feedback
New Beers
add
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Events
membership
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50