RateBeer
overall
100
100
style
Serve in Snifter, Tulip

bottled
common

on tap
common

Broad Distribution

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 685   WEIGHTED AVG: 4.09   SEASONAL: Special   EST. CALORIES: 375   ABV: 12.5%
Share this beer with friends!
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
Our first release of the embodiment of good versus evil in a barrel-aged blend. Part bourbon barreled The Serpent’s Stout, and part brandy barreled The Angel’s Share, this is our most anticipated release of the summer.


4.2
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
cards04 (2031) - Steinbach, Manitoba, CANADA - MAR 5, 2015
I?ve wanted to try this baby for a long time. I?m pumped to finally crack it open. Pours an inky black with zero head. Aromas of sweet bourbon, vanilla, chocolate, and a bit of coconut. Nice cocoa nib flavors, sweet booze, coconut, vinous brandy, vanilla. No carbonation. I love this beer, I love this brewery. Cheers!

4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
aleksander9 (596) - Oslo, NORWAY - MAR 4, 2015
-short review- overall: the aftertaste develops in stages. The overall beer is thick and compact. Truly a sipper

3.9
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 16/20
nbouchy (13) - Thionville, FRANCE - FEB 28, 2015
Nez puissant sur le chocolat, les arômes grillés et boisés, accompagnés de raisins secs. Quelques arômes de vanille. Bouche ample sur le chocolat et les notes vanillées. On retrouve le brandy et le bourbon. Belles notes torréfiées et grillées. Finale torréfiée, longue, douce et amère sur le chocolat et les fruits secs.

3.1
   AROMA 6/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 6/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 13/20
Clownoisseur (325) - Buchanan, Michigan, USA - FEB 24, 2015
2012 vintage bottle. Pours black with copper hues. Still, like half-spent motor oil. Oily texture provides some legs. Aromas are of light roast, light raisin sweetness and lots of barrel character in the form of wet oak, bourbon and a brandy sweetness. Taste is much thinner than expected. Not a whole lot of depth here. I get lots of bourbon/brandy interplay, but the roast, barley, anise and oak are extremely faint and in the background. Finishes pretty hot with a warm bourbon/molasses/brandy interplay. Not what I was expecting.

4.2
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 16/20
VastActiv (3332) - Oulu, FINLAND - FEB 22, 2015
Bottle 12.7 fl. oz. at Beer Junction, Seattle. Vintage 2014. Colour is dark brown with very small brownish head. Aromas and flavours: Wood, some coffee, chocolate, hints of bourbon and roasted malts. Very soft. Can’t find any signs of alcohol or booze. Very special.

3.9
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
kerenmk (2791) - Tel Aviv, ISRAEL - FEB 18, 2015
Bottle sample at a tasting at the Beer & Beyond shop. Thanks DSG. Black and opaque.Petrol, ink and salt aroma, bitter, a little salty but also lots of chocolate in the mouth. Full body, chocolatey and salt aftertaste.

4.3
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
Swaroga (1582) - Brussels, BELGIUM - FEB 16, 2015
Butelka 375ml. OCZY : piwo jest czarne o niewielkiej pianie. Piana jest brązowa. NOS : aromat jest średnio intensywny ze względu na śladowe nasycenie ale jest wyraźny : dominujące nuty to czekolada, bakalie, wanilia i alkohol podkreślony nutami bourbona i brandy od beczek z odzysku. Całość jest baaardzo przyjemna i ułożona. Łączy to wszystko głębia lekko dymionego i starego drewna plus ciemnego miodu. USTA : nasycenie jest bardzo delikatne o drobniutkich bąbelkach. Tłuste i gęste jak śmietana. Piwo jest słodkie ale nie lepkie. Występuje pewna wytrawność alkoholowa o nutach w stylu bourbona do której można dodać zwietrzałe rodzynki. Gorzkość jest również delikatna o nutach podobnych do czarnej czekolady. Posmak jest głęboki ale aksamitny bo nic nie zalega, ani nie jest cierpkie ani ziemiste. ODCZUCIA : jest to prawdziwy rarytas, trunek, na który warto wydać pieniądze. Więcej w nim polotu niż w niejednym szlachetnym alkoholu. Polecam gorąco dla amatorów piw leżakowanych w beczkach z odzysku. OCENA : smak : 9/10 pijalność : 5/10 styl : +2

4.2
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
Jayb0 (1068) - Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA - FEB 13, 2015
Draft. This was pretty excellent. Cherries, brandy, wood, malt, roast, vanilla, fig, it just goes on and on. No need for dessert, just savor this after a meal.

4.2
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
Beerconnaiseur (155) - BELGIUM - FEB 10, 2015
Rich nose! Cherry, dried dates, oak, wet wood, caramel, vanilla: phew! Very viscous and boozey taste, filled with forest fruit in aftertaste, milk chocolate hints, alcohol of brandy and whiskey. Phenols and esters are strong, especialy the ethyl hexanoate : lovely anis binded to the sugar spectrum! Lots of potential... yes, very sugarry aftertaste and the booze overstems the combination of flavours. Still amazing when aged!

4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
jrob21 (2761) - Atlanta, Georgia, USA - FEB 8, 2015
Complex and intense form start to finish. Lots of fruit and woody oaky notes in the aroma. Flavor has a lot of red fruit again and that brandy sweetness. Little bit of a gritty cocoa texture going on. Reminds you that the stout is there. Everything comes together pretty well but the barley wine and apple barrel kind of dominate. Had a similar blended beer a day or two ago and this one kills it.


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 69


Tick this beer

for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Copyright © 2000-2015,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
reserved.
about us
About RateBeer
FAQ
Contact/Feedback
New Beers
add
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Events
membership
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50