RateBeer
overall
99
93
style
Serve in Snifter

bottled
common

on tap
common

Broad Distribution

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 356   WEIGHTED AVG: 3.94   SEASONAL: Special   IBU: 45   EST. CALORIES: 303   ABV: 10.1%
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
Silva Stout took a lot of patience. We aged our Double Stout in oak bourbon barrels for seventeen months. Flavors are very complex. It starts off with dark chocolate truffles rolled in cocoa powder. Next is the vanilla and wood notes, with rich cherry-like fruitiness. After racking and filtering the ale, we blended in just the right amount of freshly brewed Double Stout to provide the perfect balance of bourbon barrel aging and freshness. Enjoy the culmination of years of flavor development now Ė no further aging required!


4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
brenn79 (1744) - Idaho, USA - AUG 30, 2015
750 ml bottle, 2015 vintage- Pours black with a semi large tan head that reduces leaving some lace. Aroma is bourbon, somewhat tart, lactic, cherries, cocoa, wood, unique for this style, itís not all chocolate and dark roasted malts. The taste is oak, bourbon, chocolate, toffee, the tartness is less in the taste, imparting a more traditional bourbon bbl imperial stout, yet extremely well crafted. So smooth and velvety, the alcohol is noticeable but well in check. Very good.

2.7
   AROMA 5/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 6/10   PALATE 2/5   OVERALL 10/20
mstrcrwly (699) - New York, USA - AUG 29, 2015
bottle poured into a snifter..opaque with a fluffy light brown head..aroma of tart cherries,bourbon..tastes of tart cherries,booze,chocolate...disappointing.

2.5
   AROMA 5/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 5/10   PALATE 2/5   OVERALL 9/20
Johnsense (1012) - - AUG 28, 2015
Dark pour, fair sized mocha head. Taste and aroma of whisky, corn and caramel. Iíll assume itís infected as its lighter bodied and has a bizarre acidic aftertaste. Either that or its just a shitty stout. My revenge will not be pretty

4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
TheBeerGod (5595) - Newport News, Virginia, USA - AUG 21, 2015
Bottle - 750mL corked and caged. Black pour with a tall, thick, dense brown head. Aroma is dark fruit notes. dark chocolate, vanilla, roasted malt and oak. Taste is sweet malt, dark chocolate, cocoa, oak, dark fruit, vanilla and booze. Body is medium-full with a strong, dense carbonation. Very sticky as well as warming. Dark chocolate covered cherries, dark fruit, roasted malt, cocoa, oak and vanilla round this out.

4.9
   AROMA 10/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 10/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 19/20
nearbeer (4236) - Knoxville, Tennessee, USA - AUG 19, 2015
750 ml. bottled February 16, 2015. Opaque ebony with a lasting thin film of creamy bubbles. Nose is chocolate, vanilla, hazelnut, espresso, toffee, whiskey and toasted oak. Tastes of all the same goodness. Finish has a little bit of sweetened cured tobacco and a hint of soy. Medium plus body has smooth low-medium carbonation. Unlike many brewerís claims of "complexity", this one truly unfolds something new with nearly every sip. Itís built into my bones that I canít give a perfect 5.0 score, but with one more mutation in my gene pool this could be the one that getís there. Awesome dessert beer.

4.2
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
jefcon (1514) - Arlington, Virginia, USA - AUG 16, 2015
Lots of great chocolate and hazelnut aromas. Somewhat dry finish and a medium weight on the palate. Vanilla and dark fruit.

3.6
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 6/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 14/20
Advocate_Ames (513) - Pennsylvania, USA - AUG 14, 2015
BBA version. Pours dark with a thick, sticky, and creamy foam head. The aroma is of sweet bourbon, roasted malts, chocolate, some milk lactose, toffee, hints of dark fruit, vanilla, and booze. As for flavor its boozy, with sweet lactose, a roasted malty bitterness, vanilla, and a sour fruit flavor... it is possible that my bottle was infected. Overall it was still a good drink but not worth buying due to the risk of quality standards.

1.1
   AROMA 3/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 2/10   PALATE 1/5   OVERALL 1/20
jbuskirk (698) - Lincoln, Nebraska, USA - AUG 3, 2015
After reading several reports of the Cellar #3 series bottles being infected, I began to be concerned that the bottle I had lovingly stored for months might be one of those unlucky few. When presented with a potential tragedy and financial misstep, I did what we all do. I lied to myself. "Surely, my Silva Stout wonít be infected," I said. "After all, I recycle, I eat vegetables, I put the toilet seat down." Sadly, the universe cared nothing for these niceties. It went the hell on and spoiled (at least part of) my Silva Stout. Smell was nothiní but butterscotch. Flavor had more of the same upfront and starchy, halfway sour grains in the finish. I wonít forgive you for this, universe.

3.4
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 6/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 14/20
HuskerTan (982) - Kearney, Nebraska, USA - AUG 2, 2015
Bottle. A- Butterscotch, subtle apple, vanilla. A- Black color, dark liquid, brown slightly fizzy head. T- Butterscotch, vanilla. P- Full body, average texture, average carbonation, soft finish. O- Pretty sure this one had some mild infection going on in it. Otherwise it was all butterscotch and vanilla.

3
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 4/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 10/20
SureFaust (10) - Oregon, USA - JUL 27, 2015
Cellar #3 Series, For how complex everyone has been claiming this to be I found it to be a little disappointing. Poured like motor oil, with a nice tan head. Flavor was just right at the front of the beer, had nice smooth chocolate, some vanilla and then the booze. Yet the aftertaste was incredibly acidic and put a huge damper in my palate. Perhaps my batch was infected, sad for my first stout from a favorite brewery.


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 36


Tick this beer

for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Copyright © 2000-2015,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
reserved.
about us
About RateBeer
FAQ
Contact/Feedback
New Beers
add
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Events
membership
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50