RateBeer
Home >

Thirsty Dog Siberian Night Imperial Stout

overall
100
98
style
Serve in Snifter

bottled
available

on tap
unknown

Regional Distribution

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 1309   WEIGHTED AVG: 4.09/5   SEASONAL: Winter   EST. CALORIES: 291   ABV: 9.7%
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
Creamy and full-bodied, with a complex character from generous amounts of roasted, toasted, and caramel malts. For those who demand flavor, this is the perfect libation. Bronze Medal winner 2003 GABF, Gold Medal winner 2005 GABF.


4.1
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
jjgmd (1961) - Coral Springs, Florida, USA - JUL 22, 2016
With Audrie and Marissa, bottle at Big Bear, Coral Springs, pours a dark rich black pour with an ephemeral beige head. Nose is roasted malt, Java, burnt wood, black licorice. Taste is sweet bitter chocolate with roasted deep malt . Finishes sweetly on the same tasting notes with a rich chocolate dessert ending ! Nice !! Quaff Score 9 / 10

3.5
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 6/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 13/20
Prufrockstar (1901) - Cincinnati, Ohio, USA - JUL 12, 2016
Bottle, because this is a shelfy in my new neighborhood. Thick sexy black pour with creamy khaki head, decent retention, great lacing. Aroma: Plenty of roast coffee, backed by marshmallow, caramel, and a hint of dark fruit. Smells very nice - even with the implied marshmallow sweetness, my expectation is that this leans to the bitter roast side. Taste is ... disappointing. Lots of roast, bitter coffee, and metal, like sucking on a copper penny that I’d dropped into a can of Folgers and then for some reason put into my mouth. If that’s your thing, there’s no judgment here, but I’m just not into it. Palate: chalky texture, full body. Lasting, lingering rusty metal finish. Overall: I have a few more bottles in this 4-pack, so maybe my impressions will change over the rest of this. As it is, maybe I’m a victim of my own high expectations for this one.

3.9
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
JHeath99 (1676) - Warner Robins, Georgia, USA - JUN 15, 2016
Bottle shared by Brian. Pours a dark opaque black with a layer of dark tan head. Aroma and taste of coffee, super roasted malts.

3.3
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 6/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 13/20
tnkw01 (1707) - Knoxville, Tennessee, USA - JUN 13, 2016
Bottle. Very dark brown, almost black. With a small tan head. Aroma is rotated grains and coffee. Taste is burnt toast and dark coffee with a bitter finish.

4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
oldrtybastrd (4951) - Fort Walton Beach, Florida, USA - MAY 8, 2016
Pours a jet black. Aromas of espresso/chocolate and roasted malts. Taste dark roasted coffee and bittersweet chocolate malt with a nice bitter bite.

4.2
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
TXBadger (2459) - Dallas, Texas, USA - APR 20, 2016
Pours an opaque dark, dark brown almost black color like oil with similar viscosity and khaki colored head. Roasted malts, toast, and dark chocolate on the nose; follows onto the palate. Full bodied. Finishes with dark chocolate and roastiness.

4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
AWISLguy (2400) - Wisconsin, USA - APR 19, 2016
12oz bottle from Total Wine in Jensen Beach/Stuart at cellar temperature, shared with bananabi11. Black pour with a brown head. Aroma has big chocolate, caramel, molasses and roast. Taste is all chocolate, roast, molasses and caramel. Thick, bittersweet and strong. Lowly carbonated, body is full and the blend is well done. Some alcohol presence. Finishes bittersweet and thick. Excellent, thick "imperial" stout. 14.8

3.5
   AROMA 6/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 14/20
BroadestTom (364) - Pennsylvania, USA - APR 10, 2016
Aroma chocolate, roasty, Appearance black, tan foam, brown foam, Taste medium sweetness, lightly bitter, Palate medium body, Overall a very smooth chocolate and roasty beer that hides the alcohol very well. I would suggest this beer to a friend.

4.1
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 18/20
gregwilsonstl (1942) - St. Louis, Missouri, USA - APR 10, 2016
Dark black. Medium khaki head. Tasted side by side with BA version. Thick and chewy. Roasted. Perfectly, and I mean perfectly cooked toast. Lasting roastiness. Enjoyed after running my 5th marathon.

4.1
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
chinchill (4115) - South Carolina, USA - MAR 29, 2016
12 oz bottle into a Belgian snifter. Poured with a short, tan head atop a black body. Spots of sticky lacing.get left on the glass. Aroma: medium-strong with lots of roasted dark malts, hints of molasses, caramel, vanilla, ripe dark fruits, brown sugar and chocolate. Flavor: strong, lightly sweet with a mildly bitter aftertaste. Hints of brown sugar, toffee, vanilla, ripe dark fruits, bittersweet chocolate and licorice. Tasty!. Feel: Full bodied; high viscosity; low carbonation; mild but lingering alcohol heat in the finish. Overall: an excellent Imperial stout, I prefer this to the Founders Imperial Stout I had (again) just two days ago.


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 131


Tick this beer for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Copyright © 2000-2016,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
reserved.
about us
About RateBeer
FAQ
Contact/Feedback
New Beers
add
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Events
membership
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50