RateBeer
overall
100
100
style
Serve in Shaker, Tulip

bottled
common

on tap
common

Broad Distribution

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 1919   WEIGHTED AVG: 4.09   EST. CALORIES: 218   ABV: 7.25%
Share this beer with friends!
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
AleSmith IPA used to be known as "Irie Pirate Ale." However, some nasty patent attorneys think the name is too similar to another brand, so we had to "cease and desist." It's a darn shame, but it beats an obnoxious legal battle, in both expenses and Excedrin. Don't worry though, we won't change the beer (which is a MUCH better IPA than that "other" brand). It was conceived as an American-style IPA to satisfy the yearnings of the most die-hard hopheads. Its high alcohol content may catch you unawares if you're not careful, but it's hard to resist once you've tasted it. Appearance: Deep golden to light amber color, and a nice beige head, with good retention when properly served. Flavor: Starts off with strong citrusy, resiny flavors, balanced by a nice malty sweetness, then fades to a dry finish with a lingering hoppiness and a faint hint of plums and black cherries. Aroma: Strong piney-citrusy character, with vanilla in the background. Mouthfeel (body/texture): Smooth, medium-bodied. Feels warm in the mouth from the alcohol.


4.5
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 10/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
CroftyCuts (7) - - NOV 14, 2014 does not count
Bottle. Pretty close to my favourite beer. Pours deep golden colour with a white head that disappears quickly. Caramel aroma and burnt caramel flavour backed up nicely with bitterness. Get it in and around you!!

4.1
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 15/20
hman43 (376) - Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA - OCT 31, 2014
It pours a golden, but a little dark. It leaves healthy lacing on the class with an off white head. It has a citrus aroma with piney and caramel aromas as well. There is a strong caramel taste with piney flavors and citrus flavors that are well blended. It has a bold, bitter bite to the palate.

4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 15/20
supermeniscus (62) - The Hague, NETHERLANDS - OCT 31, 2014
Very well made IPA from Alesmith. Bottle drank last Xmas procured from Biernavigatie online beer shop. Aroma has plenty going on, piney, yeasty, herbal. Taste for me is resin bitter, freshly baked bread, bit of spice. Nice, but I’ve had better I think.

3.9
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
BeerFanDan17 (1017) - Brunswick, Maine, USA - OCT 27, 2014
A very impressive and well-balanced IPA. Pours a rich golden with a thick frothy head. Easily one of the imperial IPAs out there. Nice maltiness and bittersweet hoppiness. ---Rated via Beer Buddy for iPhone

4.6
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 18/20
Tstamba (353) - Maryland, USA - OCT 26, 2014
Bomber to a pint glass while watching game 5 World Series 2014... Hazy golden color ... 2 finger tan head with good retention. Citrus and resiny aroma balanced with mildly sweet but ample malt bill. Smooth dry slightly bitter warming finish ... The IPA standard... Absolutely delicious !!! ---Rated via Beer Buddy for iPhone

4.3
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
phikus (75) - syracuse, New York, USA - OCT 26, 2014
I really liked this beer, but was expecting more. I had a bottle less than two months old. I wouldn’t describe this at all as sticky, maybe medium resinous, a little juicy for my taste. I guess I’m comparing the two because I feel there are some similarities, but I prefer a Sculpin IPA. I also had a bottle six months old and the malt was more prevelant and the beer seemed more complex. Its not the first IPA I liked a little less fresh but it is unique in how much I feel the taste changed

3.9
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
jandd1983 (2685) - Florissant, Missouri, USA - OCT 21, 2014
On tap at the brewery. It poured a slightly hazy golden light amber color with a small head. The aroma was of caramel malts, some light citrus, fruits and pine. The taste was of fruit sweetness with a good malt background. It had a light to medium in body with a lingering fruity sweetness. Awesome.

4
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
bigguns22 (704) - Maryland, USA - OCT 19, 2014
A almost perfect ipa in the classic ipa format. Pour is golden to light amber with a thick tall cream colored head that lingers. Aroma is earthy,citrus and floral. A creamy ipa that coats the inside of your mouth and lingers. Tons of hops with a refreshing lack of bitterness but not flavor.

4.5
   AROMA 10/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
slowrunner77 (6019) - Reno, Nevada, USA - OCT 16, 2014
UPDATED: OCT 20, 2014 still in denial that this is not an imperial...almost as strong as Ruination abv-wise...super hoppy in the nose and flavor (which is nice) but what makes it really stand out is the tremendous maltiness as well. great beer...maybe not as drinkable as Stone or Marin, but super-flavorful!!! Alesmith has earned it’s rep."

4.1
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 16/20
Fashawn (166) - Montesarchio, ITALY - OCT 15, 2014
Non amo le IPA, specie le super amare americane.ma questa è di gran lunga la migliore bevuta. Bella già dall’aspetto. La mia è quasi arancio ramato, purtroppo ha 8 mesi di vita e la cosa non la rende ideale. Ma al naso è ancora pimpante, pini e resina, sciroppo d’acero, biscotti, ma anche tanti pompelmi e scorza di limone. In bocca non delude , con imbocco allo sciroppo d’acero, poi aghi di pino, qualcosa di simile, caramelle mou centralmente ed un finale secco al pompelmo. A tratti anche toffee. Il retrogusto è ai frutti tropicali tipo ribes. Veramente ripulente e lungo, molto apprezzata.


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 192


Tick this beer

for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Copyright © 2000-2014,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
reserved.
about us
About RateBeer
FAQ
Contact/Feedback
New Beers
add
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Events
membership
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50