RateBeer
Home >

Lost Abbey Box Set: Track #10 (Bat out of Hell)

overall
100
98
style
Serve in Snifter

bottled
common

on tap
available

Broad Distribution

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 297   WEIGHTED AVG: 4.11/5   SEASONAL: Series   EST. CALORIES: 360   ABV: 12%
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
Late in November of 2011, Mike Rodriguez our head brewer asked about creating a Coffee and Cacoa Nib version of Serpent’s Stout for the San Diego Strong Ale Festival. The beer was a hit with our fans. When we wrote up the syllabus for the Ultimate Box Set, we knew a version of this beer would be included. We waited until the very end of the release schedule to put this beer in a bottle so that the coffee and cacoa nibs really come through. Four Bourbon barrels were selected for their rich and dense chocolate flavors. One week before packaging, we added 17 lbs of Ryan Brothers Coffee and 4 lbs of TCHO Cacao Nibs were added to the coffee and cacao to steep before packaging.


4.4
   AROMA 10/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 10/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
AirForceHops (5971) - Epping, New Hampshire, USA - JUL 24, 2016
375 ml bottle shared by Chalumeaux. Thanks TJ. Aroma is mellow integrated bourbon notes with a roasted coffee beans and notes of coca nibs.

Whatever bourbon barrel they aged this in was a perfect vessel for this stout. The bourbon cuts through the cocoa nibs and coffee and provides balance.The booze is almost completely hidden with only a mild warming after the swallow. Body is mostly full but the alcohol may have thin it just a bit, no matter. If this stout was more reasonably priced, I would grab many bottles. This is pretty delightful, my kind of stout.

4.3
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 17/20
Chalumeaux (1008) - Methuen, Massachusetts, USA - JUL 24, 2016
Poured from bottle dark cola with a nice cocoa head and long lacing. Aromas of dark chocolate coffe vanilla roasted malt and bourbon. Taste is complex layers of flavor abound. Coffee chocolate vanilla and a nice long lingering burn of bourbon.

4
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
Berard (602) - Salem, New Hampshire, USA - JUL 17, 2016
Bottle. Pours nearly black with zero head. Bourbon chocolate aroma over mild carbonation. Big sweet vanilla aroma. ---Rated via Beer Buddy for iPhone

3.8
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
Zymurgeist2 (1742) - Redwood City, California, USA - JUL 16, 2016
On draught at Ale Arsenal. Pours a deep black with moderate low brown head. The coffee and chocolate both show nicely here, but did not get much of the barrel. Very good.

3.7
   AROMA 6/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
20107589 (690) - randers, DENMARK - JUL 13, 2016
pour black with a brown disapering head. caramel, chocolate, boosy bourbon aroma, taste light sweet, notes of bitterness. medium to full bodied creamy with a soft carbonation.

3.7
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 14/20
argo0 (13021) - Washington DC, USA - JUL 10, 2016
375ml bottle. Medium tan head atop black body with brown edge, nice lacing. Aroma is moderately sweet, milk chocolate, Bourbon, some coffee, light molasses. Taste is sweet, Bourbon, milk chocolate, some coffee, light vinous. Medium-full body, some stickiness, light alcohol burn.

5
   AROMA 10/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 10/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 20/20
davidm (2068) - Sunnyvale, California, USA - JUL 9, 2016
Perfect. Chocolate and vanilla flavours with very long length. Warm alcoholic finish.

4.6
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 18/20
Antonio369 (134) - The Hague, NETHERLANDS - JUL 2, 2016
12.7 fl.oz. bottle, served in a snifter glass. Poured black as night on a moonless night with an one finger mocha tan head that dissipated quickly. Aroma is fantastic and hits me with loads and loads of dark chocolate, vanilla, bourbon, dark roasted espresso beans, oak, molasses & dark fruit. Taste is just fingerlickin’ good: Dark chocolate, roasted espresso, Bourbon, molasses, oak, vanilla, dark fruit, licorice, caramel, creme brulee, whole wheat currant bread, raisins, soy sauce, salt, roasted nuts. Very thick and creamy mouthfeel. A full body with a chocolate, coffee and boozy bourbon finish. Absolutely divine nectar!

4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 14/20
Mr_Pink_152 (3472) - Lincoln, Lincolnshire, ENGLAND - JUN 21, 2016
Bottle from Cotteridge wines. Deep black colour with no head. Aroma wet molasses, chocolate, coffee, bourbon. Taste is sweet, boozy and coffee. Thick body.

4.5
   AROMA 10/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 10/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
Biroholik (764) - Sosnowiec, Poland, POLAND - JUN 14, 2016
Alkohol: 13,5% obj.
Kolor: Czarny, nieprzejrzysty.
Piana: Z pewnością nie jest najmocniejszą stroną piwa. Jest beżowa, drobnoziarnista, niska i ucieka z sykiem z prędkością TGV. Na szkle pojedyńcze kropeczki, obrączka minimalistyczna.
Zapach: Aromat jest pierwszorzędny. Akcenty beczki dają równo po nosie. Czuć wyraźnie szlachetny alkohol, bourbon, whisky, dębinę, mokre drewno. Doskonale wyeksponowane są waniliowe niuanse, a także ziarna kakaowca. Czokolada deserowa wydaje się wypływać wprost z butelki. Oprócz tego delikatna kawa, praliny z alkoholem w środku, brownie, karmel i porcja lodów śmietankowych. Fantastyczny, głęboki i bardzo intensywny aromat.
Smak: Na języku piwo jest mocno czekoladowe, słodkawe z nutami mokrego drewna, dębiny i z potężnym wpływem beczki po bourbonie. Ogromna porcja lodów waniliowych przyprawionych ziarnami kakaowca i podawanych z kawą Latte. Nuty szlechetnego alkoholu, w tym wypadku bourbonu tworzą zrównoważony, plastyczny obrazek. Wszystko wydaje się tutaj być przemyślane, składniki dobrze do siebie pasujące. Wzorowy balans poszczególnych składowych. Bourbon rozgrzewa od środka, dodaje tej charakterystycznej słodyczy na języku. Nie ma mowy o gryzącym alkoholu. Jest go tyle ile powinno być, nie dominuje, nie wychodzi przed szereg, nie gryzie. A to wcale nie byle co, bo 13,5% obj. Śliska, oleista tekstura, wysoka treściwość. Track #10 jest gęsty jak olej silnikowy. Mistrzowskie wykonanie! Mógłbym to pić i cmokać i siorpać bez końca.
Wysycenie: Niskie, delikatne. Dokładnie w punkt.
Podsumowanie:
Track #10 okazał się piwem fenomenalnym, doskonale zbalansowanym, bogatym zarówno smakowo, jak również zapachowo. Beczka po bourbonie przyniosła monstrualne nuty dębiny, mokrego drewna i wcale nie mniejszej waniliny. Akcenty czekolady, kawy z mlekiem, pralinek czekoladowych z alkoholem, karmelu, ziaren kakaowca, brownie kapitalnie pobudzały ślinianki do pracy. Track #10 w wielu wymiarach podkreślił swoją szlachetną stronę. Dla fanów RIS-ów z górnej półki - pozycja obowiązkowa!


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 30


Tick this beer for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Copyright © 2000-2016,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
reserved.
about us
About RateBeer
FAQ
Contact/Feedback
New Beers
add
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Events
membership
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50