RateBeer
Home >

FiftyFifty Imperial Eclipse Stout - Elijah Craig 20 Year Barrel

 (RETIRED)
overall
100
99
style
Serve in Snifter

bottled
available

on tap
available

Broad Distribution

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 217   WEIGHTED AVG: 4.12   SEASONAL: Special   EST. CALORIES: 300   ABV: 10%
Share this beer with friends!
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
Imperial Eclipse Stout aged in special release Elijah Craig 20 Year Bourbon Barrels

Note from the brewer: The white wax 2011 Eclipse was all 20 year. There was no such brand when we acquired barrels, so we called it 18 year. We have since found out that the 20 year old barrels were dumped for a 20yo Elijah Craig special bottling.

Vintages:
2011 Imperial Eclipse Stout (Elijah Craig 18/20 Year Barrel) = White Wax
2012 Imperial Eclipse Stout (Elijah Craig 20 Year Barrel) = White Wax


4.4
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
Lilja (2071) - Malmö, SWEDEN - JUN 18, 2015
Flaska från Brewing International via privatimport till SB. 18y barrel. 2012. Smak och doft av choklad, kaffe, vanilj, bourbon, marsipan, romrussin och fat. Rund och len, fin beska, stor sötma, kraftfull och karaktär i smakerna, välbalanserad. Riktigt gott!

4.4
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 17/20
Vignale (2493) - Malmö, SWEDEN - JUN 17, 2015
Flaska från Brewing International via privatimport till SB. 18y barrel. Massiv kropp, stor söt doft med massor av bourbon, fat, vanilj, russin, fudge, sötlakrits. Silkeslen, ganska söt, kraftig kropp. Mycket bourbon men det tar inte över helt utan grundölet matchar väldigt bra. Stora smaker, fantastiskt gott. Superbt dessertöl.

4.4
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
bytemesis (4465) - Sunnyvale, California, USA - APR 20, 2015
Bottle. Pours inky black, small brown head, good lacing. Aroma is bourbon forward, vanilla, chocolate, roasty. Flavor is fairly bourbon forward, rich and chocolate, vanilla, touch of toasted coconut. Full body, creamy mouthfeel. A bit hot, but otherwise stellar.

4.3
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
TimE (4061) - Tokyo, JAPAN - APR 17, 2015
P itch black color. Tons for bourbon from start to finish. Big bad all the way through. Very smooth and rich. My fav of the Eclipses.

3.9
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
Habanero (3155) - Tranbjerg, DENMARK - APR 16, 2015
Bottled. Pours pitch black with a nice tan head. Aroma of roasted malt, cocoa. dark chocolate, bourbon, vanilla and wood. Sweet flavor that ends up more dry with bitter notes and alcohol. Medium to full bodied, oily texture and soft carbonation. An great Impy. 🌟🌟🌟🌟

3.2
   AROMA 4/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 13/20
Couch0508 (105) - Flat rock, Michigan, USA - APR 11, 2015
Not great early on but got better as I had it. I think I will wind up going back to it.

4.5
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 17/20
kazin (255) - Malmö, SWEDEN - APR 2, 2015
Bottle shared during a tasting with friends. Great deal of roasted malts, chocolate and coffee. Some bourbon barrel notes.

3.8
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
Westmeister (2061) - Atlanta, Georgia, USA - MAR 9, 2015
HMOG 2015. One of two variants sampled on the day. While I love the series, I found this one to be a bit sweeter than some that I have had. Lots of bourbon, vanilla, barrel, chocolate. Sweet and still yummy.

4.3
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
VictorStr (1740) - Helsingborg, SWEDEN - MAR 6, 2015
Fantastisk arom chocklad och kokos. Ljuvlig balans i smaken, sötma balanseras upp av viss beska, mycket chocklad. Riktigt bra kropp.

4.5
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 18/20
kermis (6844) - The Hague, NETHERLANDS - FEB 15, 2015
Bottle shared. Pours near black with a small tan head. Aroma of vanilla, bourbon, wood, malt, fudge, chocolate, light coffee, molasses. Flavor is heavy sweet and moderate bitter. Medium thick and sticky mouthfeel. Full bodied with soft carbonation.


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 22


Tick this beer

for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Copyright © 2000-2015,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
reserved.
about us
About RateBeer
FAQ
Contact/Feedback
New Beers
add
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Events
membership
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50