RateBeer
Home >

Flying Monkeys BNL Imperial Chocolate Stout

overall
99
89
style
Brewed by Flying Monkeys Craft Brewery
Style: Imperial Stout
Barrie, Canada
Serve in Snifter

bottled
available

on tap
unknown

Local Distribution

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 84   WEIGHTED AVG: 3.85   SEASONAL: Winter   EST. CALORIES: 300   ABV: 10%
Share this beer with friends!
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
NOTE: Pilot batches of this were available prior to release with varying levels of chocolate, including on cask at Cask Days as Mark Henry Sexual Chocolate, which was a blend of a pilot batch and the production batch.

If I had 2 million Ecuadorian Cocoa Nibs... I would brew you an Imperial Chocolate Stout. Brewing with BNL demanded a rare treat -organic Ecuadorian Cocoa nibs -to create a rich, friendly Imperial Chocolate Stout as sweet and quirky as the bandís music. We lovingly aged this beer on a bed of luscious raw cocoa nibs creating a black velvety brew so fudge-y it makes you want to lick the inside of your glass. Opaque as chocolate cake, this roasty brew pours topped with a whipped mocha froth. The creamy dark cocoa flavours gently warm with a steady 10%ABV. No bitterness to this stout, just a chocolate boldness that, like a happy memory or a perfect song, keeps on giving. And like great music, this bottle is meant to be shared with special friends and family.


3.5
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 2/5   OVERALL 15/20
patricks110 (1582) - Alberta, CANADA - MAR 8, 2014
An interesting brew overall but the sweetness kills it for me. Pours a pure black with a thin beige head. The nose is of chocolate milk, dark and milk chocolate with a mild lactose note. Heavy chocolate with a moderate roasted malt character. Tons of milk chocolate and lactose notes. The mouthfeel is a bit watery for the style and the finish lacks the bitter roast of a great imperial stout.

3.6
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 14/20
JStax (2601) - Devola/Marietta, Ohio, USA - FEB 24, 2014
750 ml bottle poured into a mini-snifter. Pours a thick black with a beige head of foam. Aroma is just like chocolate syrup. Taste is all milk chocolate. Thick, nearly gritty mouthfeel. Low carbonation.

4.2
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
ljthiessen (165) - Winnipeg, Manitoba, CANADA - FEB 4, 2014
Rating this one from memory, but itís a memory I like to relive. Last time I cracked one it was a year old. Amazingly chocolatey aroma, fills the room. Smells like brownies and vanilla. Big, full chocolate flavour, sweet with just the right amount of bitterness and booziness. One of my favourites, and I look forward to the day I open my last bottle.

4.6
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 18/20
Strangebrewer (794) - Chatham, Ontario, CANADA - FEB 4, 2014
bottle. Poured solid black with a large brown milky head. The aroma is amazing, sweet chocolate fudge with vanilla. Full body with a rich and creamy mouthfeel with a dry finish, slightly astringent. Flavour is sweet and roasty with notes of chocolate, vanilla, coffee, oh and CHOCOLATE. Has a slight grainy quality but I can get over that.

4
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
mnurda (1085) - Winnipeg, Manitoba, CANADA - JAN 28, 2014
Bottled sample from MLCC. Pours dark brown with minimal head. Large chocolate flavour with great amount of hops. Loved this one

3.5
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 14/20
asheft (2445) - Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA - JAN 25, 2014
Bottle. Potent milk chocolate with some roasted barley vanilla. Clear ruddy highlights around opaque black under a bubbly, light brown ring. Very sweet red fruit and chocolate with an assertive bitterness that drops off to leave a sweet finish. Full body, low carbonation, sweet finish.

3.6
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 15/20
probstblueribbon (2746) - Nepean, Ontario, CANADA - DEC 11, 2013
750 mL bottle from LCBO served cool, shared. Deep brown-black with a thin mocha head. Slightly nutty, huge chocolate, dark, rich cocoa, sweet, deep, big, wow. Medium body, fine, full effervescence. More huge, very dark chocolate, raw cocoa, almost coffee, quite sweet, a little boozy, very big and rich; sweet with big bitterness to balance and a very long, inky, chocolate finish. Great in small quantities.

4.3
   AROMA 10/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
Howlader (422) - - DEC 9, 2013
750ml bottle split with friends. Aged one year. So filled with a chocolate smell and taste. Awesome stout. ---Rated via Beer Buddy for iPhone

4.1
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 14/20
Enegaard (52) - Copenhagen, DENMARK - OCT 29, 2013
I really enjoyed this beer! By far the most chocolaty beer Iíve tried, almost more than chocolate itself! Like drinking carbonated chocolate fudge with alcohol, you can actually slide a finger inside the empty glass and itíll be black and sticky! Wonderful, in my top 3 over Canadian beers for sure!

4.2
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 18/20
jmagnus87 (2220) - Rockford, Illinois, USA - OCT 12, 2013
Bottle sampled at RBSG. From notes. Loads of bitter dark chocolate dominate this brew. Awesome.


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9


Tick this beer

for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Copyright © 2000-2014,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
reserved.
about us
About RateBeer
FAQ
Contact/Feedback
New Beers
add
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Events
membership
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50