Home >

Great Divide Yeti Imperial Stout - Oatmeal

Serve in Snifter


on tap

Regional Distribution

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 460   WEIGHTED AVG: 3.9/5   SEASONAL: Summer   EST. CALORIES: 285   ABV: 9.5%
Much like its legendary predecessors, this Yeti is big, bold and dark.  The addition of rolled oats softens Yeti’s notoriously roasty backbone and the small amount of raisins added in the brew kettle create a unique dark fruit character.  Just as admired as those that came before it, Oatmeal Yeti Imperial Stout is a softer beast.

   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 17/20
tekstr1der (387) - New Hampshire, USA - OCT 23, 2016
Pours black with lingering layer of brown foam that itself looks tasty. Roasty aromas combine with vanilla and some booze on the nose. Flavor is amazing and incredibly smooth. Sweet malt, some smokiness, dark chocolate, and what must be the oats rounding it out. Mouthfeel is creamy to an extreme, just the smoothest of stuff. Finish is remarkably clean given the dense palate. Excellent stuff.

   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 10/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
thorongil2 (2442) - , Ontario, CANADA - OCT 8, 2016
UPDATED: OCT 9, 2016 (Tap) clear, very dark brown colour with a small brown head; aroma of chocolate liqeour, then stewed fruit; rich, intense flavour with a long, medium bitter finish

   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
Hermod (6493) - Vantaa, FINLAND - OCT 8, 2016
355ml bottle @Kitty’s. Poured black color with a thin brown head. Aroma has roastedness, licorice, coffee, salty notes. Flavor has roastedness, coffee, dark chocolate, roasted nuts. Hops. Tasty. Full bodied.

   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
Benzai (14269) - Oirschot, THE NETHERLANDS, NETHERLANDS - SEP 30, 2016
Bottle @ home shared with Dutchdrebus. Opaque pitch black color, average to medium sized dark brown head. Aroma is malts, some roast, oatmeal, chocolate. Taste malts, soft roast, mocha, chocolate, chocolate bitter. Medium body and carbonation. Lovely.

   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
DutchDrebus (5612) - Oirschot, NETHERLANDS - SEP 30, 2016
Bottle @ benzai. Black colour with a small brown head. Smells roasty, chocolate. Tastes roasty, chocolate, coffee, vanilla, moccha. Full body, soft carbo.

   AROMA 6/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 12/20
AleJones (11) - Colorado, USA - SEP 22, 2016
Not my favorite yeti offering. The raisin comes through on the aftertaste but the beer as a whole seems slightly overdone. Still, very enjoyable and something I would purchase again. ---Rated via Beer Buddy for iPhone

   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 14/20
mjs (6531) - Helsinki, FINLAND - SEP 19, 2016
UPDATED: SEP 19, 2016 (Bottle, 0.355 l, at Bar Molotow, 20160919) The beer poured black. Its head was medium sized, dense and lightly brown. Aroma had dark chocolate, burnt malts, cocoa beans and mildly sourness. Palate was full bodied and rather soft with medium carbonation. Flavours were burnt malts, dark chocolate, ash, liquorice, sweetness and bitterness. Aftertaste was burnt, ashy and bitter. A great soft and at the same time strong flavoured brew.

   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
Kavu (4187) - Helsinki, FINLAND - SEP 19, 2016
0,33l bottle @ Oljenkorsi, shared with wiosna. Pours almost pitch black with a low tan head. Aroma is roasted malts with some coffee. Flavor is sweet roasted malts, coffee, dark chocolate, alcohol and hops. Nice and soft. Very good.

   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 19/20
tia (1771) - Sandston, Virginia, USA - SEP 17, 2016
Dark n lovely. Nice rich aroma with some dark fruit, play-doh, and dried daisies. Full flavor- dry, roasty, bitter. Milky. I am really liking this one.

   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
Bulk_Carrier (3879) - Lake Champlain, Vermont, USA - SEP 5, 2016
Bottled on June 23rd, 2016. This was poured into a snifter. The appearance was a dark brown close to black color with a rich tan finger’s worth of head that dissipated practically immediately. Thin glossy sticky messy lacing trimmed the sides of the glass. The aroma starts off with rugged roasty to bitter bite gripping my nose (yeah, I think that’s a real yeti in there, lol, he sounds pissed). Slight coffee, subtle dried cocoa bean (seems really fresh, probably why I say the "yeti" seems pissed, yes, this is a bit rough). The flavor leans roasty bold with the fresh coffee bean "green"-ness coming out. Sweetness is really contained. Dry coffee fresh/green edge really strikes the aftertaste and finish. On the palate, this one sits about a medium on the body with a sipping quality about it. Carbonation rides fairly light, but the rugged edges of the coffee bean freshness hit perhaps a bit too hard. Overall, well, in my opinion, I think I opened this too early, I really think this could have used some age to develop the "said" flavors on the side of the bottle, with that in mind, I will be kind with this rating. But yes, that "inner yeti" in this thing is screaming at me right now "you should have waited!"

We Want To Hear From You

Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »

Page    1  2 3 4 » 46

Tick this beer for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Copyright © 2000-2016,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
about us
About RateBeer
New Beers
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50