RateBeer
Home >

Old Chimneys Good King Henry

overall
99
93
style
Brewed by Old Chimneys
Style: Imperial Stout
Diss, England
Serve in Snifter

bottled
available

on tap
available

Regional Distribution

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 154   WEIGHTED AVG: 3.94/5   EST. CALORIES: 288   ABV: 9.6%
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
Cask; Occasional. Also available bottle conditioned.
"The colour and deep luscious flavour derive largely from roasted barley."
Bottled by hand.
Cask version 9.0%


3.5
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 15/20
Biroholik (764) - Sosnowiec, Poland, POLAND - JUN 30, 2016
Warka do: 10.2017
Kolor: Czarny jak bezgwiezda noc, nie przepuszcza żadnym promieni światła.
Piana: Ciemny, bardzo ciemny beż, wpadający w brąz. Piana tak jak na załączonym obrazku składa się głównie z dużych i średnich oczek. Z siłą wodospadu opada w dół nie pozostawiając praktycznie żadnych śladów na szkle. Obrączka kilkumilimetrowa oddziela ostatnią warstwę piwa. Szumowina niezbyt trwała i szybko kurcząca się.
Zapach: Początek dość burzliwy. Zaraz po zrzuceniu firmowej czapeczki - lekkie przegazowanie. Na szczęście po chwili piwo uspokoiło swoją porywczą naturę. Aromat budują ciemne słody, subtelna paloność, deserowa czekolada, kakao i minimalna nutka ciemnych owoców.
Smak: Smak tworzą owoce lasu: jeżyny, czarne jagody i borówki amerykańskie. Od czasu do czasu przewija się akcenty słodów palonych. W kontrze do owocowej podstawy stają nuty kakao, melasy i gorzkiej czekolady. Paloność wraz z ogrzewaniem zwiększa swoją intensywność, przechodząc pod koniec w popiół. Po paru chwilach uaktywniają się także orzeszki ziemne, a wraz z nimi słony posmak w ustach. Kawowy kwasek raz po raz pokazuje swoją wytrawną stronę. Goryczka średnia, do wysokiej. Pełnia średnia. Zdecydowanie brakuje tutaj słodkiej przeciwwagi. Alkohol chwilami drażni język i podniebienie powodując ich zdrętwienie.
RIS jak RIS - może jak na angielskie standardy OK, ale jak na moje średnio-słaby trunek.
Wysycenie: Średnie.
Podusumowanie:
Cena trunku Ł5.20 (Ok. 30 zł.). Myślę, że w tej cenie w UK można kupić dużo lepsze RIS-y. Przypuszczam, że wersja leżakowana mogłaby zrobić furorę. Piwo ma potencjał, jednak wymaga odpowiedniego leżakowania. Bardzo spodobała mi się tutaj nietypowa dla RIS-ów sugestia leśnych owoców (jeżyny, jagody, borówki). Niekoniecznie przypadła mi do gustu wysoka paloność, popiołowość i nazbyt wysokie wysycenie. Król Henryk może się podobać, jednakże na mnie nie zrobił aż takiego wrażenia. Oceńcie sami jak wpadnie w Wasze dłonie. Wasze zdrowie!

3.7
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
Smithld1 (178) - Greater London, ENGLAND - MAY 19, 2016
As below cask in the rake via the cellar. Lovely drop. Raisins, alcohol, stewed fruit. Quite a treat.

4.2
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
evergreen0199 (2898) - Northwood, Greater London, ENGLAND - MAY 14, 2016
Cask (cellar run) at The Rake, Borough Market, London. A very dark brown/black coloured pour with a thin beige head on top. Rich roasty, malty, chocolate, coffee aroma. Tastes similar, rich, roasty, malty, chocolate, coffee, a little caramel, soft and sweet. This was incredibly easy to drink, a quite marvellous Imperial Stout.

4.7
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 10/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 18/20
rood (76) - Borgerhout, BELGIUM - APR 1, 2016
Nose is molasses, figs and chocolate malts. Taste is a wonderful counterbalance between sweet (mollasses, sugar), bitterness (hop, bitter chocolate malt) and umami (leather). Reminds me of Black Albert in the good old days. A perfect beer. Gimme more gimme more!!!.Thanks berntholer for sharing

3.9
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 15/20
Mjp12 (1362) - York, North Yorkshire, ENGLAND - MAR 31, 2016
Poured from the bottle, leaving all the sediment behind in the bottle. Rich coffe, chocolate and licorice notes on the aroma. Lots of sweet dark fruit in the flavour, but there is enough bitterness in the finish to make you come back for more.

4.2
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
digitalviking (85) - - MAR 21, 2016
Beautiful labeling and beautiful beer. I got a really big head because I think I overcarbonated it. Mostly molasses and bubblegum aroma. Really good stuff.

3.7
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 14/20
bytemesis (6448) - Sunnyvale, California, USA - FEB 14, 2016
Bottle - thanks Santa! Pours opaque black with a medium creamy brown head that lasts and laces well. Aroma is licorice and roasted malts. Flavor is lots of anise, molasses, some cocoa, roasted malts, hints of tobacco. Quite sweet and medium bitter. Full body, creamy mouthfeel. A little high on licorice for me to truly enjoy.

3.8
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
BlackHaddock (6063) - Shropshire, ENGLAND - DEC 31, 2015
1st Rate of 2016: 330ml bottle (Lot 825 BBE 10/2016). Poured into a Westmalle chalice just after midnight early hours of 1st Jan. What a great way to start a year. Drank with a ’Double Decker’ chocolate bar, really worked. The deep malty brew with it’s chocolate and coffee flavours were complimented by the sweeter, lighter confectionary and it was a fitting nightcap to an English tasting session I held with myself throughout New Years Eve cumulating with this fine Imp Stout. Would have preferred the head to be deeper and richer, but that is a small consideration compared to the overall enjoyment of such a flavoursome beer.

4
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
Scottishchris (664) - Edinburgh, SCOTLAND - NOV 28, 2015
Bottle via eebria. Pitch black, thin brown head. Coffee, chocolate, molasses. Full body, thick mouthfeel, good carbonation. Sweet Demerara sugar and some liquorice. Long finish.

3.8
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
Nocturne (1731) - Cheshire, ENGLAND - OCT 30, 2015
330ml bottle. Aroma is molasses, chocolate, stone fruit, smoke. Taste is quite similar. Dark chocolatey with some bitterness. Kind of thick and oily on the tongue and feels nicely put together. Not as superb as the Special Reserve but still a very good beer.


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 16


Tick this beer for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Copyright © 2000-2016,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
reserved.
about us
About RateBeer
FAQ
Contact/Feedback
New Beers
add
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Events
membership
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50