RateBeer
Home >

Kuhnhenn Raspberry Eisbock

overall
100
100
style
Serve in Flute, Shaker

bottled
available

on tap
available

Regional Distribution

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 886   WEIGHTED AVG: 4.18   EST. CALORIES: 318   ABV: 10.6%
Share this beer with friends!
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
Real raspberries abound in this chocolate caramel after dinner treat. Aged for a smooth texture and drinkability. This lager beer will handle additional age very well.
Original: 10.6% ABV
2012: 15.5% ABV


3.6
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
Ferris (5001) - Burnaby, British Columbia, CANADA - DEC 24, 2014
Bottle - Fresh - Raspberry and cocoa. Deep Amber hue. Raspberry, chocolate, light boozy and heat on the thought. Big rich and sweet, I would like to try with some age. At this price point, I may be tempted to buy something else in maybe a liquor.

3
   AROMA 6/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 5/10   PALATE 2/5   OVERALL 13/20
zach8270 (3585) - Henrietta, New York, USA - DEC 3, 2014
(draft @ Kuhnhenn Brewing Company - Warren, MI - 2012 vintage) Pink pour with a soapy head. Straight raspberry syrup in the aroma. Flavor is much too sweet. All raspberry with no chocolate that I could detect. Sad to say but it’s way too sweet. Thankfully I have a bottle of 2004 to try at a later date.

3.8
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
Petkus331 (281) - Redford, Michigan, USA - NOV 29, 2014
On tap at kuhnhenn. Aroma of raspberry jam, some hay, fig. Appears ruby red, nearly no foam or lace. Tastes of a balanced tart and sweet raspberry jam, followed by a barely unbalanced hayish hop bitterness; the 15.5% ABV is very well hidden, tastes more like a 6.5 to 8.0 % ABV. Palate is light, a little fizzy. Overall, very nice.

4.1
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
firstsip (507) - Michigan, USA - NOV 29, 2014
Tap. Dark ruby black. Slight bubbles. Subtle nose of raspberry jam. Syrupy. Tart raspberry, raspberry jam, mild chocolate. Very complex. ABV doesn?t taste as strong as it is (15.5 in 2014)...but you taste it!

4.2
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 17/20
Karstenborg (329) - DENMARK - NOV 23, 2014
Rating #300 :-) Thanks to Plovmand. Dark red with no head. Aroma is raspberry, cherry and dark chocolate. Taste is raspberry and chocolate. Almost no carbonation.

4.4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 10/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
demmbonz (590) - Erin, Wisconsin, USA - NOV 19, 2014
2012 bottle to teku. Deep reddish brown. Low carb. Tootsie pop in a glass. Cherry, raspberry, chocolate. Sweet delicious nectar.

4.4
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
Bacterial (1725) - Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA - NOV 10, 2014
Dark reddish brown pour from a 2012 bottle (15.5%). Very little off white head. Massive raspberry fruit nose - wow. So much yum. Chocolate and caramel in the taste with some excellent raspberry fruit, like an expensive, boozy truffle. Wonderfull.

4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
BVery (6971) - Burnsville, Minnesota, USA - OCT 24, 2014
Bottle at Darkness Day. Rich sweet raspberry element to this. Super good. So glad I got to try it!

4
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 16/20
Sarlacc83 (948) - Oregon, USA - OCT 20, 2014
Rating #800. Bottle sent by Chris. Thanks! A: So red it has nearly turned black. No head, almost looks flat - though there was a rise before the fall there. Leggy. N: Enormous raspberry, and a hint of fruit-rollup. Cherry undertones. Port wine, leather, tobacco, and sugar laden grapes. Tootsie rolls show up in force. Complex and inviting. At least, I think so. T: Big tootsie roll sweetness. Gigantic raspberry tartness. M: Treacly body. Big alcohol that still manages to feel light. Carb is prickly. O: My wife is not a fan. I had to drink all of hers, and I was very happy to do so. I liked the 2007 version of this, and I like the 2012. I would prefer the 2007, though, but that’s neither here nor there.

4.7
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 19/20
koleminer20 (744) - Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA - OCT 10, 2014
On tap at Kuhnhenn. The pour is a beautiful deep ruby. Crystal clear with a light pink head that quickly dissipates to a small collar. The aroma is ALL raspberry. Delicious. You get the sweetness of a chocolate malt, and a light caramel that just blends so beautifully. There isn't strong booziness on the back end that is nice for a strong fruit beer. The flavor is pretty intense. There is a lot of booze. The raspberry and malts mesh well for a nice fruity complexion with just a hint of malt and then a blast of booze. That's the only thing I can really knock it on. The mouth feel is great. Viscousy and delicious. There is a minimal amount of carbonation, but it's good. The aftertaste is lingeringly fruity and malty. Just awesome ---Rated via Beer Buddy for iPhone


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 89


Tick this beer

for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Copyright © 2000-2014,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
reserved.
about us
About RateBeer
FAQ
Contact/Feedback
New Beers
add
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Events
membership
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50