RateBeer
Home >

AleSmith Speedway Stout (Barrel Aged)

overall
100
100
style
Serve in Snifter

bottled
common

on tap
available

Regional Distribution

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 711   WEIGHTED AVG: 4.32   SEASONAL: Special   EST. CALORIES: 360   ABV: 12%
Share this beer with friends!
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
Special Markings: Gold foil neck and white numbering above rear label. Some bottles have paper labels, some do not.


4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
jandd1983 (2619) - Florissant, Missouri, USA - OCT 21, 2014
Cask at the brewery. It poured a black color with a tan head. The aroma was of bourbon, vanilla, oak and leather with chocolate notes. The taste was of bourbon notes, oak, vanilla, booze, raisins and coffee. Just awesome.

4.6
   AROMA 10/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 19/20
AdiBeer (1358) - London, Greater London, ENGLAND - OCT 17, 2014
Aroma: intense bourbon, vanilla, heavy bread and grain malts, prunes. Appearance: black, medium, creamy, beige head. Taste: heavy sweet. Palate: massive bourbon sweets continue, alcohol, same flavours as in palate, prunes, intense vanilla with caramel. Overall: incredibly nice Imperial Stout, the bourbon cask makes a massive difference. Pint at AleSmith Brewing Company, San Diego.

4.2
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
Beergeek23322 (2340) - Chesapeake, Virginia, USA - OCT 16, 2014
10/16/2014. On tap at the brewery. Black with a beige head. Roasted malt, booze, chocolate, coffee. Complex, balanced and thick. One of the best imperial stouts out there.

3.6
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 15/20
Beardaxe (183) - - OCT 15, 2014
Poured from 750ml into snifter. Overwhelming bourbon aroma. Thin bodied. Lots of bourbon and not much else. Harsh carbonation. Way too hot for 12%. The base beer seems lost in all this. Not sure if this was a bad bottle or improperly stored (1.5 years old bottle procured in a trade), but it was not awesome. I was so hyped for this and was massively let down.

5
   AROMA 10/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 10/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 20/20
jflopsu (583) - New Jersey, USA - OCT 14, 2014
Pours a dark black with brown head. Has a strong bourbon, coffee, and chocolate aroma. Starts a little sweet with cocoa but turns to really strong bourbon and dark liquors, some coffee and malts. A strong coffee, liquorish, and dark liquor aftertaste.

4.1
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
nuplastikk (4568) - Madison, Wisconsin, USA - OCT 11, 2014
2012 bottle shared by Brad. Oily beige head. Black brown opaque body. Rich caramel booze tones. Excellent cocoa, vanilla, barrel tones. Rich, a slow sipper. Almost approaches birch tones every so often.

4.5
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 18/20
RasmusOtt (1199) - Aalborg, DENMARK - OCT 8, 2014
Bottle from 2012. Thanks to Matt for hooking me and ma bros up! Man have I been looking forward to this?? Oh yes! Pours Pitch black with a brown lasting head. WOW the aroma. Oh boy! The aroma just have everything you want from a bourbon barrel aged imperial stout. Lots of fresh coconut, vanilla, oak, fresh speedway stout coffee, nice and smooth milky chocolate, fudge, some oak as well which contributes to such a nice and decadent note. Also some weak buttery notes and some sweet dark fruits as well. Taste has lots and lots of sweet bourbon notes. I get tons of coconut, dry oak, vanilla, weak buttery notes, smooth and creamy milk chocolate, roasted coffee, dark dried fruits and some fudge as well. This is one delicate decadent imperial stout. Smooth gentle and balanced. I really really like this beer :) !

4.5
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 18/20
Vestergaard (402) - Aarhus C, DENMARK - OCT 8, 2014
Bottle, 2012! Pours da pitch wiv big, brown, bubbly, long lasting head. Aroma has .. here we go: Vanilla, chocolate, fresh coconut, dry oak, molasses, gasoline, semi roast, speedway coffee, toffee, caramel, dark, sweet, dried fruits. Taste has milk chocolate, sweet, sugary fruityness, again lots of coconut, some roast, coffee, sweet toffee, caramel, lots of bourbon, vanilla and so on. Actually no extraordinary flavors, but just a lot of coconut, and an excelent balance. Only thing to mention is a slightly sugary ending. Extremely smooth body and low carbonation.

4.6
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 19/20
Klimaet (222) - Aarhus N, DENMARK - OCT 8, 2014
Batch í12. Bottle shared with vestergaard and rasmusott. Pours pitch black with a dark brown mocha head. Aromas of smooth bourbon. Results in a vanilla sweetness, coconut, fudge, dark sweet fruits, dark roasted coffee beans, milk chocolate. Taste is pretty strong roasted coffee up front, fudge, vanilla, bourbon, coconut, milk chocolate sweet dark fruits. Oaky dry roasted finish.

4.7
   AROMA 10/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 19/20
slowrunner77 (5977) - Reno, Nevada, USA - SEP 29, 2014
"man...anything i criticize in this brew is nitpicking, but i am comparing it to the best of the best of the best. i can make a case that it is my favorite barreled stout, which is my favorite substyle as well, but i can make that case for BA Blackout, Abyss (certain years), Firestone 13...as well. bourbon slightly more prevelant than i though it would be, especially side by side with a 2009 "regular" speedway. that said, every sip gets better, and itís great from the start...bourbon, chocolate, cofee, roastyness, and an ever so slight touch of hops. ridiculously smooth, like glass, though maybe thinner feeling than the base, though not to a fault. i definitely overpayed for this, but donít regret it. definitely in the upper teir of barreled beers, impy stouts, and really all beers."


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 72


Tick this beer

for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Copyright © 2000-2014,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
reserved.
about us
About RateBeer
FAQ
Contact/Feedback
New Beers
add
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Events
membership
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50