RateBeer
Home >


Kubota Manju (Millions of Celebrations) Sake

overall
84
66
style
Brewed by Asahi Shuzo Brewing Company (Niigata)
Style: Saké - Daiginjo
Nagaoka-shi, Niigata Prefecture, Japan
Serve in Guinomi, Masu, Ochoko

bottling
unknown

on tap
unknown

distribution
unknown

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 10   MEAN: 3.74/5.0   WEIGHTED AVG: 3.36   EST. CALORIES: 480   ABV: 16%
Share this beer with friends!
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
Acclaimed by John Gauntner’s "Joy of Sake" as one of the finest examples of the Daiginjo style and winner of countless sake gold medals, Kubota Manju’s preparation time and craftsmanship exceed that of almost every other sake made. The fruits of 500 years of sake making history in Japan’s most esteemed sake-brewing prefecture culminate in Kubota’s crowning achievement, Kubota "Manju" (Millions of Celebrations).

Despite the exceedingly high cost of producing Manju by polishing away 60% of each rice grain, we believe you’ll find Manju to be without equal.


3.1
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 6/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 12/20
ruigo (1152) - PORTUGAL - APR 10, 2014
Brought a 75cl bottle from Japan a few years ago. A very smooth and delightful Saké. Overall, a great drink to have and celebrate life.

3.4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 2/5   OVERALL 13/20
Travlr (12253) - Washington, Washington DC, USA - MAR 27, 2013
Sample from bottle. Aroma of light fruit, rice cakes. Taste is very smooth, very light body, clean finish.

3.7
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
KyotoLefty (6559) - Kyoto, JAPAN - MAR 23, 2011
720 ml bottle. A gift from my graduating students. Fresh, clean, fruity aroma, melon, fresh, wet sawdust of cedar. Soft, fruity, spicy flavor, some esters, lots of pepper, noticeable, no, strong, alcohol. Very peppery, prickly, and hot. Some citrus, berries; elegant sweetness.   Light, silky body. Very nice, but I expected heavenly nectar. Alcohol too prevalent.  Somewhat watery as well. Good stuff, but I tend not to go in for this Niigata "karakuchi" style. 

3.8
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 2/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
fonefan (35220) - VestJylland, DENMARK - NOV 8, 2010

Bottle 720ml. @ Halloween Tasting by cgarvieuk.

Clear as cristal color with no head. Aroma is moderate to heavy, rice, floral fruit rice, light to moderate alcohol. Flavor is moderate to heavy sweet with a long duration, fruity, soft - smooth. Body is medium, texture is oily, carbonation is flat, finish feel is light to moderate alcoholic. [20101030]

3.4
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 14/20
yespr (31464) - Copenhagen O, DENMARK - NOV 6, 2010
72 cL bottle. Pours pale with no head. Crisp rice and slight fruity aroma. Dry and warming alcohol/rice mix. Smooth rice, clean and crisp fruity. Warming finish.

3.2
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 12/20
Bullit (4025) - Burgos, SPAIN - NOV 4, 2010
Bottle, halloween tasting @ cgarvieuk. Clear coloured. Aroma is rice, coconut, little boozy, little fruits. Flavour is rice, coconut, fruity. A bit boozy. Little sour. Pleasant.

3.7
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 14/20
Fin (7538) - Merton, Oxfordshire, England, Oxfordshire, ENGLAND - NOV 3, 2010
Bottle at Craig’s, Edinburgh tasting, big thanks to Craig for this sake. Shared in company of Craig, Stella, Jan, Charlotte, Fritz and Loz 30.10.10 I hope that I don’t get too slayed for a poor review of this Sake, I really have little experience of this type of drink. It look’s like water, great clarity, this is possibly a little rougher in the mouth than our previous Sake, but it works fine for me, smooth, not sweet, alcohol just doesn’t show, sorry cannot be anymore descriptive than that. A7 A5 T7 P4 Ov14 3.7

3.7
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
cgarvieuk (14652) - Edinburgh, SCOTLAND - OCT 30, 2010
UPDATED: NOV 20, 2010 bottle at halloweeen tasting ...from mount Fuji... damn dear ... but lets hops its good ... crystal clear ... open floral fruity rice nose ... light sweetness ... definite light coconut ... little oily ... quite a lot alcohol in finish ... but very open mouthfeel ... rich and smooth despite the alcohol. ...

tk 2 ... crisp crystal ... light viscous ... soft creamy floral coconut nose ... little pealy wally at front ... light coconut ... little alcohol .... ok ... but not special ... and not worth cost. by far my most expensive sake ... but no where near the best...

clear ... soft sweet jasmine coconut rice nose ... light floral front ... smooth but lots of alcohol mostly in finish... again little coconut ... stick at the 3.7 mark the too much alcohol in finish it what stops this being stunning

4.5
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 18/20
BMan1113VR (7867) - Los Angeles, California, USA - MAR 7, 2009
UPDATED: JUN 9, 2010 Small carafe for $28 at Tycho in Brentwood (Southern) California. Pours a very viscous, clear body with strong legs. Aroma of pear, candi sugar, vanilla, incredibly clean and refined. Taste is amazingly balanced, I am seriously blown away. Refined, fruity, smooth, long duration, and ZERO alcohol on the taste. Makes Divine Droplets look rough, this stuff is smooth to the nines!. Very complex, over the long duration. Incredibly viscous mouthfeel, heavenly!

4.9
   AROMA 10/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 10/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 19/20
austinpowers (2826) - New York, New York, USA - NOV 27, 2003
UPDATED: NOV 28, 2005 Online and NYC price for 750ml bottle: ~$90. Everything they say about this sake is true! It is the driest, most complex, misleadingly smooth sake I’ve ever consumed in my life. To be shared with friends (because they’ll never quit thanking you for your generosity!), Kubota Manju is a Junmai Daiginjo without equal in my opinion. But don’t take my word for it, every sake book I’ve ever read states that you must try this exceedingly pricey and sublime Daiginjo before you die - it’s that good. Now I believe them.

With a hint of sweetness and no hint whatsoever of its 16% abv, this still, slightly herbal, floral, vanilla sake will blow you away! Be prepared to shell out big bucks, because at $90/bottle, it’s just about the priciest sake you can buy short of Daruma sake.


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »





Tick this beer

for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Copyright © 2000-2014,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
reserved.
about us
About RateBeer
FAQ
Contact/Feedback
New Beers
add
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Events
membership
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50