RateBeer


 No Score 

Requires
more ratings

Brewed by Asahi Shuzo Brewing Company (Niigata)
Style: Saké - Daiginjo
Nagaoka-shi, Niigata Prefecture, Japan
Serve in Guinomi, Masu, Ochoko

bottling
unknown

on tap
unknown

distribution
unknown

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 6   MEAN: 3.85/5.0   WEIGHTED AVG: 3.29   EST. CALORIES: 480   ABV: 16%
Share this beer with friends!
No commercial description


3.3
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 13/20
Jimthechap (1480) - Christchurch, NEW ZEALAND - MAY 4, 2013
I feel like such an impostor. Over a thousand beer ratings and no Sake so far. Without any basis for comparison I shall try my best to do it justice, however my enduring impression was that I was drinking warm dry vermouth. It was herbal and had flavours of gooseberry and aromatic herbs. It was clear and a sudden intake (rather than a considered sip) gave regret as there was a powerful blast of alcohol. This isn’t to say that I am unable to deal with higher alcohols as I had a perfectly good dram of Glenfarclas 105 later in the evening. So my initial impression was favourable and I look forward to trying more.

4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
jbeatty (943) - New York, USA - MAR 24, 2013
Bottle from Mitsuwa, 03/24/2013. Pours clear, slightly thicker appearance than water. Aroma of vanilla, honeysuckle, very floral, pear and melon, clean rice finish. Taste is lightly sweet, green apple and melon, mild rice, spicy finish. Medium palate, smooth with no hint of alcohol. Very nice.

3.5
   AROMA 5/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
djd07 (2914) - Houston, Texas, USA - SEP 5, 2012
Bottle as shown thanks to Carl. Pours a clear color. Aroma is sweet fruit and booze. Medium mouthfeel with a light fruit and wheat with light booze finish. Very good sake!

3.4
   AROMA 5/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
MaartenRF10 (1459) - Wageningen, NETHERLANDS - DEC 17, 2011
UPDATED: DEC 18, 2011 My first sake. So how do I rate a sake!? No comparison so far. This rating will therefore be updated soon... Aroma is fruity, with melon. It’s clear, with a little greenyellow? Taste is floral, some sweetness, little buttery maybe. Not alcoholic. I definitely liked my first sake.

4.2
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 16/20
BückDich (5464) - McCall, Idaho, USA - JUN 19, 2007
Bottle: Pours a light beige color, which a super high end sake of this calibur should. The nose is lightly fruity with lots of plum and melon, some buttery notes. The flavor is very subtle and clean, almost zero alcohol flavor with the explosive koji flavors hiding back into nearly nonexistance. Very nice clean sake. I got to try a direct japan bottle, not an imported one. Woo!

4.7
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 10/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 19/20
austinpowers (2826) - New York, New York, USA - MAR 1, 2004
UPDATED: DEC 19, 2004 Tried side-by-side with the Ichonokura Hyakkoi Nama Sake and Nanbu Bijin Ginjo, and the Kubota proves to be the best of the three by a considerable margin. This terrific sake reminds me of the stellar Kubota Manju in not only its aroma but its flavor. The Hekiju is lightish yellow in color, suggesting flaws perhaps, but the first whiff puts your fears to rest as you realize that you’re sipping the finest sake that Niigata has to offer (and Niigata is the most famed sake prefecture of them all!). There is virtually no alcohol nose in my Hekiju, despite its being a year past its prime. The flavor is candyish and rather sweet, not astringent. Slighly dry and masterfully crafted, like most Niigata sake. The brewmaster at Kubota clearly knows his craft as the alcohol is totally undetectable at 16%! I swear, it’s nowhere to be found! An absolutely magnificent achievement from the masters of sake brewing, Kubota! There is the faintest hint of sourness in the finish - evidence of this sake being a year past its prime (my fault). The texture is a watery one with no oily presence like that found in Gekkeikan Cap Ace. A session sake you could drink glass after glass of due to its smoothness, though the Manju is even better.


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »





Tick this beer

for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Copyright © 2000-2014,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
reserved.
about us
About RateBeer
FAQ
Contact/Feedback
New Beers
add
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Events
membership
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50