RateBeer
Home >


Kaori (Fragrance) Junmai Ginjo Sake

overall
78
94
style
Brewed by Yamagata Honten Co., Ltd.
Style: Saké - Ginjo
Shunan-shi, Kume, Yamaguchi, Japan
Serve in n/a

bottling
unknown

on tap
unknown

distribution
unknown

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 10   MEAN: 3.58/5.0   WEIGHTED AVG: 3.26   EST. CALORIES: 450   ABV: 15%
Share this beer with friends!
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
Nihonshu-do (Sake Meter Value): +3; Acidity: 1.5; Rice: Yamada Nishiki. Junmai Ginjo. Yamagata Honten was founded in 1875.


3.7
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 15/20
obguthr (3438) - Lynchburg, Virginia, USA - MAY 7, 2012
Blueberry, strawberry, and cherry nose, delightful. Clear, colorless. Flavor is more melony, cantaloupe and strawberry. A floral lilly aspect is also detected. Very clean and refreshing. Warm on back the end.

3.2
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 6/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 12/20
crazyvin (1859) - New York, USA - JUN 8, 2008
chilled bottled. The thing that amazed me the most about this sake was the aroma. A beautiful floral aroma. Flavor was a typical mild fruitiness with some cukecumber notes. finish was light bodied with notes of alcohol.

3.7
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 16/20
auerbrau (3126) - Peace Dale, Rhode Island, USA - FEB 24, 2008
Sample from a Sake Flight at Fuji Jade Garden, State College, PA. Aroma distinctly with perfume and floral characters. Light. Clear pour. Flavor is crisp, balanced and alive. Fresh pale fruit flowers. Lightly sweet. Some cucumber and melon. Nice, but not overly distinct.

3.5
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 14/20
Tmoney99 (10090) - Cincinnati, Ohio, USA - DEC 16, 2007
Bottle chilled from Jungle Jim’s. Poured clear color with legs. Moderate coconut, melon and soft alcohol aroma. Medium body with a medium smooth texture. Light sweet melon flavor with a light sweet alcohol burn finish of moderate duration. I would recommend this to a freind.

3.4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 2/5   OVERALL 14/20
MIBRomeo (2493) - Wisconsin, USA - AUG 6, 2007
Thanks to Blake for sharing. Clear pour w/ nice legs. Coconut milk dominent in the aroma light rice alcohols a touch of flower pedals I can’t place, quite nice and sweet. Palate is a bit light and thin for my taste. Flavor is very delicate definate coconut milk, light melons, rice & alcohol. Pretty good stuff.

3.8
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
1FastSTi (3283) - Glendale, Wisconsin, USA - AUG 3, 2007
Pours to a clear but lightly tinted yellow glassy body with tall, lasting legs. The aroma is coconut milk and cantaloupe with honey dew and floral components. The flavor is buttery melons, coconut, vanilla, and light rice. The palate is actually moderately bodied and nicely warming. Creamy.

3.8
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
Ughsmash (7005) - Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA - AUG 2, 2007
Bottle thanks to Blake! Poured crystal clear water-liked with expert legs and no carbonation. Aroma was just lovely.. lighter fruits (honeydew and other melons (but not watermelon) along with some floral notes.. very enjoyable with just a touch of really advertent alcohol.. very nice floral in there too. Flavor was much more assertive.. melon and some drawn rice in there with a warmer melon on the finish. Tasty stuff! Milky feel on the palate.. rather thick.. with warmer alcohol especially toward the back. Definitely didn’t feel the 14.5% until later!

3.5
   AROMA 6/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 14/20
notalush (4635) - Denver, Colorado, USA - SEP 15, 2006
Had a glass of this tonight at my favorite local sushi place - perfectly clear appearance - very faint aroma, as austinpowers notes, with just a hint of grape skins - semi-sweet flavor with a slightly watery mouthfeel that gets a little slick near the end - white grapes, a hint of citrus and even a tiny bit of plum come into the mix - very slight alcohol warmth at the end, just enough to be a nice palate cleanser between rolls of sushi - I enjoyed this - now I want to try more sake.

3.7
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 16/20
Slick (1969) - Thief River Falls, Minnesota, USA - DEC 1, 2005
Nice clearish color,no real smell to it at all in fact it reminds me of nothing but water with the exception of a slight swirl gievs it away as being more then that.The taste was smooth and as Austinpowers said a bit of a citrus side very faint though with a mild alcohol in the end.Over all it’s a very smooth and easy drinking brew and well worth getting again IMo but that will be quite awhile for me.

3.5
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 15/20
austinpowers (2826) - New York, New York, USA - MAR 15, 2004
A touch of sourness suggests that perhaps I didn't keep this sake in the best condition (ie. refrigerated) in the three weeks since I bought it. There's a definite citrusy conponent here that's unusual and generally not found in sake. Nevertheless, it's imported by Prestige Sake and I think they're the best of the four NYC sake importers, and I kept the sake in the fridge, so perhaps it's supposed to have a slightly sour, citrusy tinge to it. I'd love to hear from someone knowledgeable about this issue. Although Yamaguchi Prefecture isn't a hotbed of sake production, this is a pretty solid contender, lacking the alcohol burn that sometimes mars even the greatest sakes. Working against Kaori is the fact that there is little to no aroma (yes, I realize the amazing Divine Droplets has no aroma either), so perhaps it should be considered that Kaori INTENDED there to be no aroma. After all, these breweries have been around for about 200 years and if they wanted an aroma, they could probably have one by now, particularly for a premium sake such as this. Light and watery, but not dry. Rather sweet instead of neutral. Not astringent. Decent.


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »





Tick this beer

for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Copyright © 2000-2014,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
reserved.
about us
About RateBeer
FAQ
Contact/Feedback
New Beers
add
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Events
membership
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50