RateBeer
Home >

Ottos Sumatra Stout

 (RETIRED)
Ottos Sumatra Stout
     click to upload
overall
99
100
style

bottling
unknown

on tap
unknown

distribution
unknown

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 31   MEAN: 4.03/5.0   WEIGHTED AVG: 3.81   SEASONAL: Summer   EST. CALORIES: 153   ABV: 5.1%
Share this beer with friends!
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
A dry stout brewed with Sumatra Mandeling coffee. This ale combines the smooth dryness of an Irish stout with the aroma and flavor of a bold coffee. This stout is nitro-poured for a delicious creamy taste.


4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
Darkmagus82 (1727) - - MAY 23, 2014
Transfer from BA review on 3-17-12 - Served in a pint glass Appearance – Deep dark black nitrogen driven brew. The nitrogen/carbon dioxide mix of bubbles gave a beautiful lighter brown color cascading upwards through the beer as it settled after serving. The head was off -white/tan in color and had a fair degree of persistence. Upon fading slowly over time it gave way to only a very small amount of lacing and left a whispy foam on the surface of the brew that persisted throughout the drinking experience. Smell – The smell was very subtle. Notes of roasted nut and malt and a light roasted coffee flavor are detected. There is an ever light cocoa aroma mixed in as well. All are very light. Taste – The taste is of a nice dry stout mixed with light coffee flavors. It has a toasted oat base with a little flavor of chocolate malt, light vanilla, and nut mixed in. The coffee flavor begins rather light and seems to gain strength progressively through the taste soon overpowering some of the more subtle flavors of the vanilla and nut. Mouthfeel – Smooth and creamy. The body allows the beer to immerse itself in every taste bud, giving a wonderful feel. Overall – A very good and easy drinking beer. The coffee is light, but in some ways takes away from some of the more subtle flavors that are present , such as the vanilla and nut. Very nice overall however and one I would do again and again.

3.9
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 14/20
jar72404 (426) - USA - MAR 21, 2012
On tap at brewpub. Black with quarter inch cream head that retains. Aroma is coffee. Flavor is coffee. Nice finish that’s very long. Delicious.

4.1
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
DocLock (7909) - Lower Pottsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA - SEP 22, 2009
Wow, I had this as French roast stout and didn’t even realize it was Sumatra until this rating. Pours onyx with a creamy off-khaki head. Nose was heavy coffee, roasty dark malt, cacao. Tastes like freshly brewed Sumatra coffee, very heavy with the coffee flavor, and with dark malt, dark choc, and an oily palate. Smooth and very flavorful, this one is great, although coffee haters likely will abhor it, which is a shame because it is quite good.

4.3
   AROMA 10/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 17/20
EithCubes (5000) - New Jersey, USA - AUG 19, 2009
On draught as "Dark Roast Coffee Stout". Nitro pour lends a lasting, creamy tan head, pitch body. Nose is pure coffee with a little cream, no sense of sugar or malt or even beeriness - the coffee lover in me just orgasmed. Light body, smooth, a gently dark roast coming through (no significant carbonation/effervescence), has balance and tact and even a little authentic coffee tang [i.e., acidity]. Superb, could repeat this every morning and every evening, probably my favorite of the day.

3.6
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 14/20
BeerGestapo (754) - Mt.Joy, Pennsylvania, USA - AUG 18, 2009
Brewed in the USA.... On tap at Otto’s !! Pours black in color with a wonderful thick beige head. Aroma of chocolate, coffee and dark malts. Taste is kind of smoky with chocolate, malts, coffee flavors. Mouthfeel is creamy with a super smooth nitro finish. I felt the coffee was very mello but still enjoyable.

3.7
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
afireinside96 (923) - Mountville, Pennsylvania, USA - AUG 18, 2009
On nitro draft at the brewpub, shared by BeerGestapo. Thanks Mike. Very dark brown with a large creamy beige head. Coffee and roasted malts blend seamlessly into the flavor. Coffee flavor is very fresh and bright. Full creamy body thanks to the nitro. Very nice.

2.5
   AROMA 5/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 4/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 10/20
eaglefan538 (2897) - Wilmington, Delaware, USA - NOV 29, 2008
On draft at the brewpub in State College. The pour was fairly typical looking for the style, nice dark black color with a choco-colored decent sized head. Lacing on nil, head retention not as long as I would have liked. The aroma was strong coffee over top of some chocolate scents. The flavor was pretty ick, as this honestly (even with great anticipation as I was waiting for it to be served, love coffee stouts) was a mess, seemingly like someone poured coffee or coffee syrup into my beer. Roasty elements from the base stout, firm coffee, but just not melding together too nice. Left much to be desired. Mouthfeel was average, perhaps a tad on the sticky side, but certainly not a "sweet" concoction.

4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
Miver (609) - Silver Spring, Pennsylvania, USA - OCT 30, 2008
On nitro at the brewpub listed as ’’Dark Roast Coffee Stout’’. Poured deep black in color with a medium sized tan creamy nitro head. Aroma of tons of roasted coffee with a light sweetness on the nose. Tasted like it was 1/2 coffee and 1/2 stout. Very intense coffee taste, smooth creamy mouth feel, with light chocolate notes. I really thought this was quite drinkable. I had Sumatra stout on tap a couple years back. I believe I liked that version slightly more than this version.

4.2
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
auerbrau (3177) - Peace Dale, Rhode Island, USA - OCT 21, 2008
UPDATED: OCT 25, 2008 Original Rating: 12/9/2007 Total Score: 4.2 On nitro at the brewpub. Aroma is dense, sugared soft coffee rise. Not acidic or tannic, but softened cream and hazlenut butter, blended back with some barrel char and a light salt lick. Pours a black liquor, frothed with a long fading brown to tan soap. Flavor maintains coffee complexity and richness through a relatively light body. I think this is the most stunning aspect of this beer is the real intense flavor persisting over a soothingly drinkable palate that carries light sugars, bits of cocoa nibs, and sweetened tea. Not on the salty side of a dry stout, not tinged with sourness, but the real essence of coffee blasts through. Clean, vibrant, and fresh. I also love the finish and smack. The palate carries the freshest, most delectable moist chocolate-mint leaf gum to work off of the robust coffee presentation. It’s the most amazing coffee and stout with hop interaction I’ve tasted. Truly enjoyable. Fantastic.

On nitro-tap as the ’’Dark Roast Coffee Stout’’ at the brewpub. Slight caramelized sugar, burnt toast, and almond-scented coffee aroma. Cold. Pours that classic dark black nitro-stout, with a mahogany cascade of bubbles and pencil-wide head of coffee and cream foam. Flavor is brisk, but immediately coarse in the java category. Some bristling over-steeped grounds and slight church coffee character find a home in the bland sugars. Acidic. The malt character has been obliterated by the dark, acidic and tannic coffee whose expression in and of itself cannot provide enough intrigue. The hops clash at the end with a conflicting twist. Clean, fresh, and so on, but just not the stellar blending of coffee and beer that the true Sumatra Stout is. Rated Oct 21, 2008. 7/4/7/3/14=3.5. I’m ignoring the Dark Roast Coffee Stout and leaving my original rating as the main score.

4.9
   AROMA 10/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 10/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 19/20
MrYuk (21) - Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA - MAR 12, 2008
A 5 seemed cheesy, so I am going with the 4.9. Even though the ratings don’t show it, I have probably tried over 1000 beers and this was the very best one I have ever had. Very strong coffee flavor and aroma are balanced perfectly with sweet and dry roasted malts. I could drink this stuff instead of water. I hope they bottle it someday...


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4


Tick this beer

for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Copyright © 2000-2014,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
reserved.
about us
About RateBeer
FAQ
Contact/Feedback
New Beers
add
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Events
membership
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50