RateBeer
Home >

Steelback Tango

 (RETIRED)
overall
0
1
style
Formerly brewed at Steelback Brewery
Style: Pale Lager
Tiverton, Canada

bottling
unknown

on tap
unknown

distribution
unknown

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 55   WEIGHTED AVG: 1.22   EST. CALORIES: 165   ABV: 5.5%
Share this beer with friends!
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
Beer that Dances - With a Kiss of Lime.


2.3
   AROMA 4/10   APPEARANCE 2/5   TASTE 4/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 10/20
MaltDawg (1344) - Richmond, Virginia, USA - JAN 6, 2010
(Sample Date: 7/18/2009 Source:Other) Sample from 16 oz can at Immy’s. Light grainy and slightly fruity aroma. Clear light straw with small white head. Grainy flavor with light cherry, mango, lime fruitiness in flavor. Dry slightly bitter finish.

1.8
   AROMA 3/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 3/10   PALATE 2/5   OVERALL 7/20
LooseCannon (938) - Norfolk, Virginia, USA - SEP 14, 2009
Can courtesy of Immy at Immy’s Backyard Throwdown. Pours golden in color with white head. Aroma malty and corn. Taste watery, malty and sweet with dry finsih.

1.1
   AROMA 2/10   APPEARANCE 1/5   TASTE 3/10   PALATE 1/5   OVERALL 4/20
maniac (3800) - Baltimore, Maryland, USA - AUG 4, 2009
Can courtesy of Immy on 07/18/2009. Clear pale yellow body with a medium frothy white head. Corn and stale malt aroma. Stale corn, and grainy sugar flavor. Medium light body with moderate carbonation.

1.6
   AROMA 3/10   APPEARANCE 2/5   TASTE 3/10   PALATE 2/5   OVERALL 6/20
TheBeerGod (5229) - Newport News, Virginia, USA - JUL 25, 2009
Can. Courtesy of Immy at Immy’s Backyard Throwdown. Pours piss gold. Fizzy white head. Aroma is not as terrible as expected, though still of low quality. Corn, stale fruit, grains and sugar. Taste is sweet with more corn and fruit notes and hints of cereal throughout. Body is light and very fizzy. Ends with more cereal, hints of stale lime, sugary notes and corn. Thanks Tim!. I think...

1.1
   AROMA 3/10   APPEARANCE 2/5   TASTE 2/10   PALATE 2/5   OVERALL 2/20
Allstar (33) - , Virginia, USA - JUL 19, 2009
Shared by Immy at Immy’s Backyard Throwdown. Well it pours like a light yellow. Nothing impressive or even decent about it. I would never recommend this to anyone. Mad props to dkachur for using Skanky in a review.

1.4
   AROMA 3/10   APPEARANCE 1/5   TASTE 2/10   PALATE 1/5   OVERALL 7/20
Drake (8342) - Free Union, Virginia, USA - JUL 18, 2009
UPDATED: JUL 27, 2009 Shared by Immy at his recent Backyard Throwdown. Gee, thanks. Pours a clear anemic looking yellowish green color. Aroma of dirty, acrid malts. Taste is sweet sugary lime with grain and diet cola. Medium bodied. Skanky. 3/1/2/1/7

1.8
   AROMA 3/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 3/10   PALATE 2/5   OVERALL 7/20
Beershine (5218) - The Sunshine State, Florida, USA - SEP 30, 2008
Clear deep golden. Plastic lime candy aromas. Thin, watery mouthfeel. Has a high-grade plastic flavor, one of the most heady glasses of plastic I’ve drunk.

0.9
   AROMA 3/10   APPEARANCE 2/5   TASTE 1/10   PALATE 1/5   OVERALL 2/20
DYCSoccer17 (3309) - Woodland, California, USA - SEP 23, 2008
I found a 12oz green plastic bottle of this buried in my brother’s beer cellar. I think this was acquired from the 2005 RBSG in Montreal, so it is a 3 year old bottle in all fairness. Aroma has some notes of citric lime as well as some mint present. I definitely detect some fuselage, though. Not as god awful as I expected, though. Transparent golden body with no head at all. Fusel flavors dominate with boiled vegetables. Bitter, harsh, swampy, and revolting. A literal drainpour. No hops, no lime. Terrible.

1.4
   AROMA 2/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 2/10   PALATE 2/5   OVERALL 5/20
puzzl (3249) - New York, New York, USA - JUL 20, 2008
Drank in the world’s first ever Blind Lime Beer Tasting, including Bud Light Lime, Michelob Ultra-Lime Cactus, Miller Chill, and Steelback Tango. This was second best in my book, though ended up losing overall. Light foam cap. Salty, with minerals aroma. Nasty, garbage-like flavor, with minor metal yeast, no lime. Not too offensive.

1.3
   AROMA 2/10   APPEARANCE 2/5   TASTE 3/10   PALATE 2/5   OVERALL 4/20
JesseM (1151) - Margaritaville, Ontario, CANADA - JUN 18, 2008
UPDATED: JAN 6, 2010 Well, I did it. Maybe it was the dark dust collected on the top of the can, maybe it was the leak on the bottom, or maybe it’s that soul-crushing sense of self abuse, but somewhere along the line, I realized that I went too far. I went too far in my quest to experience the beast. I may have done irreversable damage to myself. It takes two to tango, but this, this thing, leads you down a dark path, as you dance. It insults you with its unimpressive aroma of garbage, and fuel, then it mocks you with the sight of what you might have known, a minor hint of actual lime in the finish. My greatest fear is that I will now be dubbed, "Dances with Steelback." Oh, what a fate, what a fate indeed.....No Steelback, no. I refuse to submit, I shall recover. I shall over-come, I shall never surrender to Frankie D’angelo But I am glad I could experience this thing before it ’dances’ its way further into long-forgotten Beer Store back-shelf obscurity.


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 5 6


Tick this beer

for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Copyright © 2000-2014,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
reserved.
about us
About RateBeer
FAQ
Contact/Feedback
New Beers
add
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Events
membership
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50