RateBeer
Oggis Hop Whompus
     click to upload
overall
100
100
style
Serve in Snifter, Tulip

bottling
unknown

on tap
unknown

distribution
unknown

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 66   WEIGHTED AVG: 4.07   EST. CALORIES: 270   ABV: 9%
Share this beer with friends!
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
(Double Amber/Red Ale) An extremely hoppy beer! Flowers and pellets in all stages of the process. A strong beer with extreme hop aroma and flavor with a nice rich malt backing. If you look closely, you may even see a green tinge in the head.


3.8
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 14/20
Styles (2014) - Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA - MAY 23, 2008
Bottle shared by footbalm, May ’06. Thanks brotha. Dark mahogany, nice head, great for a handbottle. Aroma has a nice balance of sweet tropical fruit and bitter citrus zest. Not much malt showing. Flavor is sort of the opposite, huge malt character, caramel syrup and toffee, hops rather subdued/mellow. Resinous mouthfeel. Nice brew overall.

4.3
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
spector (906) - Lancaster, Ohio, USA - DEC 6, 2006
Shared by OhioDad at CTV3.Aroma is of citrus hops.Pours copper with a white head.The hops are well balanced with the malts in the flavor.Full bodied with a gnice hop finish.

4.3
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
thebaldwizard (1205) - Ohio, USA - NOV 24, 2006
Big thanks to OhioDad for sharing this at the last Columbus tasting. Great hop and malt aroma with some spiciness present. Murky brown color. Very full palate. Tons of citrusy hops and caramel malt are evenly split up in the flavor. The finish carries a nice bit of floral and spicey hops. Very good beer.

4.3
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
nolankowal (931) - Columbus, Ohio, USA - NOV 2, 2006
Hand bottle CTV3, shared by Ohiodad, thanks! Once again Scott knocks another one off the ol’ want list. Pours an orange-brown with a yellowed off white head. Citrus hops, caramel malt and some spice fill the aroma. While the flavor held a good bit of caramel malt with a pine/citrus bite torwards the back. Smooth and malty with a nice bitterness with a nice warming finish. Held up pretty well in the hand bottling and I’m glad I got to give this one a spin.

4.5
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 18/20
sliffy (2040) - Columbus, Ohio, USA - OCT 30, 2006
Hand bottle shared by OhioDad: Copper color with a white head. Aroma, caramel, earthy, citrus, and piney hops. Flavor, caramel, piny hops, a very nice malt backbone, and some citrus in there as well. Great bitter kick to it. Just a great beer, very happy that this bottle held up as well as it did.

4.4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
madsberg (10228) - Søborg, DENMARK - JUL 17, 2006
UPDATED: JUL 18, 2006 Handbottled. Pours an deep orange colour. Quite unclear. Huge beige dense and creamy head. Aroma is dense. Pines, light liqourice, fruits, caramel and spices. Quite intense. Flavour as well is intenese. Loads of liqourice, spices, pineneedles, caramel, fruits and some light alcoholnotes. Is a bit soapy and citric. Full bodied and dry. Ends on a vigourous herbal bitterness that last loooooooooooooooooong. Very good one obtained thru trade, that made the trip over the pond in very good shape. Would love to try this fresh one day. My beer no. 400 from the US btw.

4.2
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
ChazMania (653) - Pasadena, California, USA - JUL 13, 2006
Incredible beer. Tap at Lucky Baldwins IPA festival last Sunday. Went back last night and it was out, bummer. Very unique crisp and piney aroma, very creamy and smooth going down. I could drink something this good all day (except I’d be wasted......)

4.4
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
OhioDad (2493) - Hilliard, Ohio, USA - JUL 9, 2006
12oz bottle hand bottled! - Thanks! - Pours murky brown with a huge creamy tan head that stays quite well and laces the sides of the glass in layers. Beautiful aroma of herbal floral hops and citrus fruits. Nice wildflowers and grapefruits with some resiny pine notes as well. The first sip astounded me as I realized that somehow there were actually enough caramel malts in this thing to balance out the blast of hops that hit my nose. Smooth notes of apricot, pineapple, and even a touch of peach come from the balance of big caramel malts and nice grapefruit and pine hops blending together. Amazingly smooth and creamy on the palate as well. Full bodied and almost syrupy sweet. This is truly a delight and one that I’m thankful that I had a chance to try!

3.6
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 6/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 15/20
footbalm (1219) - Western Minneapolis Suburbs, Minnesota, USA - MAY 29, 2006
UPDATED: JUL 18, 2006 Nose is Mangos and hops. That is my nose’s take on this. Very nice. The hops are not as prevalent in thetaste but it is syrupy and heavy like the 120 Minute IPA. Not as hoppy but still laden with fruity syrup.

4.2
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 15/20
Bartzilla (533) - La Mesa, California, USA - MAY 26, 2006
One sip and BLAMMO! Crucified by Pontius Whompus. Delicious. This makes the hair on my back dance the polka. Just super duper hops madness. There might be some malt in here, but I sure couldn’t find any. I was Rodney King and the hops were the LAPD, beating me mercilessly within an inch of my life. Mad delicious.


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 5 6 7


Tick this beer

for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Copyright © 2000-2014,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
reserved.
about us
About RateBeer
FAQ
Contact/Feedback
New Beers
add
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Events
membership
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50