RateBeer
Home >

Terrapin Wake-n-Bake Coffee Oatmeal Imperial Stout

overall
99
92
style
Serve in Snifter

bottled
common

on tap
available

Regional Distribution

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 1056   WEIGHTED AVG: 3.9   SEASONAL: Winter   EST. CALORIES: 243   ABV: 8.1%
Share this beer with friends!
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
Wake-n-Bake is brewed with coffee roasted by Jittery Joe’s Coffee in Athens, GA. Terrapin and Jittery Joe’s built a unique coffee blend specific for this big Imperial Stout. You can purchase the actual Terrapin Wake-n-Bake coffee blend at Jittery Joe’s or online in 12oz. coffee cans.”


4.1
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
dresden (884) - Saskatchewan, CANADA - OCT 19, 2014
Big thanks to Dane for getting this long time want for me, and my first Georgia tick! Thick oily black stuff with a one in ten head. Nice coffee aroma, with some roast. Great slick mouthfeel, coffee, cream, light toffee, chocolate. Great stuff and now I permanently seek this and it’s variants.

4.3
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
slowrunner77 (5983) - Reno, Nevada, USA - OCT 7, 2014
"now were talking. if you’re not a sucker for good coffee like i am, this beer is most definitely not for you. it wasn’t the most balanced or subtle beer in the world, but damn was it good. the aroma is like a fresh pot o’ coffee brewing in your bottle. it settled down by the end enough to pick up malt and chocolate nuances as well. great. looked like motor oil with head, which is how i like my impy’s. at 8.1 it was a little weak, and while half of our party thought it was thin bodied, i;ll say it was just a touch under full, similar to Founders Breakfast. smooth. flavor still a little unbalanced and coffee dominated, but it’s Jittery Joe’s brand, and that’s some damn good coffee. finish is, you guessed it, bittersweet coffee and some roasted malt, with a kiss of chocolate and vanilla. very good. I’d give the flavor an 8 1/2 if i could...it started as an 8 or less, but was a 8-9 by the end of the bottle. i think it deserves a 4.3 overall, so i’m going with the 9."

4.4
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 19/20
GreatDane1632 (412) - North Dakota, USA - OCT 1, 2014
Reviewed from notes taken on 18 Jul 2013 -- The appearance was a nice looking dark brown close to black color with a decent off white foamy one finger head that had a decent amount of fading lacing trying to coat the sides of the glass. The smell had a nice authentic roasty coffee of sorts with a decent light milk chocolate as it warms. The taste was a decent light sweet overcoating some bittering hops. The aftertaste was super nice and roasty with a super nice dry roasty finish. Overall this is my favorite Imperial Stout to have on hand "just because".

4.2
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
Darkmagus82 (1731) - - SEP 8, 2014
Transfer from BA review on 4-21-13- Poured from bottle into a pint glass Appearance –The brew pours a pitch black color with a two finger brown colored head. The head fades rapidly at first leaving a small persistent brown head that fades slowly over time to leave a lighter level of lace on the sides of the glass. Smell- The aroma is heaviest of chocolate, coffee and molassas. Mixed with these smells are some aromas of vanilla as well as smells of some oatmeal. Taste – The taste begins with a sweet flavor of chocolate and oatmeal and dark fruits A strong coffee flavor, much stronger then the nose depicted, came to the tongue and was mixed with a light vanilla taste that grows stronger as the flavor advances. During this time the oatmeal like flavors grow in intensity from the beginning to the middle of the taste, only to dwindle some as the flavor moves on to the end. In the end, while the brew still maintains a high level of sweetness, it bitters slightly with a more burnt coffee like flavor coming to the tongue to leave a sweet and more roasted coffee flavor to linger on the tongue. Mouthfeel – The body of the brew is on the creamier side, but has a high level of smoothness with a carbonation level that is on the slightly lower than average side. It is pretty nice for the style with it coasting the mouth in its robust flavors. The only thing that may have accentuated the oat flavors slightly more would have been a slightly chewier body, but even so, it was nice overall. Overall – A rather enjoyable, sweet and coffee accentuating stout. A rather god drinker and one to try.

3.4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 12/20
DocMcGrain (16) - Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, USA - SEP 2, 2014
A decent stout, but not the top of my list. It's even, full-bodied, and doesn't have a bitter taste at any point. It smells fantastic, and had a definitive coffee flavor. Overall a decent beer that I would love to try on tap. ---Rated via Beer Buddy for iPhone

3.9
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
Dr_Fellini (463) - Norfolk, Virginia, USA - AUG 24, 2014
Bottle to glass. Pours a deep black to brown color with a creamy light brown head. Aroma is roasted malts, coffee, peppery spice. Flavor is a nice mix of roasted malts a light coffee bitterness with a touch of chocolate. Medium body with a lingering coffee bitterness and cacao sweetness. Very tasty indeed.

2
   AROMA 3/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 3/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 6/20
BiiruBierBeer (190) - Phoenix, Arizona, USA - AUG 19, 2014
Green pepper smell. Coffee, roasty, and bitter taste. Medium sharp carbonation.

4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
djd07 (3699) - Houston, Texas, USA - AUG 4, 2014
Bottle as shown. Pours a cloudy brown with small frothy beige head that lasts. The aroma is strong coffee roast, dark chocolate, and caramel. Medium mouthfeel with nice spice, roasted coffee, dark chocolate with sweet finish, very good.

3.6
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 14/20
KyotoLefty (6574) - Kyoto, JAPAN - AUG 3, 2014
2012 bottle. Nose of coffee, vanilla, chocolate. Nice lace on black. The body is a bit too thin, flavor of cola, coffee, vanilla, bitter finish. Good, but gets too thin and watery compared to the nose.

4.2
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
jeremyh70 (742) - Missouri, USA - JUL 15, 2014
2012 vintage. Pours a completely opaque black with a big, creamy dark khaki head that sustains well and leaves good lacing. Aroma of rich chocolate, mild brewed coffee, sweet molasses, some vegetal and umami and a mild cellared quality. Taste has coffee, fudge, dark chocolate, a little cherry and mild roastiness followed by bitter bakers chocolate. Aftertaste has some charred roasty bitter and a little of the cellared notes and chili pepper vegetal quality. Finishes dry with roasty bitter that builds and lingers. Mouthfeel is creamy and medium/full bodied with low carbonation. Forgot to review this the first time I had it but a year and a half of age hasn’t really hurt this beer as much as I feared. I’m sure the coffee has dropped out somewhat but the vegetal notes that coffee beers get with age were neither strong or distracting. This was a nice surprise and one I enjoyed very much.


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 106


Tick this beer

for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Copyright © 2000-2014,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
reserved.
about us
About RateBeer
FAQ
Contact/Feedback
New Beers
add
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Events
membership
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50