RateBeer
Home >

Russian River Pliny the Younger

overall
100
100
style
Serve in Shaker, Snifter

bottling
unknown

on tap
common

Regional Distribution

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 738   WEIGHTED AVG: 4.35   SEASONAL: Winter   EST. CALORIES: 330   ABV: 11%
Share this beer with friends!
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
Pliny the Younger was Pliny the Elder’s nephew, in the case of this beer, the "Younger" is a triple IPA. Pliny the Younger is hopped three times more than our standard IPA, and is dry hopped four different times.


0.5
   AROMA 1/10   APPEARANCE 1/5   TASTE 1/10   PALATE 1/5   OVERALL 1/20
PlinyDad1952 (18) - - MAY 2, 2015
I DONT NO WHY AY CANT GIVE THIS PLINY A 0 BUT IT IS NOT A NOT BAD ONE, JUST NOT THE PLINY I NO ALL ABOUT. I HAD A SIX PAcK OF THESE PLINYS"" AT MY BAR MITZVAH. MY FRIEND TOLD ME IT WAS PLINY BUT IT IS NOT PLINY AT ALL AND PLINY IS MY FAVORITE (YOU KNOW)! I DONT KNOW HOW THIS FAKE PLINY IS YOUNGER BUT I BET THE IMPOSTERES MADE IT MORE SINCE THE REAL PLINY WAS DO. PLINY DOSE THERE OWN HOPS WHO ELSE. PLINY IS #1’!!

5
   AROMA 10/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 10/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 20/20
againnagain (3) - USA - MAR 27, 2015 does not count
The ultimate!! Waited in line for 6 hours to sample this nectar of the beer gods. It did not disappoint. Unbelievable balance considering the APV. From start to finish and then some this beer earns its legendary rating.

3.5
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 14/20
DSG (7623) - Tel Aviv, - MAR 15, 2015
[2/12/15] Draught at Russian River in Santa Rosa. 10.25%. Clear golden. Lovely hoppy aroma with lots of tropical fruits, citrus, pine and a tiny bit of alcohol. Flavor has some sweetish malt, fruity and piney hops, some alcohol and strong bitterness. Medium-bodied. Good but not great.

4.3
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 17/20
boxofrane (2332) - Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA - MAR 15, 2015
Draft at blue dog. Pours clear golden with a medium sized white head with a lot of glass carbonation . The aroma has a lot of citrus, tropical fruit, a bit of pine. The taste is very bitter, grapefruit, dry, no lingering booze.

4.3
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
burg326 (4337) - Florida, USA - MAR 13, 2015
Poured an amber golden color with aromas of dank hops, light malt, some sweet fruit and some light pine. Flavors are the same an amazing balance of malt and tropical fruit with some great hop flavor. This is stupid good believe the hype!

4.5
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 18/20
tkrjukoff (4156) - SWEDEN - MAR 13, 2015
Growler @ Pegs. Pours clear pale amber with a small off white head. Aroma is solid malty hoppy fruity tropical fruits a bit sweet. Flavor is lean velvety balanced hoppy and fruity, bitterness lingers in my mouth with all the flavors leaving a longlasting aftertaste of bitterness pipes and citrus.

4.1
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
biggsbowler (464) - Port St. Lucie, Florida, USA - MAR 13, 2015
Someone shared this with me and I can’t thank them enough. Pour yellow with slight orange hue. Citrusy nose. Taste is bitter with notes of oranges, lemon zest and tangerines.

4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
jtclockwork (10313) - , New Jersey, USA - MAR 11, 2015
UPDATED: MAR 12, 2015 Draft. Pours gold white head - Nose/taste of pineapple, citrus, grapefruit resin, sticky orange. Medium body. Pretty good.

4.4
   AROMA 10/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 18/20
egg (129) - USA - MAR 9, 2015
On tap on 3/9/15. Pours a slightly orange Amber. No head. Nose is really bright citrus hops, fruit, really yummy. Taste is tropical fruit, mango, alcohol, bitter, grass, pineapple. Lasting fruitiness. Reminds me a little of evil twin mango Molotov cocktail. Super yummy. One of the best DIPAs I've had. ---Rated via Beer Buddy for iPhone

4.4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
Bacterial (1982) - Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA - FEB 28, 2015
Cross this one off the fermentation bucket list. Clear deep amber pour with a nice white head. Lots of lacing. Citrus pine tropical hoppy nose. Intense hops in the taste. The intensity works, without being overdone. Lots of bitterness in the finish with just a hint of alcohol. This is truly is a special hop experience. I could not have more than one of these, unlike Elder or Blind Pig. It’s a bad ass hoppy and bitter dry barleywine.


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 74


Tick this beer

for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Copyright © 2000-2015,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
reserved.
about us
About RateBeer
FAQ
Contact/Feedback
New Beers
add
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Events
membership
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50