Home >

Steelback Thunder

Formerly brewed at Steelback Brewery
Style: Malt Liquor
Tiverton, Canada


on tap


Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 61   WEIGHTED AVG: 1.37/5   EST. CALORIES: 240   ABV: 8%
A strong, flavourful lager, golden amber in colour. Cold filtered and brewed in small batches using all natural ingredients results in a perfectly balanced beer with a slightly sweet aftertaste. Formerly Blue Thunder.

   AROMA 6/10   APPEARANCE 2/5   TASTE 5/10   PALATE 1/5   OVERALL 9/20
Metalchopz (2724) - Cantley, Quebec, CANADA - OCT 5, 2011
Originally rated February 2006. I am trying to understand why this one is more expensive than the other Steelback... all because of a higher ABV. Must be all this extra caring for the brew. Anyways, pours an amber colour with medium and slow carbonation. The head is decently creamy and tanned, but does not stay as long as it could. Lacing is kind of boring too. After breathing a bit, the alcohol nose escapes. A nutty caramel scent with floral notes is found. Watery mouthfeel and quite smooth. The taste is sweet with caramel, and a touch of bananas. No sign of burn, very, very smooth for a 8% ABV. Reminds me of their Chain and Link, but with a stronger alcohol content.

   AROMA 1/10   APPEARANCE 2/5   TASTE 1/10   PALATE 2/5   OVERALL 2/20
Nickls (2076) - Alexandria, Virginia, USA - JUN 20, 2010
(Old BA rate - can shared at Puzzl’s) Orangey, yellow color with a thinner white head. Kinda bright and odd looking. Pure banana bread; sweet; and a hint of gasoline. Fusel alcohol; sweet; bready; really terrible stuff here even for malt liquor. Thicker extraordinarily fizzy carbonation. Just terrible. Really, really bad. Between the jet fuel characteristics and banana bread, I don’t really know what the hell this really was. However, it’s pretty awful.

   AROMA 2/10   APPEARANCE 1/5   TASTE 2/10   PALATE 1/5   OVERALL 2/20
cfrancis (2790) - Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA - APR 29, 2010
Ahh the THUNDER. Epic pre-party drink. Get’s you to the fun place quick. Tastes horrible but really are you drinking this for taste?

   AROMA 1/10   APPEARANCE 1/5   TASTE 1/10   PALATE 1/5   OVERALL 2/20
fsbw21086 (403) - New Jersey, USA - AUG 31, 2009
Theres a reason this one is retired. I gave it an overall impression of 2 because it will however get you drunk. Nothing more though.

   AROMA 2/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 3/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 5/20
PilsnerPeter (3032) - Flushing, New York, USA - AUG 18, 2009
Can: Golden pour with a dense off white head. The aroma is extremely sweet with notes of corn syrup, vanilla cake frosting, and some fusels. Fairly effervescent mouthfeel. The flavor is extremely sweet with a candy corn character, vanilla, sugars. Just a sugary mess. Yowza.

   AROMA 1/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 1/10   PALATE 1/5   OVERALL 3/20
caresville (106) - Vernon, New Jersey, USA - AUG 17, 2009
i went to canada with my friend when i turned 19 a long time ago and went to the beer store. we decided on this... putrid metal and bitter maple syrup taste. we couldnt even finish the 6 pack, ahhhh the memories.

   AROMA 5/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 3/10   PALATE 2/5   OVERALL 4/20
puzzl (3257) - New York, New York, USA - AUG 13, 2009
Can from HogTownHarry, woohoo! Around two years old at this point. This smells exactly like banana bread, and tastes almost Belgian, somehow. These beers continue to not be that bad.

   AROMA 5/10   APPEARANCE 2/5   TASTE 2/10   PALATE 2/5   OVERALL 12/20
fredthecat (317) - CANADA - MAR 19, 2008
the ultimate in ’time to get fucking wasted’. this better be ice cold or else it will taste really gross and like aluminum, but like anything over 7% once you get a few big gulps down and wait a bit the taste becomes drinkable, smells bad and tastes bad, but always worth getting

   AROMA 3/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 4/10   PALATE 1/5   OVERALL 10/20
hazer772 (18) - Hamilton, Ontario, CANADA - JAN 28, 2008
There is a strange kind of burnt aftertaste that really ruins this whole beer. Better in the can the the plastic bottles, the plastic seems to intensify the burnt aroma, I found the same thing with steelback silver...something about that plastic.

   AROMA 1/10   APPEARANCE 2/5   TASTE 1/10   PALATE 2/5   OVERALL 2/20
DuffMan (8318) - the land of bitumen, beef & beer, Alberta, CANADA - JAN 8, 2008
This beer reeks! Alcohol, metal shavings, and wet dishrag. Harsh in all aspects. Seriously, why would anyone choose this?

We Want To Hear From You

Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »

Page    1  2 3 4 5 6 7

Tick this beer

for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Copyright © 2000-2015,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
about us
About RateBeer
New Beers
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50