Home >

Westvleteren 12 (XII)

Brewed by Westvleteren Abdij St. Sixtus
Style: Abt/Quadrupel
Westvleteren, Belgium


on tap

Broad Distribution

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 3432   WEIGHTED AVG: 4.44   EST. CALORIES: 306   ABV: 10.2%
Westvleteren has the smallest output of the Trappist breweries, with only a small part of their production available outside of Belgium.

   AROMA 5/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
JoshRaburn (62) - - OCT 8, 2015
Last remnant of a trip to Belgium in Dec-05. Aged almost 10 years probably not in the best conditions. Still some carbonation. Prunes, chocolate,leather etc but not harsh at all. Awesome!

   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 18/20
JHeath99 (1506) - Warner Robins, Georgia, USA - OCT 7, 2015
Bottle shared by ttroha. Pours a slightly hazy anger with a layer of creamy beige head. Aroma of heavy raisins, malts, and caramel. Taste is raisins, caramel, really nice balance with the carbonation. Very tasty.

   AROMA 10/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 10/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 20/20
yourilevesque (577) - Quebec, CANADA - OCT 6, 2015
Aujourd’hui est un grand jour! Je m’offre cette bière mythique rapportée de Belgique et obtenue lors d’un échange avec Tim qui s’est terminée par une dégustation épic en compagnie de convives des plus agréables! Le highlight de mon voyage! Un grand merci mon vieux! Tout est absolument parfait en ce moment: je suis assis chez moi, Mademoiselle Irina arrive d’un instant à l’autre et je sais que je partagerai dans quelques instants le reste de ce Grand Cru en compagnie de la Femme que j’aime. Je sais qu’en savourant cette bière unique, nous discuterons des enfants que nous aurons sous peu et ça me met en joie. Je suis envahi par une tsunami d’amour et de reconnaissance envers la vie. À mes parents et amis, je suis heureux et je vous aime.

   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 10/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 18/20
Randy4Beer (383) - - OCT 4, 2015
A very dirty water, muddy brown pour, with a thin off-white head that instantaneously fades to a film and then disappears altogether. Something slightly off-putting about the aromas that I can’t quite identify, but under that lies raisins and red fruits. Tastes are more of the raisins, with definite breadiness added. Almost like a boozy bread pudding. The curiosity is over, and I can now say I’ve had one (big thanks to HopsandBolts for that.. Thank you my friend!)

   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 15/20
gildnerk (175) - Düsseldorf, GERMANY - OCT 4, 2015
Pours dark ruby with an off-white, generous head. Aromas of malt and caramel. Taste begins inauspicious, rather grainy, but becomes more malty, caramely and, finally, chocolatey. Very complex aftertaste. Great beer. Overrated? Probably.

   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
Blade86 (1004) - Wrocław, POLAND - OCT 3, 2015
two years in cellar Dark brown, opaque, medium long-lasting beige foam; rich complex aroma, caramel, dark fruits, some floral notes, spicy, yeasty; medium sweetness, lightly sour, medium- bitterness; full body, quite thick feel, soft+ carbonation, long bittersweet and dry finish; Overall: greatly hidden alcohol, very good drinkability (but a sipper anyway), great taste, very complex in every way, great beer

   AROMA 10/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 10/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 20/20
robbre (3) - - OCT 3, 2015 does not count
Ordered this beer at a bar in brussels. They charged me 14 euro’s for a bottle. Curios for the beer i went for it, the taste is fantastic, worth every euro payed for it. Possibly could have got a cheaper bottle elswere, that would have spoiled the evening.

   AROMA 10/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 10/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 20/20
lupin982 (2) - Carovilli, ITALY - OCT 2, 2015 does not count
In assoluto la miglior birra che abbia mai provato. Birra scura dovuta al candy syrup. Dal sapore dolce ma ben bilanciata dalla frizzatezza e dal luppolo. La birra migliora con gli anni.

   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
Boxereddy (220) - BELGIUM - OCT 1, 2015
Rood bruin bier met een beige romige schuimkraag. Zoetig met noottoets in de neus. Rozijnen, pruimen, kersen en caramel in de mond. De nasmaak is bitter en vloeit lang uit. Zeker een topper die men moet geproefd hebben!

   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
Gaelic (43) - Rotterdam, NETHERLANDS - SEP 30, 2015
The famous Westvleteren 12. Difficult to get, but I was so lucky to get it from my friends Great Yawn, Little Bear and Riot Ron for my birthday.. Forget all the stories and just smell and taste. Red brown with a creamy head. Touches of raisins, prunes, cherry and caramel. Perfect balanced. Very smooth and easy to cope with, although the high alcohol percentage. And absolut " must drink one ".

We Want To Hear From You

Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »

Page    1  2 3 4 » 344

Tick this beer

for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Copyright © 2000-2015,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
about us
About RateBeer
New Beers
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50