RateBeer
Home >

Pizza Port Le Woody Brune

 (RETIRED)
overall
100
99
style
Serve in Snifter, Tulip, Tumbler

bottling
unknown

on tap
unknown

distribution
unknown

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 124   WEIGHTED AVG: 4.03   SEASONAL: Special   ABV: -
Share this beer with friends!
No commercial description


4.2
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
jbeatty (1020) - New York, USA - JUN 21, 2014
Bottle, shared by Mac, 05/31/2014. Pours moderately dark amber brown, hazy, frothy head fades within a minute or so, thin ring of lacing left around the glass. Aroma is tart cherries, prunes, slightly oxidized, sour candied fruit, vanilla, mildly acetic, nice oak notes, big woody finish. Taste is sour, tart fruit, touch of vinegar, oak, lingering vanilla. Light medium body. Incredibly tasty still, this has held up well.

4.4
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
DedicatedToFun (2402) - Santa Monica, California, USA - AUG 25, 2013
Holy cow, amazing beer thanks to friends of GT2, bomber, caramel, sour, delicious brew

4.2
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
Godofthecellar (667) - NYC, New York, USA - APR 25, 2013
Big thanks to Mike(grumpyoldtroll) for opening this dinosaur whale. Never thought i would have an opportunity to try this one. A- dark purple with orange tint, almost copper like. Beige head that dissipated quickly. N- over ripe sweet cherry, wooden barrel, brett and citrus rhind T- Cherry and dark fruit. For such an old bottle,the fruitness is certainly not lacking. Citrus tartness on the finish with a slight vinegar note. M- Nice carbonation with a clean smooth finish O- Dark sours arent typically my favorite style, but this bottle blew me away. No oxidation, clean smooth and refreshing. Amazing how well it lasted

4.3
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 19/20
TheEpeeist (3328) - Media, Pennsylvania, USA - SEP 28, 2012
My rating #2600! 25.4 oz bottle, no label with a Pizza Port cap. I had the chance to trade for this a few years ago but decided to go with a Veritas 004 instead. Earlier this year Bryan lets me know there will be a surprise in his box to me. Funny how things work out sometimes. Huge thanks for a shot at this one! Deep ruby brown with an active beige head. Nose is sour raspberry, cherry, vanilla and bubblegum. Slightly woody with hints of over-ripe pear. Crisp and lively medium body; juicy, sticky then dry. Taste is cherry, caramel and oak. Dropping hints of red fruits; cranberry, strawberry pips, raspberry and apple. Finishes with black pepper and leather, last few ounces dreggy and not so great. Still quite fruity after at least 5 years, perhaps lacking some sour bite but near perfect for my taste.

4.1
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
Huhzubendah (2496) - Washington DC, USA - JUN 27, 2012
"Yes Dyan, Brad is Santa. All of the best beers I review start with a thanks to Brad. The list is getting longer...Ahem - Thanks, Brad! A: Murky brown, what little head there is fades rapidly S: lemons, funky, oak, vanilla T: Sharp acidity, biting, tannins, this beer lets you know what’s up. A complex beast of a beer. All this being said, the flavor is intriguing and tasty. M: wine-like in some regards, a bit coarse D: a special brew,I’m so fortunate to have tried it. I’d love to have it again. Splitting a bottle several ways was the way to go. Notes: This beer gets a 5 in the ""Sound"" category, as it fizzed and popped for several minutes after pouring."

4.2
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
50belair (2219) - Florida, USA - MAR 20, 2012
Bottle shared at the Philly tasting. Cloudy brownish/purplish pour. Lots of caramel and some prune in the nose. Good carbonation, sour, with moderate acidity. Nice balance with sour berry, so vinous, oak, and maybe just a hint of both vanilla and caramel malt. A great ale that has held up well over the years....

4.2
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 17/20
JAXSON (528) - Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA - MAR 14, 2012
Pours a purple copper with a large, loud beige head. First whiff is a heavy dose of medicinal cherry, wine barrel, funky acidity, lime juice. Acidic brett is pretty signature Lost Abbey. Mouth is high carbonation but creamy. Fairly acidic cherries, pithy, much better fruit than on the nose. Nicely integrated acid, tight barrel. Not as meaty as Cuvee de Tomme or Red Poppy (both hugely over rated beers in my opinion), with more bright, citric acids. A creamy vanilla and some strange, soft spices on the finish. Flavor is great, little oxidation, surprising really. Getting better as it opens up. Not up to the level of the greatest American wilds, but definitely one of the better Port/Lost Abbey bottles out there, maybe their best dark sour period.

4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 2/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
Nightfall (1307) - Hamburg, GERMANY - JAN 16, 2012
Tasting @ Home with J&C, October 2011. Bottle from a trade with tytoanderso. Many thanks Tyler ! Quite a gusher. The appearance wasn’t that nice :D muddy. murky,sewage water like grey brown, with no head. Fizzy. Tart and sour aroma, grapes, brett. Tart and sour taste, very vinous, brett,leather wood. I don’t know if i am getting used to sour beer, but I absolutely loved this one.

3.9
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
Dedollewaitor (13803) - Odense, DENMARK - NOV 6, 2011
10cl sample. Thanks to Fonefan. Pours red amber with bubbles on top. Nose is tart and fruity with a layer of caramel beneath. Berries, brett and a hint of acetone. Spice? Flavor has notes of red wine and barnyard. Very dry and vaguely warming. Nice.

3.5
   AROMA 6/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 14/20
Fin (7364) - Merton, Oxfordshire, England, Oxfordshire, ENGLAND - OCT 25, 2011
Bottle at Fin & Loz’s tasting with Jan, Charlotte, Craig, Stella & kids consumed 21.10.11 Jan brought this along, cheers Jan. Pours brown in colour with no head. Touch hazy, sour and woody as one might expect. I reminded a little of De Dolle Oerbier Special Reserva. A6 A4 T7 P4 Ov14 3.5


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13


Tick this beer

for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Copyright © 2000-2014,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
reserved.
about us
About RateBeer
FAQ
Contact/Feedback
New Beers
add
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Events
membership
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50