RateBeer
Home >

Brooklyn Black Chocolate Stout

overall
100
96
style
Serve in Snifter

bottled
common

on tap
common

Broad Distribution

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 3209   WEIGHTED AVG: 3.98   SEASONAL: Winter   IBU: 51   EST. CALORIES: 300   ABV: 10%
Share this beer with friends!
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
This is the famous Brooklyn Black Chocolate Stout, our award-winning rendition of the Imperial Stout style once made exclusively for Catherine the Great. We use three mashes to brew each batch of this beer, achieving a luscious deep dark chocolate flavor through a blend of specialty roasted malts. We brew it every year for the winter season. It is delicious when newly bottled, but also ages beautifully for years.


3.9
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
adster (494) - HUNGARY - APR 17, 2015
Nesztelenül suhan a pohárba az éjfekete testű csokoládé-stout, valóban egy pisszenést sem hallat, mintha csak olajat töltenénk ki. Fenomenális illatai gőzölgő csokoládéval frissen bevont nápolyi aromáival kenik meg a levegőt, kerekded szemű, kávéval locsolt pörkölt maláta képe tárul elénk hirtelen. Selymes kortyai meglepetésszerű élénkség hordozói, néhol mintha pikáns paprika jegyei is megcsillannának az olvasztott étcsokoládé, kakaóbab nehéz szerkezetén keresztül. A jól megszokott bársonyos, enyhén vaníliás árnyalatú, desszertszerű ízfolyamnak leginkább a kivételesen sötét tónusú sodrása erőteljes, a telt karakterű, csemegeszerű hangulatokat jól kivehető komlós végkicsengés viszi el a marconább, férfiasabb irányba. A Brooklyn főzde egyik zászlóshajójaként hatékonyan ötvözi a populárisabb, közönség kedvenc imázst a speciális igényeket is kielégítő, rendhagyó irányvonallal. A maga nemében egészen kiváló alkotásról van szó.

4.1
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
anfractuosity (167) - - APR 17, 2015
Awesome warming beer, with a taste of chocolate, one to drink slowly...........

3.9
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
likeatrainwreck (66) - Stockport, Cheshire, ENGLAND - APR 15, 2015
Thick and oily. Sweet, malty... chocolate, treacle, hint of coffee... maybe a touch on the sweet side for me, but the delicious smooth alcohol warmth makes up for it. Definitely a sipper.

3.9
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
Jabah (138) - Winter Park, Florida, USA - APR 10, 2015
At first I thought this was just an average STRONG dark beer, but as I got further down the 6-pack I appreciated it more. Pours a dark black with heavy density, mocha colored foamy head with good carbonation. Malts and chocolate are the main flavors, maybe a little coffee too. Thick lingering hoppy-bitter aftertaste to offset. Nice kick too! A little pricey though for what you get. On the fence whether to buy again though, if there are other alternatives to choose from.

3.1
   AROMA 6/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 6/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 12/20
demannu (110) - New Jersey, USA - APR 7, 2015
Have given this beer 3 tries to wow me. It is fair to say that i wanted to like this more than i did. It just doesn’t deliver for me. That’s not to say this is a bad beer, it just first work for me. Definitely better options out there though.

3.3
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 6/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 13/20
Nicolas_M (78) - BELGIUM - APR 5, 2015
First it was the chocolate aroma, then the alcohol aroma... And then the overkill taste of alcohol! Still a food beer but the 10% of alcohol is unnecessary and kills the whole thing.

4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
Abio (1682) - Waasland, BELGIUM - APR 5, 2015
A very tastefully brew, better as expected. Nice bitterness and sweetness combined.

4.1
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
Immigrant (5) - BRAZIL - APR 4, 2015 does not count
Brooklyn Brewery have a lot of excellent beers, but this one is awesome! This beer have a lot of flavours and aromas that are so intense that are difficult to understand all the complexity. Well, with the aroma I found caramel, cereal, chocolate, nuts, coffee and toast. The taste is intense, an explosion of coffee, chocolate and caramel came into the beginning, after the bitter of hops and alcohol came to balance the beer. Have a lot of little flavours like toast, roast, cereal, caramel and the principal is chocolate and coffee. Excellent beer! Excellent Stout!

3.5
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 13/20
Roger60 (76) - - APR 3, 2015
SB Lund, flaska. Mörk skumkrona. Tyisk is arom. Stor skillnad mot mer humlade kompisar. Mer kaffe än choklad dock finns bitterheten där. Utsökt is.

3
   AROMA 6/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 6/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 11/20
Bewnhur (4) - SWEDEN - APR 1, 2015 does not count
A regular IS beer. I don’t really think it tastes much of chocolate, rather coffee and porter wine. Overall a good beer for the price, but there are much better out there if you are willing to spend.


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 321


Tick this beer

for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Copyright © 2000-2015,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
reserved.
about us
About RateBeer
FAQ
Contact/Feedback
New Beers
add
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Events
membership
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50