RateBeer
overall
100
100
style
Serve in Snifter

bottled
common

on tap
common

Broad Distribution

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 1141   WEIGHTED AVG: 4.07   SEASONAL: Winter   EST. CALORIES: 360   ABV: 12%
Share this beer with friends!
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
Huge sweet body, big flavors and high alcohol levels, this beer is best enjoyed by a raging fire. Complex caramel sweetness is well balanced by generous hopping, delivering an intense, smooth drinking experience. Intense fruity caramel malts, citrus hops, and alcohol notes waft up to tickle your senses.
2005 Bottle release - Pink Wax
2007 Bottle release - Yellow Wax (Brewed in Nov 06)
2008 Bottle release - Purple Wax
2009 Bottle release - Blue Wax
2010 Bottle release - Green Wax
2011 Bottle release - White Wax
2012 Bottle release - Red Wax
2013 Bottle release - Orange Wax


4.1
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 16/20
hackobock (1202) - Stockholm, SWEDEN - JUL 13, 2014
Bottle, 2013 version. Pours light hazy amber with a creamy white head. Aroma of caramel, resin, orange zest, peach, passionfruit, soap. Taste is medium sweet caramel and ripe fruits, medium bitter grassy and piney all the way. Finish is medium grassy bitter with a caramel background, some alcohol coming through as it warms up. Creamy medium/full bodied with low/medium carbonation.

4.5
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 18/20
Lectvay (114) - Boise, Idaho, USA - JUL 8, 2014
Been wanting to try this for a while. Thanks for the bottle, Ray! This hits all the right notes for a barleywine in its aroma and taste. Sweet and robust, with a noticeable hoppy brightness. A very special barleywine.

4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 15/20
Pyrmir (3271) - Uppsala, SWEDEN - JUN 21, 2014
650 ml bottle, vintage 2009. Hazy amber with off white head. Aroma of marmalade, peach and lots of caramel. Taste is sweet, caramel, fruit, marmalade, apricot and pine. Nice

3.8
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 14/20
Dfonorow (1353) - Chicago, Illinois, USA - JUN 16, 2014
2013 release on tap at DLD 2014. Pour is burnt orange with a very small white head. Aroma and flavor of molasses, dark caramel, resin hops, toffee, and light biscuit. Finish has a lot more hop presence with more fruit flavors.

3.7
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 16/20
MotherBrother (690) - Aalborg, DENMARK - JUN 15, 2014
2014 - blue wax. Pour murky nutty brown, with a small frothy off white head. Aroma is really hop forward. when poured, this seems like a "triple IPA", but it warms up, the malty caramel notes comes through. Also slight dark fruits and some mint in here as well. The taste is sweet, but has plenty of hoppy bitterness to it as well. Medium n slightly sticky body, with a semi-flat carbonation. I know this is what American BW is all about, but I dig my BWs more sweet. Oh well, shame on me.

4
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
Hoprider (105) - DENMARK - JUN 9, 2014
Settles a hazy light copper tone i the glass with a beige head. The aromas here a very very fresh. Big hop profile coming through. I think this was brewed in march 2014. This could just as weel have been a trippel ipa. Now to the taste.. Ok here we have a maltier background with a little caramel and hazelnut. But it is still very very herbal and piney, very hoppy. The mouthfeel is lively and has a medium body. The finish is.. (you guessed it) hoppy.

4.1
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
Advocate_Ames (421) - Pennsylvania, USA - JUN 6, 2014
2012 bottle aged 2yrs. Pours a hazy dark reddish orange color with sticky off white head that laced my glass. The aroma is of a hoppy citrus with defined tones of sweet malted carmel grains. From memory, age has tamed the hop driven scents than fresher version. Because of the age to this brew the carmel aroma is more dominating with a pleasant moderation of herbel and citrus like hop scents. In tasting I picked up a very welcoming bitterness with a nice blending of sweet sugary grains and booze. There is a medium body to this beverage, making it very drinkable. The finish is desirable even with a boozy dryness that lingered. Overall I was surprised that this aged well. Honestly I thought when I had this fresh that it could not get any better but the behemoth proved me wrong, you got to love the barleywine style.

4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
SlackerMads (1439) - Greater London, ENGLAND - MAY 25, 2014
Bottle, 2012 version. Hazy hazelnut brown with a small tan head. Caramel, cookies, berries, dry flowers, figs, honey. Medium body, oily texture, soft carbonation. Long warming finish. Surprisingly soft and mellow and drinks kind of easy. Deserves its place on the top list of barley wines.

3.8
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 16/20
NeoHippie2 (938) - Louisville, Kentucky, USA - MAY 10, 2014
Dark hazy amber pour with an off-white head. Big hops aromas with notes of dark fruits. Taste is hoppy upfront but as the beer warms up it mellows and the sweet malts come forward. Abv is well-hidden. Pretty good, Im definitely interested to see how well this one ages.

4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
Homer321 (1809) - Rock Ridge, Florida, USA - MAY 9, 2014
bottleshare thanks to DexterCat. Yellow wax Ohio version. Nose is full of hops and sticky malt. Slightly oxidized sherry. Some dark fruit and vinous character. Slight carbonation. Sticky on the lips. Pretty tasty.


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 115


Tick this beer

for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Copyright © 2000-2014,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
reserved.
about us
About RateBeer
FAQ
Contact/Feedback
New Beers
add
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Events
membership
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50