RateBeer
Home >


Suishin Shugetsu Junmai Daiginjo Sake

Suishin Shugetsu Junmai Daiginjo Sake
     click to upload
overall
89
58
style
Brewed by Suishin Yamane Honten Shuzo Co., Ltd.
Style: Saké - Daiginjo
HIROSHIMA Prefecture, Japan
Serve in Guinomi, Masu, Ochoko

bottling
unknown

on tap
unknown

distribution
unknown

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 12   MEAN: 3.73/5.0   WEIGHTED AVG: 3.4   EST. CALORIES: 465   ABV: 15.5%
Share this beer with friends!
No commercial description


3.5
   AROMA 6/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
3fourths (7887) - Boulder, Colorado, USA - APR 8, 2011
has a slight yellow coloration; still body. peach and pear esters in the nose with mild perfume / flowers. moderately smooth texture with mild acid. alcohol seems masked better than other sakes of the night. mild cream / milk / rice flavor with a creamy texture. snappy bite of alcohol in the finish. enjoyable.

3.8
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
douglas88 (5841) - Portland, Oregon, USA - NOV 1, 2010
Bottle thanks to the Sushi Bar! Pours a mostly clear color. A rich aroma of pear, grains, earthy dust, some floral component. Very dry, almost sucks out the water in your mouth. A huge flavor if old dusty pears and apples, some vanilla perhaps. Akin to a well made apple cider. Enjoyable.

3.7
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 16/20
cgarvieuk (14082) - Edinburgh, SCOTLAND - SEP 19, 2009
UPDATED: DEC 13, 2009 Bottle at home ... HUGE HUGE HUGE thanks to TimE ... My first actual Sake rating ... clear ... light jasmin nose ... clean ... intence ... light sweet ... light coconut ... and some other nuttyness ... really nice ... but what this has clearly shown is i dont have the any idea of how to describe sake... May i also say i enjoyed this all the more knowing its only had 9 ratings and all of the from RBSG07

4.3
   AROMA 10/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
BückDich (5464) - McCall, Idaho, USA - OCT 16, 2007
Bottle @ RBSG 07 Minneapolis: Clear, thick legs, nose of sweet plum and grape, ripe melon and very light alcohol. Subtle peach and no koji or rice notes. Super clean, no butteriness, clean, fresh and explosively tasty. A truly beautiful sake. The favor is semi-sweet, light coconut and a touch of alcohol to remind you you’re still drinking an alcoholic beverage.

3.9
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 17/20
Skyview (5154) - Papoose Jct, Minnesota, USA - JUL 10, 2007
The only o’Sake sampled at the RBSG ’07 Grand Tasting. Supplied by BückDich, this sake pours a clear wine body with no bubbles or particles. VIscosity test (alcohol) has deep legs after spinning hte beverage. Aroma of honeydew mellons, pepper, and sweetened rice. Taste is high alcoholic, semi-sweet and a nice watermellon aftertaste.

4.1
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 17/20
scraff (2121) - Baltimore, Maryland, USA - JUL 9, 2007
RBSG 2007 Grand Tasting - Aquafina clear and still. Nose held notes of melon, florals, and honeysuckle. Sweet honey rice flavor with ripe melon and florals form start to finish. ABV is well hidden. Thin, yet slick and smooth. Not a huge sake fan, but I know a good one when I have it. Thanks for sharing Jordan...

3
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 6/10   PALATE 2/5   OVERALL 11/20
hopscotch (8915) - Vero Beach, Florida, USA - JUL 8, 2007
Bottle... RBSG 07...Crystal clear and colorless. According to previous ratings, it has nice legs, but I have no idea what that means. I couldn’t find it in the RB glossary of terms so someone might want to add that one. As I was saying, it basically looks like water. My nose is pulling tons of fennel from the glass; very pleasant. The flavor is sweet and the body is light with a watery mouthfeel. Despite that sweet, watery nature, this baby totally dries out by the time I’m ready for another sip. That’s a good thing in my book, but in the world of sake? It works for me nonetheless. Overall, I enjoyed it, but not as much as previous raters. It’s fairly highly rated and probably expensive. What else can be said? Kudos to BückDich for supplying the bottle. Although I really don’t know what I just consumed, it surely furthered my experience, knowledge and expectations regarding this ancient style of brew.

3.4
   AROMA 6/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 14/20
argo0 (11353) - Washington DC, USA - JUN 30, 2007
(RBSG07, bottle) Looks like water, but has nice legs. Aroma is medium sweet, alcohol, light plum. Taste is moderately sweet, plum, light perfume, orange. Some alcohol, but not offensive. Medium body.

3.6
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 15/20
sliffy (2040) - Columbus, Ohio, USA - JUN 30, 2007
RBSG 2007: Bottle thanks to Jordan: Poured clear with some nice legs. Aroma, rice, some fruity notes in the back ground. Flavor, rice, fruits, some sweetness, spice, I never would have guessed it at 15%. I’m not much of a sake drinker but this was pretty solid.

3.7
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 17/20
BDR (2534) - Roseville, Minnesota, USA - JUN 28, 2007
Sampled at the RBSG 07 Grand Tasting. Almost no color on this sake. Subtle rice scent with a smooth sweet rice taste.


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2


Tick this beer

for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Copyright © 2000-2014,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
reserved.
about us
About RateBeer
FAQ
Contact/Feedback
New Beers
add
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Events
membership
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50