RateBeer
Home >

Lost Abbey Yellow Bus

 (RETIRED)
overall
100
100
style
Serve in Snifter, Tulip, Tumbler

bottling
unknown

on tap
unknown

distribution
unknown

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 111   WEIGHTED AVG: 4.26   SEASONAL: Special   EST. CALORIES: 225   ABV: 7.5%
Share this beer with friends!
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
Sour ale with Peaches.


4.6
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 10/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 18/20
vtafro (4545) - Wayne, New Jersey, USA - FEB 28, 2015
#4000 rating. Bottle, verified by Tomme. Golden pour with white head. Fruit, peaches, spice, oak and light funky aromas. Flavors are nicely tart, peach, pineapple juice, oak and wine flavors.

3.4
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 13/20
DrewFace (944) - Melbourne, Florida, USA - FEB 20, 2015
Bottle at rbwg. Crazy. Nose is apricot. Some light to moderate citrus with a bit of astringency. Can’t believe they poured bus on the bus.

4.6
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 10/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 19/20
kraddel (4506) - some beerplace, BELGIUM - FEB 20, 2015
Bottle , authenticated by tommy himself . Pours rather unclear blonde, small white head . Smell is sour bread , brett , buttery . Taste is Very sour right up front, bit sweet , honey aspect in the end . Malty aspects as well . Very nice . Bit dry at the start but it mellows out towards the end . Love this one

4.3
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
jtclockwork (10486) - , New Jersey, USA - FEB 24, 2014
UPDATED: MAR 12, 2015 Bottle. Backlog. Pours cloudy peach gold with white head. Nose and taste of sour peach, tons of wood, Brett, sour funk and touch of woody vanilla. Medium body. 2nd rating - Same but a bit more bright.

4.5
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 19/20
CesarLópez (10) - - AUG 21, 2013
Aroma vino blanco, algo de madera y levadura. En boca ligera acidez, ageadables notas de madera, ligero ahumado con un muy buen final seco y acido

4.8
   AROMA 10/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 20/20
Godofthecellar (677) - NYC, New York, USA - APR 25, 2013
Very interesting story behind these acquisition of YB. Id like to give a big thank you to Tomme and David for authenticating my bottles. They went way out of their way to help me and it is much appreciated A- Poured from a Tomme Arthur hand signed bottle. Beautiful apricot color with a light ring of head. N- Peach, peach, peach.... drank next to V004/V010 and the peach in YB was more prominent. Sour notes of vinegar probably from the age. Brett and moldy peach funk T- Fresh ripe peach as though they were picked yesterday, sour peach skins, light vinegar and brett. moderate funk, with incredibly well balanced sweet/tart characteristics. Peach e o’s come to mind M- smooth with very light carbonation. O- The best peach sour i have ever had...hands down... My wife drank most of my pour not realizing how rare the yellow bus is. Big thanks to Mark for letting me drink pretty much half of his glass.

4.3
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 17/20
radagast83 (5500) - Fairfax, Virginia, USA - JUL 1, 2012
Alright, so yeah - this is courtesy of Tomme Arthur - this is roughly #20 of the remaining bottles of this beer in possession of Mr. Arthur and The Lost Abbey - yes there are apparently now less than 20 bottles left (please keep that secret).

Poured a slightly cloudy, vibrant orange-yellow color, with not much of a head to speak of. Aroma was mild peaches, but with that said - the flavor was mightly peachy. So peachy. Well, I love this - it is well balanced with plenty of enjoyable tart notes.

4.6
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 10/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 19/20
Huhzubendah (2865) - Washington DC, USA - JUN 26, 2012
Bottle shared by ygtbsm94 at our insane sour ale tasting last weekend. Thanks Brad. The beer appears golden yellow hued with a thin white head. To my delight and surprise, the aroma brings the pleasant scent of peaches. The flavor takes it up a level, with a perfect blend of tart acidity, peaches, and Lost Abbey funk. Simply delicious. This was an instant favorite for me. Light in body, this was highly drinkable. This certainly lived up to the hype and high expectations. I only hope that Tomme brews this again.

4.3
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
andersand (529) - Malmö, SWEDEN - MAY 29, 2012
Bright dusty yellow with a lively little foam on top. Clean yet very inviting tart and fruity aroma with suprisingly fresh notes of peach alongside brett and mild barrel. Flavor is interestingly fruity and obviously peachy without any harsher sourness (which is a good thing.) Overall nicely balanced and highly drinkable without losing it’s original edge reminiscent of Lost Abbey sours. Impressive showcase of fruit without being some sissy fruit beer.

3.9
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
Thorpe429 (5016) - , Illinois, USA - APR 19, 2012
Bottle at the DC Lambic & Sour Tasting on April 14, 2012. Served in a Lost Abbey Teku. Huge thanks to Brad for bringing this one out. Pours a cloudy yellow-golden color with a thin white head. Decent retention and a few spots of lacing as it goes down. The nose carries a moderate amount of peaches with some backing acidity and general fruitiness. A bit of earthiness there as well. Mild Brett funk. The flavor kicks it up a notch with a really deep peach flavor that could clearly only come from the fruit of a single tree. Even after all these years, it’s quite clear that a mythical tree alone could have produced such wondrous fruit. Oops, I was wrong -- this tastes like yellow peaches. The kind you can buy at any farmers market. Probably not from a shitty grocery store, though. I’ll give them that. After wading through the peach mystery, I got some light funk and moderate-to-heavy acidity with average carbonation and a light body with a dry finish. Overall, this was quite good. I didn’t like it as much as the Isabelle we had beside it, though it was more-intensely fruity. Overall, quite good, though not quite a to-do-for creation.


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12


Tick this beer

for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Copyright © 2000-2015,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
reserved.
about us
About RateBeer
FAQ
Contact/Feedback
New Beers
add
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Events
membership
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50