RateBeer
Home >

Shepherd Neame / Stone California Double IPA

 (RETIRED)
Shepherd Neame / Stone California Double IPA
     click to upload
overall
100
100
style
Formerly brewed at Shepherd Neame
Style: India Pale Ale (IPA)
Faversham, England
Serve in Shaker, Tulip

bottling
unknown

on tap
unknown

distribution
unknown

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 28   MEAN: 4.31/5.0   WEIGHTED AVG: 4.02   SEASONAL: Special   EST. CALORIES: 210   ABV: 7%
Share this beer with friends!
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
Cask: Special - 2008
Brewed at Shepherd Neame by brewers from Stone for Wetherspoons Spring Festival 2008.
It is intensely hoppy, with a solid malt foundation which supports and even balances the ridiculous amount of hops used. Citrus and pine hop flavours are provided by the American hop varieties, while the English variety used provides a clean bitterness.
Hops used: American Centennial, American Simcoe, English Target.


4.1
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
madmitch76 (16111) - , Essex, ENGLAND - OCT 21, 2009
3rd April 2008 Fruity aroamtic hops. Bitter but refreshingly so, doesnít overwhelm with itís hoppiness!

4.2
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 17/20
Ethereal (2417) - Los Angeles, California, USA - JUN 15, 2008
Cask at the JDW near Old Street,4th April 2008. Due to my tardiness in typing up this rate, I may well be the last person to rate it. Orangey amber in colour with very little carbonation. There are fruit notes in the nose and on the tongue but of course what you really feel are the HOPS. My notes include the phrase "hopped to ****" and oh my god it works. The finish is seemingly endless and as the previous ratings attest, this beer has turned heads. I wonder what JDW will conjure for next yearís fest. Until then, Stone - I salute you!

4.2
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
haddonsman (1234) - Derby, Derbyshire, ENGLAND - MAY 8, 2008
Cask, various Spoons across the Midlands. Letís get the beer porn bit out the way first; vicious hop nose, viscous sap mouthfeel, gold body gilded with a pillowy head, a melange of fruit borne unto the palate by ranks of cherubim and serpahim.... a great beer? Yes. At less than two quid a pint. Fantastic. A style that challenges British brewers to come up with something more imaginative than yet another festival mix? Possibly. A one-off experience that GB Ratebeerians are already getting dewy-eyed about? Probably. A beer that Iím glad to have hammered (session drinking round here is a hard knock life)? Certainly.

4.4
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
leaparsons (8311) - Leicester, Leicestershire, ENGLAND - APR 26, 2008
Cask, The Last Plantagenet and two other JDWs. Golden with an off-white head, quite viscous. Aromas are lots of apricot and sweet grapefruit with woody notes. Spicy and peppery with pine. Almost like an aftershave. Flavours are fruity with melon, apricot and citrus. Bitter green pine with woody notes. Slightly herbal with oranges. Grapefruit with bitterness on the finish. Addictive and very good.

4.8
   AROMA 10/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 19/20
bobinlondon (1257) - Harrow, Greater London, ENGLAND - APR 20, 2008
UPDATED: APR 8, 2014 Hand pulled cask at several JDW pubs durng their international beer fest. I was very excited to read about this beer in Spoonís festival program and fortunately didnít have long to wait until it appeared at my office local. It looked great, orange with an off-white head. The aroma was as strong and apertising as any beer Iíve ever encountered, the smell of huge quantities of hops hitting me long before I raised the glass to my nose The taste was was an absolute explosion of flavours. The most complex hop characture Iíve ever experienced but balanced by the juicest malts. The resinous hop oils present made this powerful brew slip down far too easily so my lunch break pint didnít last long. The flavours remained with me four hours later when I clocked off from work and I headed sraight back to the pub for more. Alas, they had understandably sold out. Over the next two weeks I visited a couple of dozen or more Spoons pubs by bike, bus, car or train in search of this wonderful beer and was lucky enough to find it four more times. I tried it with/ without sparkler, fresh barrel / last pint out of barrel, sipping and making it last or a 5 pint quaffing session where it just got better and better until I could barely speak and was ordered out of the pub by my wife! It was never anything short of delicious and was without doubt the best british brewed beer I have ever sampled. Hats off to JDW for making this happen and PLEASE commission some more for your next festival.

4.3
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 18/20
Ughsmash (7181) - Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA - APR 16, 2008
Thank you to a great friend from across the pond for getting me a hand-bottle of this! Poured crystal-clear, lighter orangey-golden with some loose bubbles sticking around for head.. lovely color to it. The flavor picked up juicy grapefruit and pears from the Simcoe (Iím a mega-sucker for Simcoe) with layers of soft caramel, pine, and sweet grapefruit meat.. I smelled this for about 15 minutes before I thought to drink some. The flavor retained the juiciness with sweet pear juice and grapefruit meat.. caramel provided more substance and texture than flavor.. bitterness was moderate-high, again with the juicy fruits and pine.. the finish was long-ish and a great memory of this drink! Roughly medium-bodied on the palate with very low carbonation.. gave it a bit of a slick feel.. again a long, succulent finish. Iím stoked that this survived the journey so well! Awesome beer!

3.9
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 2/5   OVERALL 17/20
chimplechamp (601) - Oslo, NORWAY - APR 14, 2008
cask at weatherspoons by george square, pours hazy golden yellow, pure white head smells hoppy, and distinctly american. citrus earth malt. taste is slightly almost watered down. brown sugar, barn almost wheat taste. great hop character very balanced. some length on the finish. vegetal. i canna believe it was only 1.69 this shit would have cost me $6 in the states.

4.7
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 19/20
JonMoore (1898) - Loughborough, Leicestershire, ENGLAND - APR 12, 2008
Cask at Moon and Bell Wetherspoons, Loughborough. A superb IPA. I was shocked at how good this was. Crystal clear, superb body, dry, hoppy. By far the best beer Iíve had in a Wetherspoons - and one of the best casks Iíve had anywhere.

4.3
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 18/20
berkshirejohn (4674) - Bracknell, Berkshire, ENGLAND - APR 9, 2008
Cask at the Gig House (JDW), Wokingham. Amber with a thick creamy cream head; aroma of orange peel and grassy hops; big grapefruit flavour, rich and buttery; delicously prolonged deep bitter finish. Wow. Well done JDW, well done SN.

4.3
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
evilempire (136) - sheffield, South Yorkshire, ENGLAND - APR 7, 2008
shepherd neame in nice beer shock! ok, it took a visiting brewer to achieve it, but goes to show that decent beer can be brewer there if they use the right ingredients. Reckon this brew has probably used up all their hops for the year. A superb IPA, ultra dry, citrus & pine flavours and aroma, lingering aftertaste... this beer needs to be permanent! disagree about it not being a session beer too!


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3


Tick this beer

for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Copyright © 2000-2014,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
reserved.
about us
About RateBeer
FAQ
Contact/Feedback
New Beers
add
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Events
membership
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50