RateBeer
Home >

AleSmith Barrel Aged Decadence 2007

 (RETIRED)
overall
100
100
style
Serve in Shaker, Snifter

bottling
unknown

on tap
unknown

distribution
unknown

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 189   WEIGHTED AVG: 4.07   SEASONAL: Special   EST. CALORIES: 300   ABV: 10%
Share this beer with friends!
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
Special Markings Paper Label Gold Foil and number out of 817 Bottles. Special Markings: Gold foil neck and paper label gold numbering on it, with bottle #/817


4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
Lothore (451) - California, USA - MAR 29, 2014
A- Pours a deep dark brownish hue with a solid head that dissipates to some nice lacing. S- Lots of bourbon notes, vanilla, roasted malts and hints of whiskey. T- Thick and creamy. Chocolate and roasted malt make up the backbone and give way to a big bourbon presence throughout the entirety. M- Thick with medium carbonation. D- This was a huge beer and didn’t quite come together for me but I still enjoyed it.

4.2
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 16/20
ThirstyBird (1176) - Düsseldorf, GERMANY - FEB 15, 2014
Old rating from ’10. A big thank you to jedwards for sharing this one!!! Bottle 250/817 Pours dark brown/black. Tan head mostly a big ring. Smell is rich roasted malt, chocolate, buttery. Huge flavor - chocolate, black licorice, butterscotch, bourbon, coconut and some alcohol. Active carbonation with a fine structure. Medium/full body - really nice and smooth. Overall this beer is really something - smooth, rich and delicious!

4.6
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 18/20
tkrjukoff (3896) - SWEDEN - JAN 24, 2014
Bottle 75 cl shared with Johannes. Pours black brown with a nice tanned bubbly head. Aroma is intense vanilla dill sweet bready caramel molasses, so good. Flavor is spot on balanced malty boozy roasted sweet...as aroma. Good bitter malty finish.

5
   AROMA 10/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 10/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 20/20
cbkschubert (2900) - BFE, Arizona, USA - OCT 18, 2013
750 ml bottle (267/817) via trade with badlizard several years ago. Thanks Joe - I’ve been sittin’ on this beer for awhile. Waiting for the right occasion. I’ve thought about sharing it with my homebrew club, the AZ crew, or family. Well, I’ve decided to be selfish, and drink the crown jewel of my cellar by myself (actually my wife helped). Reason being, Elaine Schubert, my mother died this morning after she finally succumb to her battle with cancer. So why not drink a great beer to celebrate the life of a wonderful woman.
I won’t go into detail about the beer. You can read all the other reviews. With that said, this beer is absolutely wonderful. Probably one of the best beers I’ve tried. Time has done this beer good. So I think I’ve finally found a beer I can rate a 5.0. Also, I think this would be a good beer end end my rating. Love ya mom.

4.2
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
JBoan (176) - Arizona, USA - OCT 7, 2013
Bottle. Pours dark black with a thin mocha head. Aroma on this is booze, dark fruit, chocolate, faint vanilla, oak and sweetness. Taste is bitter chocolate, roasted malt, coffee and vanilla and oak. Nice creamy balanced medium to full bodied beer with good a good clean finish.

4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 17/20
brystmar (1112) - Dallas, Texas, USA - SEP 13, 2013
Thanks Jacob! I fking love both 07s. Bourbon forward for sure. Chocolatey bourbon-oak, vanilla & caramel, boozy, delicious.

4.2
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
hopdog (8521) - Lansdale, Pennsylvania, USA - AUG 5, 2013
750ml bottle. Side x side with the regular version. Poured a black color with a small sized off white head. Bourbon, wood, dark fruits, chocolate, vanilla, and some caramel. This one has aged well.

4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
Damico (2353) - Royersford, Pennsylvania, USA - AUG 4, 2013
Pours unclear dark coffee with a creamy caramel tan head. Aroma brings sweet booze and vanilla from the barrel. Flavor brings roasted malts and then creamy coffee and then booze with no heat from the barrel.

4
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
mrmartin (655) - New York, New York, USA - JUL 22, 2013
Black pour with small tan head. Nose is smooth roasted malts. Smooth and roasty throughout. Mellow, nutty, hint of chocolate and oak. Light body. Mild, dry finish. Very nice

4.2
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 18/20
anders37 (15493) - Malmö, SWEDEN - MAY 20, 2013
Bottle. Courtesy of t0rin0. Pours a black color with a small tan head. Has a roasted malty woody chocolate aroma. Roasted malty woody bourbon and chocolate flavor. Has a roasted malty woody bourbon finish with hints of chocolate and caramel in the aftertaste.


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 19


Tick this beer

for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Copyright © 2000-2014,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
reserved.
about us
About RateBeer
FAQ
Contact/Feedback
New Beers
add
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Events
membership
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50