Home >

Hair of the Dog Matt

Serve in Snifter, Tulip


on tap

Regional Distribution

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 458   WEIGHTED AVG: 4.2/5   SEASONAL: Winter   EST. CALORIES: 375   ABV: 12.5%
Matt VandenBerghe and Matt Bonney (Bottleworks and Brouwers in Seattle) personify the spirit and dedication that has helped craft beer become the vibrant industry it is today. This Beer was originally Brewed to celebrate the tenth anniversary of Bottleworks, and will be released every few years from the Brewery. Matt is made with two Munich malts, two Smoked malts and two types of Belgian candy sugar. It is aged in Kentucky Bourbon and Apple Eau de Vie barrels from Clear Creek distilling. Matt is deep and lush with notes of apple, chocolate and smoke.

   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 14/20
BiiruBierBeer (738) - Phoenix, Arizona, USA - NOV 14, 2015
2010. Deep caramel malty smell and taste. Full body, very low carbonation, and no foam.

   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 17/20
BVery (8686) - Plymouth, Minnesota, USA - NOV 8, 2015
2013 bottle at HotD. Dense murky brown pour with no head. Aroma is plum, mild apple, wood, bourbon. Similar taste. Palate is slightly dense with very soft carbonation.

   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 19/20
574deadzone (1295) - North Central, Indiana, USA - JUL 26, 2015
I got to try this, fuck, over a year ago. Maybe a 2-3 oz sample pour from a buddy. I didn’t take any notes, but I got to thinking I should just enter it and maybe someday I’ll get to try it again and do a proper rating, but I was at work so I didn’t have time. I just remember it being very dark brown with basically no head and having a very complex aroma with dark fruit and some smoke notes being predominant. It was very sweet and the body was heavy, oily, and soft to almost not even carbonated. It was a great experience and one I am thankful for being a part of. Someday perhaps I will get to try it again. But until then, Dave’s not here, man.

   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
Errl (2327) - Plano, Texas, USA - JUL 5, 2015
Bottle...Pour is dark with a very small head..Nose is Chocolate, rich, plum, alcohol, vanilla, some smoke, musty, dry oak...Taste is maple, apple skin, dark fruits, spice, chewy and rich..

   AROMA 6/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 6/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 14/20
knickskicks (999) - - JUN 14, 2015
2013. Dark copper, almost black. Nose is booze and prunes. Taste is the same, with a touch of ass. Rough finish.

   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 17/20
devman171 (1222) - Annapolis, Maryland, USA - JUN 1, 2015
2013 bottle, Pour is murky brown with low carb. Aroma is big sweet figs, dark fruits, and light barrel. taste is similar, very rich and decadent.

   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
BREWMUSKCLES (2441) - New Jersey, USA - MAY 18, 2015
some fruity sugar and tang to it with wood in the background. more than a bit of dankness to this bottle. a little cider and a dash of cocoa. boozy yet beery.

   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
shoulderbroken (3061) - Tokyo, JAPAN - MAY 9, 2015
Bottle shared with Doug. Cheers! Burnt caramel, dark fruit, black treacle. Taste is great, quite thick, low carbonation, lots of fruit. Light spice. Golden syrup.

   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 10/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 19/20
Maarten1993 (632) - Nijmegen, NETHERLANDS - MAY 8, 2015
Drank during the tasting 08-05. Awesome beer. Very rich. Awesome sweet taste. Fruit, raisins. Great beer.

   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 10/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 18/20
rosenbergh (9164) - Tampere, FINLAND - MAY 5, 2015
12 oz bottle at the Hair of the Dog, Portland, OR. 2013 vintage. Dark reddish brown colour with no head. Plums, figs, prunes, more dark fruits, sweetness, mild chocolate notes, sweet malt and dessert wine in the aroma. The flavour is... out if this world. Amazing flavour of dark fruits, sweetness, brandy, chocolate, malt and all the goodness in the world. So so so tasty! I'm willing to sell my soul now! ---Rated via Beer Buddy for iPhone

We Want To Hear From You

Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »

Page    1  2 3 4 » 46

Tick this beer

for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Copyright © 2000-2015,
RateBeer LLC. All rights
about us
About RateBeer
New Beers
Advanced Search
Add A Beer
Add A Brewer
Add A Place
Log In
Edit Personal Info
Buy Premium Membership
Your Messages
the best
RateBeer Best
100 Beer Club
The Top 50