Aging Lagunitas Wilco Tango Foxtrot...?

Reads 1065 • Replies 19 • Started Tuesday, October 4, 2016 9:15:59 AM CT

The forums you're viewing are the static, archived version. You won't be able to post or reply here.
Our new, modern forums are here:
RateBeer Forums

Thread Frozen

Originally posted by DuffMan
Originally posted by ContemplateBeer
Is it bottle conditioned? That might make some kind of difference, no?

I will preface this by saying I am NOT an expert! But my take on cellaring beers is pretty simple. Basically you are experimenting with oxidation, or "staleness" if you want to use a derogatory synonym. So whether there is yeast in the bottle or not will make little difference in my mind, if we are talking about long term aging. In the short term, bottled yeast will impart their own character to a beer, which will include various esters, possibly phenols, and certainly increased carbonation. But over the long term, the yeast will die and succumb to the oxidative process. Once again, this will have various effects, more often negative than positive in my experience, but you can never be certain.

I think it’s sufficient to say be prepared for something different than the fresh version, but whether it’s "good different" or "bad different" will depend on the beer itself and your own personal preferences. There are many people who think aging beer is a waste of time (and beer!), but I still think it’s an interesting and educating enterprise. Although I fully admit my enthusiasm has changed considerably with experience, and I’m much more selective about which beers I’ll try aging/cellaring.
Hmm. Paging CLevar!

DuffMan
beers 10981 º places 349 º 18:34 Tue 10/4/2016