RateBeer
home Home > Forums >
Metros > UK & Ireland | Beer Talk | Site News | Beer Trade | Beer Travel | Food/Beer | For Sale | New Here | Homebrew | Non-US | Industry | OT - Lite | OT - Medium

Micropubs

read 986 times • 31 replies • posted 3/31/2014 5:50:02 AM

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4

Erlangernick 1:2
So is it possible to earn enough to live from by running one, just enough to break even, get rich, or what?

Where should I fantasise about opening one? The CAMRA mobile app shows that the CAMRA pub nearest me is in fact, The Just Reproach, a new micropub in Deal. Itís only 437 miles, I suppose I should pop round sometime.

It really does sound like something Iíd like to do.
Reply to OP

Private message Send the author a private message

alovelydrop 7:42
You and me both!

I canít really get my head around how much beer youíd need to sell in order to turn a decent profit (I have very little experience of the trade) but presumably people do, or they wouldnít keep popping up everywhere!

3/31/2014 5:58:32 AM

Post a reply Post reply

Private message send the author a private message

premium
imdownthepub 10217:499
Iím going to visit my first example of this latest phenomenon this week. There must be a massive balancing act between how much you can put through the bar and the counteracting Business rates and rent etc. Iím keen to see how it works.
3/31/2014 6:29:57 AM

Post a reply Post reply

premium
chriso 7355:371
harrisoni knows a couple of the people who run micropubs quite well. Iím sure heíd be able to provide some feedback on how the economics work.

I think most of them are "semi-hobby" judging by the (usually) limited opening hours.
3/31/2014 6:35:06 AM

Post a reply Post reply

Phil 178:28