RateBeer
home Home > Forums >
Homebrew | Beer Talk | Site News | Beer Trade | Beer Travel | Food/Beer | For Sale | New Here | Non-US | Industry | OT - Lite | OT - Medium

Quick Question/Survey For Homebrewers

read 309 times • 5 replies • posted 2/11/2013 11:01:01 AM

Thread Frozen

ysl20030223
Hi, I’m a business student at the University of Washington in an entrepreneurship class. My project is to think of an idea and conduct all the proper research necessary in opening a new business. Naturally, being the beer lover that i am, my first idea was related to beer!

In a nutshell, my idea is to open up a brewery marketed towards homebrewers that are interested in opening up their own brewery or just interested in selling their beer to the public but lack the capital, time, resources, etc. Customers would have their own recipes brewed by our own brewmasters, providing them with the necessary insight to successfully brew their beer on a large scale while still retaining the quality of the beer. Once it is ready, we would bottle/keg it and be able to provide channels to sell it in. We would also have an onsight tap room for beer drinkers to come drink the beer at the brewery too. The benefit of this would be to provide our customer with an idea of how his beer would sell in the market as well as give him some experience/knowledge into brewing beer on a commercial level without having to get licensed. The recipes would only be brewered temporarily as well, being brewed under contracts. This way when the contract is up, the customer retains full rights to the recipe, leaving him/her to do as they wish with it(which could be get another contract, sell the recipe, or try to open their own brewery)

Some details still need to be worked out, such as price(we’d keep it pretty affordable though) and labeling and that kind of stuff, and i do have ideas like if a recipe is very successful, the brewery might make an offer for the rights to brew it full time.