RateBeer
home Home > Forums >
Homebrew | Beer Talk | Site News | Beer Trade | Beer Travel | Food/Beer | For Sale | New Here | Non-US | Industry | OT - Lite | OT - Medium

Starting to Homebrew......

read 1390 times • 19 replies • posted 11/24/2012 4:04:57 PM

Thread Frozen
Page 1 | 2

BadAprilia1000 239:1
Hey all,

Just wanted to pop in here and see if you guys could recommend any resources to me that I would need to begin my homebrew adventure. I am in the Knoxville, TN area and will be using the local shop Ferment City (if any of you know it). I have never done this before, and I have been reading up/ watching YouTube videos trying to expand my knowledge. Iíll probably be brewing from one of the general recipes/kits for the first time or two so that I get the process down. I have noticed that one of the biggest precautions to take is to sanitize, sanitize, and then sanitize some more, which I think Iíll be OCD about that. Well any information it appreciated.

Thanks
BadAprilia1000
Private message Send the author a private message

premium
StefanSD 2085:45
Just jump in and go for it.
11/24/2012 4:09:32 PM

Private message send the author a private message

premium
bitbucket 2159:63
How to Brew Ė John Palmer
Brewing Classic Styles Ė Jamil Zainasheff & John Palmer
11/24/2012 4:35:19 PM

kaips1 69:11
both stefansd and bitbucket nailed it, besides what they said, never stop reading about brewing and techniques and ingredients. one can never know enough.
12/10/2012 4:24:34 PM

elkhunter36 10
Tons of great videos here:
http://www.northernbrewer.com/brewingtv/
12/10/2012 4:48:35 PM

lithy 2996:156
Check out the local forum, I left about two years ago, but I know tronraner brews often, you could probably watch/help on one of his brewdays. Seeing the process is a big help at least for visual learners like myself.