RateBeer
home Home > Forums >
Beer Travel | Beer Talk | Site News | Beer Trade | Food/Beer | For Sale | New Here | Homebrew | Non-US | Industry | OT - Lite | OT - Medium

Time to explore Europes Beer

read 1011 times • 24 replies • posted 6/11/2013 10:38:10 AM

Thread Frozen
Page 1 | 2 | 3

AlexMenary
Hello All,

I should start by saying that I am Canadian and have never traveled to Europe before so I am brand new to this.

I am going to Brewlab in Sunderland England in March for the 9 week brewing program. In the middle of the 9 weeks, there are two weeks off and I plan to spend at least some of the time traveling around and checking out new local beers. I think I would like to go to Belgium since I am a fan of a lot of the Belgium beers (and who isnít really). Does anyone out there have an opinion about the best way to get from Sunderland to Belgium, and where the best city to go in Belgium would be? Would it be best to rent a car and drive or do you think I should just fly or take the train?

Also what would people recommend as far as cities in England that are good to go to while Iím there? What about specific bars and beer stores that I should go to while I am in England.

Thanks for any input that you guys have.

Alex
Private message Send the author a private message

premium
JoeinEscazķ 1325:278
March 2014? Next Good Beer Guide Belgium will be out by then.

Trains to London, Eurostar to Brussels. Because, London.

Or there is a ferry from Newcastle that would get you to Amsterdam, and you could train to Belgium from there. Because, Amsterdam.
6/11/2013 10:50:31 AM

Private message send the author a private message

TAR 2410:27
Skip England and explore Franconia and fall in love with kellerbier, instead.

Here is why:
http://www.ratebeer.com/Beer-News/Article-750.htm

6/11/2013 11:02:02 AM

premium
Theydon_Bois 6994:553
Originally posted by TAR

Here is why:
http://www.ratebeer.com/Beer-News/Article-750.htm

Yeah - skip England the beers shit there