Related stories Related stories

Other Stories By RateBeer

  Ratebeer Summer Gathering 2008 Application
       Nov 3, 2007

  Ratebeer Summer Gathering 2008 Application
       Nov 3, 2007

  National Toast to Michael Jackson
       Sep 13, 2007

  RBSG 2007 Application
       Nov 30, 2006

  RBSG 2007 Application
       Nov 30, 2006

  RBSG 2007 Application
       Nov 30, 2006

  Ratebeer News for April 13, 2006
       Apr 13, 2006

  Ratebeer News for April 6, 2006
       Apr 6, 2006

  Ratebeer News for March 24, 2006
       Mar 24, 2006

  Ratebeer News for March 16, 2006
       Mar 16, 2006

home Home > Subscribe to Ratebeer.com Weekly RateBeer Archives > Brewers/Industry

Brewers Association Awards Brewing Icons

Craft Brewer’s Conference Awards Announced
Brewers/Industry April 15, 2005      
Written by RateBeer

Santa Rosa, CALIFORNIA -

The Brewers Association presented the Russell Schehrer Award for Innovation in Brewing to Greg Noonan of Vermont Pub and Brewery, the Brewers Association Recognition Award to Carol Stoudt of Stoudts Brewing Company and the F.X. Matt Defense of the Small Brewing Industry Award to Marc Sorini of McDermott Will & Emery during the Brewers Association Craft Brewers Conference’s Thursday morning Opening Session.

Carol Stout is no stranger to awards or attention. As the first woman to start up her own brewery, Carol garnered attention right off the bat. "As a brewer of excellent and award winning products, and as one of the brewing community’s most active members, she has continued to be a focus of attention and admiration ever since," says Steve Bradt, Head Brewer at Free State Brewing Company and Brewers Association Board of Directors member. Bradt says, "There are probably few brewers in the craft brewing industry and even fewer home brewers who haven’t read one of Greg Noonan’s books or articles on beer and brewing. Through his writing and his work with other aspiring brewers, Greg has been a selfless contributor to the advancement of the craft and the industry for the last two decades."

The Russell Schehrer Award for Innovation in Brewing was first given in 1997 to honor Russell Schehrer, who died in 1996 at 38 years old, for his contributions to the brewing industry. Schehrer was a founding partner and original head brewer at Colorado’s first brewpub Wynkoop Brewing Co. He was also one of the first brewers to produce mead, doppel alt, cream stout and chili beer.

Brewers Association members give nominations every year for the Russell Schehrer Award for Innovation in Brewing. The winner is determined by nominations made by the Brewers Association board members and voted on by previous award winners.

The Brewers Association Recognition Award is presented every year to an individual or company whose inspiration, enthusiasm and support contributes to the brewpub and microbrewery movement. Brewing members of the association and the Brewers Association Advisory Board nominate and vote on the winner.

The Brewers Association Craft Brewers Conference and BrewExpo America® was held April 13 - 16, 2005 in Philadelphia. It’s the number one environment in North America for professional brewers for concentrated, affordable brewing education and idea sharing to improve brewery quality and performance.

A list of past award winners follows:

Russell Schehrer Award for Innovation in Brewing Winners

2005- Greg Noonan, Vermont Pub and Brewery

2004-Dick Cantwell, Elysian Brewing Co.

2003-Phil Markowski, Southampton Publick House

2002-John Mallett, Kalamazoo Brewing Co.

2001-John Harris, Full Sail Brewing Co.

2000-Mark Carpenter, Anchor Brewing Co.

1999-Fal Allen, Anderson Valley Brewing Co.

1998-Garrett Oliver, Brooklyn Brewery

1997-John Maier, Oregon Brewing Co./Rogue Ales

Brewers Association Recognition Award Winners

2005- Carol Stoudt, Stoudts Brewing Company

2004-Jack Joyce, Rogue Ales

2003-Mary-Anne Gruber, Briess Malting Co.

2002-George Fix, Clemson University

2001-Jim and Bobie Kennedy, Admiralty Beverage Russell

2000-Ralph Olson and Ralph Woodall, Hopunion CBS, LLC

1999-Bill Owens, American Brewer Magazine

1998-Charles Finkel, Merchant du Vin

1997-Jim Koch and Rhonda Kallman, Boston Beer Co.

1996, Karl Strauss, Karl M. Strauss Consulting

1995-John Hickenlooper and Russell Schehrer, Wynkoop Brewing Co.

1994-Fred Scheer, Frankenmuth Brewery

1993-Jeff Mendel, Institute for Brewing Studies

1992-Paul Shipman, Red Hook Ale Brewery

1991-Ken Grossman, Sierra Nevada Brewing Co.

1990-Bert Grant, Yakima Brewing and Malting

1989-Roger Briess, Briess Malting Co.

1988-Fritz Maytag, Anchor Brewing Co.

1987-Michael Jackson

F.X. Matt Defense of the Small Brewing Industry Award Winners

2005- Marc Sorini, McDermott Will & Emery

2004- Marc Sorini, BAA Counsel

2003- Jim Parker, Oregon Brewers Guild

2002- Mike McKinney, Texas Wholesalers Association

2001- David Edgar, Past Institute for Brewing Studies Director

Based in Boulder, Colo., U.S.A., the Brewers Association (BA) is a not-for-profit trade and educational association for small and craft brewers. The Brewers Association was established in 2005 by a merger of the Association of Brewers and the Brewers’ Association of America. Visit the website: www.beertown.org to learn more. The Brewers Association has an additional membership division of 9,000+ homebrewers: American Homebrewers Association.



No comments added yet

You must be logged in to post comments


Anyone can submit an article to RateBeer. Send your edited, HTML formatted article to our Editor-In-Chief.