Stone 20th Anniversary Encore Series: 6th Anniversary Porter

overall
99
96
style
Serve in Shaker, Snifter

bottled
common

on tap
available

Broad Distribution

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 426   WEIGHTED AVG: 3.91/5   EST. CALORIES: 240   ABV: 8%
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
We celebrated our first five years in business by releasing anniversary India pale ales, with each subsequent IPA brewed to be hoppier and more intense than the previous. For our 6th anniversary in 2002, we extended this concept by making an intensified version of Stone Smoked Porter. We cranked up the malts and hops a notch or three and conditioned it on French and American oak, which accentuated our porters distinctive smokiness and amplified its chocolate and roast coffee flavors while also adding subtle notes of toffee, cherries, dried berries and vanilla. Were proud to give those who missed outas well as those who didnta fresh shot at experiencing this smoky, dark-as-night wonder.

Tick this beer for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5


3.6
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 14/20
commonmac (1139) - Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA - FEB 14, 2017
Bottle picked up by blonderedhead and shared for Valentines Day. Consumed in Avery Belgian snifter glass. Plenty of frothy tan head sits atop a dark black colored affair. Nose is an assertive roasted, nutty quality with a prevailing coffee undertone. Slight hint of chocolate...very mild. Taste carries the coffee elements through from the aroma with a bitter and roasted espresso bean finish. There is a kind of dark fruit (raisin) characteristic but its overshadowed by a overt bitterness. Dark chocolate towards the end. Seems to respond well to warming up. I can respect this one but the smoky qualities are not inspiring me to go out and buy it again.

3.5
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 12/20
BlackBeerPG (468) - Darien, Illinois, USA - FEB 14, 2017
Taste: Bold hoppy bites mixes with dark malts with berries, chocolate, toffee, oak, smokey notes. Same with the nose. Dark brown, semi opaque, tan foamy head. Full body. Smokey massive somewhat smooth porter, still hop presence.

3.9
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
Imaena (2295) - Maputo, MOZAMBIQUE - FEB 10, 2017
Bottle. This is a smoke bomb of a porter with loads of roasted malts and coffee undertones.

3.9
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
Cunningham (7389) - Halden, NORWAY - FEB 6, 2017
Black as the deepest dungeon, and a fine tan head. Good lacing also. Fine intensity in the aroma. Medium + body and a smooth fine carbonation level. Mellow and fine sweetness, and fine bitterness to back it up. Chocolate, roasted barley, mild smoke and espresso in the flavor. Solid nice evening sipper.
[Bottle from Systembolaget in Sweden]

3.7
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 14/20
jrodooo5 (1583) - DOVER, Delaware, USA - JAN 29, 2017
Bold & roasty! Lovely dark pour w/ a tiny head & great lacing. Aroma is dark coffee & powerful! The taste is bitter coffee w/ just enough hint of chocolate to smooth it out. Powerful stuff!

3.3
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 6/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 13/20
BenL8 (117) - SWITZERLAND - JAN 27, 2017
Bottle at home. Pours black with a fine sheet of white head. Aroma is of dark malts, dark chocolate, cherries, caramel, oak, some smoke, vanilla. Maybe some plums. Medium body. Flavour is rather rough, leathery, oaky, a little smokey, very bitter, dark chocolate, hoppy and intense. Finish is long and intense, too bitter and leathery. Overrated and overpriced, far too rough in my opinion.

3.2
   AROMA 6/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 12/20
tia (1949) - Sandston, Virginia, USA - JAN 22, 2017
Sample ar brewery. Dark with oatmeal head. Smoked sausage, but I get a little band aid. Flavor is like smoked sausage too.

4.5
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 17/20
SeniorZozo (1462) - Budapest, HUNGARY - JAN 16, 2017
@ Budapest. Black with a small tan head. Aroma and taste of light roasted malt, ash, chocolate and some hints of ham. The body was medium and the finish rather bitter.

3.5
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 14/20
rusos (699) - Stupava, SLOVAK REPUBLIC - JAN 4, 2017
Bottle from Pivn Raj. Dark ruby/brown colour. Beige head. Aroma is intense, smoke, peat, hops, caramel. Taste is roasted, peat, hops. Very high bitterness. Good.

4.2
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 17/20
Gurthnar (5373) - Bratislava, SLOVAK REPUBLIC - JAN 4, 2017
Bottle at a tasting. Intense and complex. Roasty, smoky, peaty. Bitter. ABV hidden well. Easy drinking and very tasty. Well balanced. Great.


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 43
Tick this beer for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5