overall
99
90
style
RATINGS: 1121   WEIGHTED AVG: 3.89/5   SEASONAL: Winter   EST. CALORIES: 300   ABV: 10%
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
Everything but the kitchen sinkGreat Western Premium Two Row, Wheat, Carvienne, Caramunich, 95-115, 135-165L Crystal Malts, Chocolate, Roasted and Black Barley and Pale Chocolate. We also add some Brown Sugar and some Dark Belgian Candi Sugar to boost the Original Gravity. The beer is hopped with East Kent Goldings, Mt. Hood, Liberty, and Challenger. It is unfiltered with an OG of 1.094 and 10.0% ABV. Proprietary Ale Yeast.

Tick this beer for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5


3.8
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 17/20
Procent (630) - POLAND - MAR 16, 2017
Klasyczny i wyrazisty RIS. w aromacie kawa i paloność głwnie. Bardzo ładna, gęsta i obfita piana, wygląd zdecydowanie na plus. W smaku tak jak w aromacie - intensywnie palone i kawowe, zdecydowanie bardziej wytrawne, chociaż słodowa kontra jest i to na zauważalnym poziomie. Wysycenie średnie, ciało ok, nie jest puste, nie jest jakieś mega gęste czy oleiste. Solidny RIS, ktry niczego nie urywa, ale pije sie bardzo przyjemnie .

3.6
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 15/20
monk191 (1922) - Portland, Oregon, USA - FEB 27, 2017
A very nice dessert imperial stout. Pours a deep black with a brown head. Smells of chocolate, coffee and vanilla. Taste is smooth and sweet, with lots of vanilla and chocolate. A bit of licorice and and coffee in the finish. Had on tap at Beerworks. ---Rated via Beer Buddy for iPhone

3.8
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
rusos (723) - Stupava, SLOVAK REPUBLIC - FEB 18, 2017
Bottle. Black colour, brown stable head. Aroma roasted, caramel, toffee, chocolate, nuts. Hops. Taste is chocolate, cocoa, toasted, caramel, high bitterness. Alcohol present. Bitter aftertaste. Good one.

3.8
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
Faathoven (98) - Barcellona P.G., ITALY - FEB 13, 2017
Pours dark brown with tan head. Aroma of roasted malts, dark chocolate, some coffee note, dark fruits, brown sugar, brownies. Flavour is dark chocolate, fudge, chocolate cake, hints of coffee, some licorice and a sweet warm finish from the alcohol. Soft carbonation, medium to full body and creamy texture. Very good one.

4.5
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 18/20
Scrumpy369 (642) - Budapest, HUNGARY - JAN 8, 2017
Bottle shared at home. Pitch black colour, medium brown head with surprisingly good retention. Nose is roasted malty, faint cocoa, light booze in the background. Taste is medium-high bitterness. Roasted malts, nuts, light soy sauce, faint ashy notes. Full bodied, medium carbonation. Very well hidden alcohol. Very nice brew overall!

2
   AROMA 6/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 3/10   PALATE 2/5   OVERALL 5/20
cheap (5635) - Beaver Valley, Beaver County, Pennsylvania, USA - JAN 3, 2017
tap mad mex. big black & large n in charge. do I smell coffee? bitter strong in yer face high volatile dizzying alky. very strong. and now I see its impy stout my friend. big almost non identifiable black dark bitter chocolate. its hidden someplace behind a back bone of kick you in the brain.

3.9
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
Samuel214 (878) - SWEDEN - DEC 31, 2016
Flaska frn SB, 2014. Allts dryga tv r gammal. Svart med hgt, beigegrddigt skum som lmnar rester lngs kanterna. Doft av kaffesump, lder, lite chark, toffee, ltt syrligt, grddkola, fudge. Fyllig och len kropp, grddig. Krv i smaken med stora rostade inslag, lite brnda toner, kaffe, toffee, kola, lakrits, mrka br, stor beska och skogiga toner. En matt kaffebeska i eftersmaken som hnger kvar lnge. Krv, vlrostad imperial stout.

4.1
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
Svesse (8284) - Hsselby, SWEDEN - DEC 30, 2016
(Bottle) Pitch black colour with lasting, big, beige head. Malty, roasted nose with black rye bread, prunes, dark chocolate, orange peel, roasted chestnuts and spices. Malty, roasted taste with notes of dark chocolate, coffee, black rye bread, prunes, orange peel, nuts, spices and a generous cacao bitterness in the finish. Almost full body, quite sweet. Warming, hearty, very tasty, lovely!

4.7
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 19/20
MelvinKalksma (1357) - NETHERLANDS - DEC 28, 2016

Aroma:
Heavy aroma of malts, caramel, chocolate, molasses, mocha, roasted malts and coffee.

Appearance:
Opaque black beer with heavy yeast and with a medium brown/dark brown head.

Taste/Palate:
Starts medium/heavy sweet with malts, caramel, chocolate, molasses and mocha; ends slightly/medium bitter and dry with roasted malts,

Overall:
This beer is intense, complex and balanced. Even with the added brown sugar and Belgian candy sugar, this beer is still nowhere near overly sweet. Great roasted and coffee finish that goes on and on.

3.9
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
Hopmaestro (1537) - rebro, SWEDEN - DEC 28, 2016
Aroma is lovely from roasted malts, nuts, coffee with light sweetness. Taste is, well, if youre a Swede - the foam tastes just like #julmust which was a pleasant surprise and the rest is light grainy and sweet malty with coffee and bitter roasted notes in the aftertaste. A really good Impy


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 113
Tick this beer for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5