overall
100
99
style
RATINGS: 510   WEIGHTED AVG: 4.13/5   SEASONAL: Winter   EST. CALORIES: 315   ABV: 10.5%
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
Our rich, roasted black ale inspired by the strong stouts exported by Great Britain in the 1800's to the Russian Czar's court.

Editor's Note: ABV changed to 10.5% in 2008 (was previously 9.5%).


A tick is a star rating
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5


  • Rate This
  • Statistics
  • Locate Sellers




4.4
radagast83 (10178) - Arlington, Virginia, USA - JUN 21, 2019
UPDATED: JUN 21, 2019 Bottle at the DC Spring RB Tasting. 2010 vintage. Thanks nimbleprop! Poured a really dark, virtually pitch black color with a small/medium sized tan head. Aroma was lots of rich malts, some age is found on this one, but not nearly as much as I would have expected for it being a 9 year old beer. Bakers chocolate, roasted malts, some dusty attic. Unadulterated. Chocolate. Roast. Super solid. Really good even 9 years later.

4.2
solidfunk (12121) - Washington D.C., Washington DC, USA - JUN 1, 2019
UPDATED: JUN 1, 2019 2010 big thanks to nimbleprop. Big roast and dry the way I like impy stouts. Black pour with good head and lacing. Dry finish with a lit caramel angle. Coffee. Dark chocolate. I really like this one. Bottle.

4.7
Iphonephan (8893) - Jackson Hole/McLean, Virginia, USA - JUN 1, 2019
UPDATED: JUN 1, 2019 From a 750 ml bottle vintage 2010. Pours black with a tan head. Aromas are dark chocolate and old money. Flavors are bitter dark chocolate and sweet pit fruits.

3.7
cubs (10775) - Fort Collins, Colorado, USA - DEC 2, 2017
2014 bottle #199/550. Not much pop on the cap and little carbonation on the pour. Flavor is good but the texture is thick and goopy without the carbonation. Light anise, some smoke, burnt chocolate flavors. On par with a flat Parabola.

3.8
Bitterbill (2576) - Casper, Wyoming, USA - OCT 17, 2017
From Sep 2006 Poured from 22oz bomber(2005) a very dark brown/ with a very large head of foam that shrank slowly leaving just a fine layer. The smell is hugely sweet..I note caramel and chocolate with a pretty big nose of alcohol. I know it's still summer but the aroma gave me visions of sitting in front of a fireplace with a few feet of snow outside....err... I digress. The taste is really big on roasted malt, coffee, caramel, and chocolate and is sweet as all heck right up to the finish where there's a bit of hop bitterness and some alcohol warmth. After a few sips, I noticed more bitterness from the chocolate and coffee flavours so the over all sweetness of this stout calmed down a bit and I was able to enjoy it more. Good and tasty stuff but I could not drink more than 1 of these at a time for sure. ;^) Bottom line: This is a very tasty RIS that one should try given the chance. My thanks to Nutbrown for this sample!!

3.6
zvikar (10449) - Ramat Gan, ISRAEL - NOV 5, 2016
Black, beige-brown head, aroma of chocolate, coffee, wood, roast, caramel, toffee, brandy, flavor of coffee, wood, roast, toffee, brandy, sourish, medium bodied.

4.4
Sarlacc83 (2661) - Portland, Oregon, USA - JUL 30, 2016
Bottle thanks to Jim M. This was a hell of an extra. 2011 vintage. A: Pitch black with an extremely dark mocha head and legginess. N: Burnt brown sugar, licorice, smoke, toast, coffee and espresso, smoke, earth, lots of rich cocoa, marshmallow - even a bit of woodiness despite not being barrel aged. I could go on - but I kind of stopped rating it just to enjoy it.... T: Very sweet and substantially bitter and roasty. Very well balanced. M: Huge silky body, thick, creamy, very light alcohol presence, and soft carbonation. O: This is a tremendous treat. Unlike Vanilla Rye, it’s potent without breaking one’s will to drink. I really wish this was easier to get it, because it is fantastic.

3.9
kerenmk (6299) - Tel Aviv, ISRAEL - APR 15, 2016
Bottle sample at a tasting at our place. Thanks tom L. 2008 Bottle. Clear black-red. Cocoa, hints of cherry, then mild coconut aroma and ash. Bitter and ash in the mouth. Slightly carbonated, full-bodied, slightly smoky finish.

3.5
tomer (4985) - Rishon Le Zion, ISRAEL - MAR 31, 2016
At a tasting, thanks, small brown creamy head, opaque black color, aroma of coffee, charred dark bread, chocolate cake and smoke and mud hints, flavor of coffee, chocolate cake and some dark chocolate that gets stronger and bitter, lightish sweetness, quite bitter for a IRS. Nice but not too exciting.

3.8
DSG (18975) - Tel Aviv, ISRAEL - MAR 28, 2016
Bottle sample at a tasting at kerenmk’s place. Thanks Tom L. 2008 bottle. Black with a bit of brown foam. Aroma of roast, coffee, a bit of licorice, soy sauce, some oxidation, dark fruits, smoky note. Slightly oxidized flavor, sweetish, with roast, coffee, a bit of cocoa, sherry note, some dark fruits, salty hint, and a bitterish finish. Full-bodied. Very good and complex. Possibly a bit over-aged, but it aged pretty nicely.


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 51


A tick is a star rating
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5