%>
overall
100
99
style
RATINGS: 508   WEIGHTED AVG: 4.13/5   SEASONAL: Winter   EST. CALORIES: 315   ABV: 10.5%
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
Our rich, roasted black ale inspired by the strong stouts exported by Great Britain in the 1800's to the Russian Czar's court.

Editor's Note: ABV changed to 10.5% in 2008 (was previously 9.5%).


Tick this beer for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5


3.8
Bill Becker (1343) - Casper, Wyoming, USA - OCT 17, 2017
From Sep 2006 Poured from 22oz bomber(2005) a very dark brown/ with a very large head of foam that shrank slowly leaving just a fine layer. The smell is hugely sweet..I note caramel and chocolate with a pretty big nose of alcohol. I know it's still summer but the aroma gave me visions of sitting in front of a fireplace with a few feet of snow outside....err... I digress. The taste is really big on roasted malt, coffee, caramel, and chocolate and is sweet as all heck right up to the finish where there's a bit of hop bitterness and some alcohol warmth. After a few sips, I noticed more bitterness from the chocolate and coffee flavours so the over all sweetness of this stout calmed down a bit and I was able to enjoy it more. Good and tasty stuff but I could not drink more than 1 of these at a time for sure. ;^) Bottom line: This is a very tasty RIS that one should try given the chance. My thanks to Nutbrown for this sample!!

3.6
zvikar (6349) - Ramat Gan, ISRAEL - NOV 5, 2016
Black, beige-brown head, aroma of chocolate, coffee, wood, roast, caramel, toffee, brandy, flavor of coffee, wood, roast, toffee, brandy, sourish, medium bodied.

4.4
Sarlacc83 (2287) - Portland, Oregon, USA - JUL 30, 2016
Bottle thanks to Jim M. This was a hell of an extra. 2011 vintage. A: Pitch black with an extremely dark mocha head and legginess. N: Burnt brown sugar, licorice, smoke, toast, coffee and espresso, smoke, earth, lots of rich cocoa, marshmallow - even a bit of woodiness despite not being barrel aged. I could go on - but I kind of stopped rating it just to enjoy it.... T: Very sweet and substantially bitter and roasty. Very well balanced. M: Huge silky body, thick, creamy, very light alcohol presence, and soft carbonation. O: This is a tremendous treat. Unlike Vanilla Rye, it’s potent without breaking one’s will to drink. I really wish this was easier to get it, because it is fantastic.

3.9
kerenmk (5038) - Tel Aviv, ISRAEL - APR 15, 2016
Bottle sample at a tasting at our place. Thanks tom L. 2008 Bottle. Clear black-red. Cocoa, hints of cherry, then mild coconut aroma and ash. Bitter and ash in the mouth. Slightly carbonated, full-bodied, slightly smoky finish.

3.5
tomer (3705) - Rishon Le Zion, ISRAEL - MAR 31, 2016
At a tasting, thanks, small brown creamy head, opaque black color, aroma of coffee, charred dark bread, chocolate cake and smoke and mud hints, flavor of coffee, chocolate cake and some dark chocolate that gets stronger and bitter, lightish sweetness, quite bitter for a IRS. Nice but not too exciting.

3.8
DSG (15119) - Tel Aviv, ISRAEL - MAR 28, 2016
Bottle sample at a tasting at kerenmk’s place. Thanks Tom L. 2008 bottle. Black with a bit of brown foam. Aroma of roast, coffee, a bit of licorice, soy sauce, some oxidation, dark fruits, smoky note. Slightly oxidized flavor, sweetish, with roast, coffee, a bit of cocoa, sherry note, some dark fruits, salty hint, and a bitterish finish. Full-bodied. Very good and complex. Possibly a bit over-aged, but it aged pretty nicely.

4.6
Bule (2239) - California, USA - MAR 20, 2016
750ml bottle of 2014 pours a thick black color without any head. No carbonation. Not sure if that is normal. Wonderful balance of the malt, mild toffee and hops. Delicious hop profile.

4
Fritz123 (1535) - Boca Raton, Florida, USA - DEC 6, 2015
Had last year in the tasting room at the brewery. Pours a deep black and tan head. Super thick. Aroma is dark chocolate nibs, vanailla, graham cracker, hint of roasted malts, and coffee. Taste is dark chocolate, roasted malts, then vanilla and the graham cracker. Big mouth, mild carb. Very very good.

4.5
skortila (5966) - Baarn, NETHERLANDS - OCT 18, 2015
Bottled. Old notes. The aroma has chocolate, roast, vanilla, some wine tones. Black coloured with a medium, beige head. The taste is light bitter, light sweet all well balanced with chocolate and the vanilla. Creamy, full body. Very good.

4.2
umich03jm (3513) - Flat Rock, Michigan, USA - JUL 9, 2015
2012 bottle. 522 of 650. Thanks Couch! Aromas are black licorice, dark fruit, light chocolate, and light alcohol. Tastes fairy boozy but really good. Figs, espresso, chocolate, and light caramel. Very light papery oxidation. Thin to medium body. Great beer.


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 51
Tick this beer for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5