Cigar City Hunahpu's Imperial Stout - Double Barrel Aged

overall
100
100
style
Serve in

bottling
unknown

on tap
unknown

Broad Distribution

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 331   WEIGHTED AVG: 4.39/5   SEASONAL: Special   EST. CALORIES: 330   ABV: 11%
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
50% aged in Rum barrels, 50% aged in Apple Brandy barrels

A tick is a star rating
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5


  • Rate This
  • Statistics
  • Locate Sellers




4.4
willisread (5575) - Nashville, Tennessee, USA - APR 8, 2019
UPDATED: APR 8, 2019 Bottle shared at Alex's Birthday. Pours a pitch black with a small beige head that dissipates. Barrel-forward nose with rum and brandy alongside chocolate, coffee and cinnamon. Apple and cinnamon and rum, oak and coconut as it warms on the palate. Loads of cacao nib, melted chocolate and cinnamon. Great barrel flavor with everything being noticeable. ABV is there, but not overly boozy. Lingering oak, chocolate and cinnamon on the finish with rum and coconut.

4.6
Christos (6061) - Arnhem, NETHERLANDS - JAN 14, 2019
UPDATED: JAN 14, 2019 (Cigar City Hunahpu's Imperial Stout - Double Barrel Aged) Bottle 750ml at home, served into a snifter. Pitch black colour on the body, and a pour as thick as used motor oil. A very thin layer of dark brown foam on top, disappearing quickly. Aroma of roasted malts and chocolate, cardamon, spices. Taste follows, quite sweet with lots of cocoa and chocolate, spices, not much of the chillies. Full body with a velvet-y mouthfeel. Great.

4.4
tomekk1978 (2042) - Z±bki, POLAND - NOV 5, 2018
UPDATED: NOV 5, 2018 Aromat beczkowy z nutami wanilii, cukru trzcinowego, winogron. Nuty risowe oczywiście plus alko. Barwa czarna, nieprzejrzysta. Piana ciemno brązowa, średniej wielkości i podobnie trwała. Smak umiarkowanie słodki z wyraźną nutą beczkową. Sporo wanilii, czekolady, papryczek, kakao, czekolady i alkoholu. Nieco przypraw. Smak dość ułożony. Goryczka umiarkowana, przyjemna. Pełnia wysoka, wysycenie poniżej średniej i wanilia z czekoladą na finiszu z wyraźną nutą alkoholową i papryczkową

4.1
Sledutah (8749) - Utah, USA - NOV 4, 2018
Bottle at Dougs, thanks man
Pours black with a small tan head, light lacing. Dark malts, dark fruit, woody, cinnamon, vanilla and chocolate, mild bitterness
Damn good

4.6
Biroholik (2401) - Sosnowiec, Poland, POLAND - OCT 15, 2018
Cigar City Brewing - Double Barrel Hunahpu’s 2016 Imperial Stout With Cacao & Spices Added. 50% Aged In Rum Barrels, 50% Aged In Apple Brandy Barrels. Alkohol: 11% obj. Kolor: Czarny jak oczy rozwścieczonego boga ognia Hun-Hunaphu Piana: Beżowa, skromna o drobno ziarnistej strukturze. Głośno syczy i opada do niewielkiego paseczka. Na krawędziach TeKu pozostają punktowe plamki. Zapach: Jest miazga! Aromat rozpieprza na maksa. Na początek rum i rodzynki macerowane w tym szlachetnym trunku. Potem cała gamma suszonych owoców, kandyzowane jabłka, śliwki, morele i winogrona. Zaraz po tym potworny cios prosto w twarz od ziaren kakaowca, gęstej mlecznej czekolady i belgijskich pralin. Knock out zapewnia szereg elementów toffi, kawy, rodzynek, cukru trzcinowego i przypraw korzennych. Przepiękny bukiet! Smak: Niewiarygodny beczkowy profil. Euforię smaków rozpoczyna szlachetny rum o jego mocnym i bezkompromisowym smaku, pełnym przypaw korzennych i drewna. Następnie wkracza z wielką werwą beczka po jabłkowej Brandy (czyli jak domniemam po Calvadosie) nadając trunkowi posmak pieczonej szarlotki. Kolejne warstwy bukietu smaków to lawina czekolady, toffi, pralin belgijskich, trzciny cukrowej, drewna, rodzynek i toffi. Ostatnia prosta należy z całą pewnością do przypraw z których najbardziej wyróżnia się chilli, stawiając kropeczkę nad „i”, poszczypując w gardle. Alkohol jest obecny, rozgrzewa, trochę mąci w głowie, ale na szczęście nie ma ciepłego, rozpuszczalnikowego charakteru i nie wychodzi przed szereg. Ciała Double Barrel Hunaphu’s nie brakuje. Dostojny, szlachetny charakter trunku zapewni wiele minut udanej, owocnej degustacji. Wysycenie: Niskie. Podsumowanie: Nareszcie!! Hunahpu’s (kilka roczników) - NIE! Bourbon Barrel Aged Hunahpu’s - NIE! I dopiero Double Barrel Hunahpu’s - zdecydowanie TAK! Przecudowne piweczko dające tyle radości i satysfakcji z degustacji! Głęboki profil smakowy i zapachowy, oszałamiające beczki po Rumie i Calvadosie. Balans, głębia, różnorodność, klasa i szyk. Najlepsze piwo w dorobku Cigar City Brewing!

3.6
MrOrla (4622) - Odense SV, DENMARK - OCT 6, 2018
Bottle. Pours Black with a tan head. Aroma of huge cinnamon, licorie, quite alot apple brandy, , cocoa, quite some Dark chocolate. Taste is loads of cinnamon, quite alot heat, chilies, green peppers, licorie and loads of cocoa. Sweet a fine fine sipper but Way to mamy spices

4.9
Iznogud (6642) - CROATIA - AUG 11, 2018
Bottle 750 ml at Arrogant tasting, courtesy of Italian friends. 2016 version. Fantastic, so intense, chocolate, roasted malts, cocoa, oily, some brandy, dark fruit, apple, very complex. Smooth. Warming. Full bodied. Beautiful.

4.4
ciocanelu (4480) - Timisoara, ROMANIA - JUL 11, 2018
Black color with dark mocha head. Aroma is really spice forward with lots of cinnamon, rum and booze. Taste is desserty with fudge, chili, cinnamon and some heat on the finish. Full bodied, smooth mouthfeel. Quite nice but not such a huge step ahead of the regular.

4.4
rami_pl (8342) - Warsaw, POLAND - MAY 28, 2018
UPDATED: NOV 6, 2018 Rami Rami is drinking a Double Barrel Hunahpu's 2013 by Cigar City Brewing at Warszawski Festiwal Piwa Mega fajna beczka, w uscie mega fajna slodycz, waniliny na maksa, ale smak> aromat. Sporo ciala. Cukierek cynamonowy. 4.6? Finisz ciut drazniacy

Rami Rami is drinking a Double Barrel Hunahpu's (2016) by Cigar City Brewing at garwolińska Fajne, smaczne, dobre, interesujace, ciekawe, sympatyczne. A powazniej to jakis taki mocno wytrawno palony rocznik, duzo mniej beczki niz w 2013...
usrednienie ocen:
2013 - 4.6
2016 - 4.2

4.5
RRistow12 (1089) - Lewis Center, Ohio, USA - APR 11, 2018
Tasted from bottle. Pours black with beige head. Tasted against regular 16 Huna and 17 Bourbon BA Huna. Aroma of cinnamon, rum, almost a little nutty, some fruity notes and apple. Moderate to heavily sweet with mild bitterness. Lots of cinnamon, caramel, toffee, some chocolate and finishes with a moderate chili burn. You do get some rum barrel sweetness and just a hint of brandy. More intense and complex than the Huna and Bourbon Huna. Excellent! ---Rated via Beer Buddy for iPhone


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 34


A tick is a star rating
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5