AleSmith Speedway Stout - Bourbon Barrel Aged

overall
100
100
style
RATINGS: 887   WEIGHTED AVG: 4.33/5   SEASONAL: Special   EST. CALORIES: 360   ABV: 12%
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
Special Markings: Gold foil neck and white numbering above rear label. Some bottles have paper labels, some do not.

We’ve matured our Russian Imperial Stout in premium bourbon barrels for up to one year to create the perfect blend of flavors. Notes of oak, vanilla, and bourbon add another level of complexity to this beer’s already massive flavor profile of chocolate, Ryan Bros. Coffee, and roasted barley. Designed to be enjoyed now or aged in the bottle for years to come, this special release is truly a unique beer that is smooth as it is rare.

A tick is a star rating
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5


  • Rate This
  • Statistics
  • Locate Sellers




4.5
Rubin77 (5340) - Brussels, BELGIUM - SEP 2, 2019
UPDATED: SEP 2, 2019 Bottle @ Slovak tasting 08/2019. Thin, dark tanned, quick diminishing to some bubbles. Colour is black, opaque. Aroma is rich dark malts, chocolate, vinous, woody, caramel, cognac, vanilla, complex. Taste is full malty base, coffee, caramel, toffee, cocoa, dark dried fruits, chocolate, vanilla, really great one, fully enjoyed.

4.6
Gurthnar (7756) - Bratislava, SLOVAKIA - AUG 16, 2019
UPDATED: AUG 16, 2019 Bottle at a tasting, shared by MisoW. Thanks! Black colour, small head. Raw intensity and complexity of character. Full body and moderate carbonation. Shitloads of chocolate, cocoa, focused on soft roast, soft warming alcohol, very well hidden considering the ABV. Barrels and bourbon manifestinv softly too, yet uncompromisingly. Great one.

4.8
Cuso (10799) - Bratislava, SLOVAKIA - AUG 16, 2019
UPDATED: AUG 16, 2019 Bottle, kindly shared by MisoW, many thanks. Dark brown color with beige head. Aroma of dark malt, nougat, wood, Taste, dark malt, nougat, chocolate, vanilla, wood, coconut. Nice chocolate and coffee finish. Nice.

4.3
Wendigo (2257) - Bratislava, SLOVAKIA - AUG 16, 2019
UPDATED: AUG 16, 2019 Bottle at tasting, thanks MisoW. Malty aroma and taste, chocolate, raisins, light coffee notes, vanilla notes, medium bitter, light sweet. Full body, malty bitter finish with vanilla notes.

4.9
MisoW (4473) - Bratislava, SLOVAKIA - AUG 16, 2019
UPDATED: AUG 16, 2019 Bottle from my Secret Santa 2014, StefanSD. Pours black color, beige head. Aroma of vanilla, cocoa, chocolate, plums. Taste is sweet, coffe, cocoa, vanilla, sherry, plums, bourbon, chocolate. What a great beer!

4.1
ineedbeer (2690) - Oakland, California, USA - JUL 13, 2019
UPDATED: JUL 13, 2019 Poured from a 2012 vintage, 750 ml bottle. Aroma is a bit oxidized with some light wet cardboard and more raisin, fig, prune and date than when fresher. Medium light roast notes with light chocolate and lighter caramel and toffee. Faint bourbon and oak notes. Not much coffee at all. Pours black with a medium sized, thick, dark mocha head that recedes steadily to a small film that lingers on the edges. Faint lacing and fairly long legs. Flavor is less oxidized with more chocolate notes. Lighter roast, caramel and toffee. Light coffee notes that linger a bit in the finish. Medium light bourbon and light oak with a bit of alcohol spice. Light raisin and faint fig, prune and date notes. Mouthfeel is full bodied with medium carbonation. Low astringency and medium low alcohol warmth. Overall, this much age isn't good for this beer. I have had it plenty of times fresh or with a couple years and it's much better than this old bottle. But as I was drinking this bottle I went to check my rating and realized I never rated this before. I'd say it's best to drink within 2 or 3 years of bottling. Rating is for what I feel this beer deserves when fresh. This particular bottle would get a 6, 4, 7, 4, 14 for a 3.5.

4.2
GarrettB (2033) - San Diego, California, USA - JUN 26, 2019
UPDATED: JUN 26, 2019 September 3rd, 2015 - The Alesmith Vietnamese Coffee stout is a premier beer, but the Bourbon Barrel Aged version is no slouch. With a smooth, opalescent look it offers classic and classy alcohol and oak notes, smoldering with ethanol. The taste is much gentler, both sweet and delicate, but also bold and robust. A licorice sweetness mixes with the taste of Japanese whisky, and a thinner palate let's everything shine through.

4.6
BrewSpot (84) - Zhengzhou, CHINA - MAY 8, 2019
UPDATED: MAY 8, 2019 On tap. Top tier aroma, full of oak barrel and vanilla scent, along with strong cocoa, coffee, roasted malt and bread crust. Flavor-wise, well-rounded balanced flavor combining the roasty and malty flavor with bourbon flavor. Nothing really stands out, but all are in one sip, expressing themselves in so many levels. Rich and heavy body with a caramel sweetness. I am very impressed with this beer.

4.1
Cristobal37 (1997) - Irvine, California, USA - APR 3, 2019
UPDATED: APR 3, 2019 Cask of 2016 barrel at brewery. Pours jet black. Bourbon aroma, coffee, roasted malts. Taste follows, big bourbon brew. Thick, big body. Noce but the no co2, warmer and bourbon wasnt a plus for me on the perfect original.

4.3
chrisv10 (21970) - DENMARK - NOV 13, 2018
MBCC. Black with medium brown head. Aroma is roasted malt, chocolate, coffee, bourbon, liquorice and cocoa. Flavour is roasted malt, chocolate, coffee, liquorice, bourbon, cocoa, sweet, vanilla and medium bitter.


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 91


A tick is a star rating
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5