AleSmith Speedway Stout - Bourbon Barrel Aged Vietnamese Coffee

overall
100
99
style
RATINGS: 197   WEIGHTED AVG: 4.31/5   SEASONAL: Special   EST. CALORIES: 360   ABV: 12%
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
Vietnamese Speedway stout aged in bourbon barrels.

A tick is a star rating
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5


  • Rate This
  • Statistics
  • Locate Sellers




4.8
RRistow12 (1123) - Lewis Center, Ohio, USA - MAR 26, 2019
Tasted from bottle. Pours black with tan head. Huge coffee aroma with some bourbon. Taste is thick and chewy. No booziness to it. Flavors of caramel, molasses, coffee, cocoa, bourbon. Dangerously drinkable. ---Rated via Beer Buddy for iPhone

4.5
BrewSpot (84) - Zhengzhou, CHINA - FEB 22, 2019
UPDATED: FEB 22, 2019 Tap at AleSmith Brewery Tap Room Aroma: well rounded roasted aroma, caramel, coffee. But this beer really have a great balanced flavor. The coffee, malt and bourbon scents are all there and very distinct. High definition, and great smell. Usually, a stout will have multiple levels of smells and they would be blended together, but this stout have all scents and they are very easy to pick out. And it's the authentic coffee, authentic roasty smell. 4.6/5 Appearance: At a certain stage when everything is correct, I look for the corners. This beer hits all the marks, and what I have to say is the lace. Truly beautiful. Great lace retention. 4.6/5 Flavor: again, very similar to the aroma, this beer is great on all flavors, and the barrel aging just make all the flavors more balanced and all rounded. I can clearly take the bourbon, caramel, vanilla, coffee, malt. I would say this is indeed THE BEST STOUT I have tried so far. 4.75/5 Mouthfeel: smooth, thick, full body, but with all the good sides on bourbon. 4.5/5 Overall: The reason why I love this beer is because it just brings all the designed flavors in a very great way. Since they have another blue mountain coffee stout version, and this Vietnamese coffee is just a bit better. I don't wanna give it a 10/10 since you never know if there are more good stuff outta there. 18/20.

4
MrTipple (12202) - London, Greater London, ENGLAND - DEC 5, 2018
UPDATED: DEC 5, 2018 5Dec2018 Intense dark chocolate, cacao, dark roast, rich coffee, roasted hazelnuts, slightly burnt caramel. Hazy, very dark brown, hardly any head. Light bitter. More dark chocolate, cacao, dark roast malts, dark chocolate cake, dark roast filter coffee, slightly sweetened, mocha smoothie, oily texture, very soft carbonation, full bodied. Outstanding, rich and well-balanced. Bottle sample provided by Theydon_Bois – thanks!

4.2
juiceisloose (2546) - Windermere, Florida, USA - OCT 13, 2018
2016 750ml bottle. Pours pitch black in color and topped by a small tan layer of foam that settles in quickly to a thin film and leaves streaks of lace around the glass. The aroma is nice showing notes of dark chocolate, dark roasted coffee, earthy roasted malt, some toasted hazelnuts and oak laden vanilla along with a soft touch of bourbon over a dark toasted caramel malt base. The flavor follows suit with the notes of rich dark chocolate and darkly roasted coffee and earthy bitterness up front and backed up nicely by the burnt caramel and the dark roasted malt base. As it warms the bourbon and oak laden vanilla really shine along with a nice nutty character. Really nice balance between the rich and roasty coffee and the bourbon barrel. Full bodied and smooth with soft carbonation that leads to a lengthy dark chocolate, roasted coffee, vanilla, and bourbon oak finish that just lingers long after each sip. Really nice coffee and excellent execution with the bourbon barrel aging with no sign of alcohol. Awesome imperial stout.

4.7
SinH4 (12011) - Garching b. München, GERMANY - AUG 16, 2018
Bottle, many thanks anstei! Black color with beige head. Aroma is coffee, bourbon, super intense, but also balanced. Taste is bourbon, coffee, chocolate. Super smooth mouthfeel with fine-bubbled carbonation. Hard to improve on this one, it's worth all the praise!

4.7
anstei (3781) - SWITZERLAND - AUG 15, 2018
Bottle. Aroma is indeed bourbon barrel aged Vietnamese Speedway. Slightly burnt, but also super balanced, with great intensity and flavours. An outstanding beer which deserves all the praise. Very close to perfection.

4.5
Biroholik (2801) - Sosnowiec, Poland, POLAND - JUL 26, 2018
To już 40-ty Imperial Stout z Top50 RateBeer, który mam okazję degustować. Kiedyś obiecałem sobie, że jak spróbuje 40-tu RIS-ów ze ścisłej czołówki RB, przestanę gonić za piwnym hajpem ;) Nie spodziewałem się, że ten dzień tak szybko nadejdzie i w dość szybkim tempie dojdę do tego poziomu. Ba! Nie zamierzam się nawet wycofać i dalej podążam w poszukiwaniu tzw. beer whalez. Zostało już ich na prawdę niewiele (oczywiście mowa o tych nieodhaczonych w Top50 RB;). Niektóre będą niezwykle ciężkie do zdobycia, ale wierzę, że uda mi się kiedyś wypełnić ranking powiedzmy do poziomu 45/50. Cheers!🍻 Alkohol: 12% obj. Wersja: 2016 Kolor: Czarny jak oczy diabła. Kompletny brak przejrzystości. Piana: Trudna do zidentyfikowania, ponieważ po odkapslowaniu pojawił się mocny gushing. Beżowy kolor i struktura składająca się z małych, beżowych oczek. Szybko skurczyła się do obrączki pozostawiając ładne krążki na ściankach. Zapach: Niezapomniany, wszechobecny aromat. Jest tutaj wiele warstw wtajemniczenia. Beczka po bourbonie wnosi intensywną woń czekolady, cukierków Kukułek, wanilii i przypalonego karmelu. Tuż za nią podąża aromatyczna, mocno palona kawa. Kroku również dotrzymują akcenty lodów śmietankowych, kakao, marcepanu i mokrej dębiny. Na ostatniej prostej dobiega cukier trzcinowy i melasa. Zapach układa się w poszczególne warstwy i otwiera się z czasem jak kwiat. Smak: Na języku, gładziutkie, jedwabiste już od pierwszego łyka. W ustach rozpływa się mleczna czekolada, kakao, orzechy migdałowe, Nutella i przypalony karmel. Kawa ma słodki profil i umiarkowany stopień nut palonych. Słodycz wafelków kokosowych, drewna dębowego oraz beczkowej wanilii wypełnia i głaszcze podniebienie. Posmak cukierków Kopiko oraz Kukułek wypełnionych chrupiącym karmelem i czekoladą, przez długi czas utrzymuje się w ustach. Piwo chociaż ma wysoką pełnię i jest niezmiernie syte i treściwe, charakteryzuje się dość wyraźnym palonym finiszem. Tekstura jak wcześniej już wspomniałem jest gęsta jak olej silnikowy. Ukrycie procentów - arcymistrzowskie. Sama radość! Sztosiwo warte swojego hajpu! Wysycenie: Niskie. Podsumowanie: BBVSS uwodzi smakiem i powala aromatem. Kryje w sobie bogactwo różnorodnych nut smakowo-zapachowych. Profil beczkowy jest niezapomniany, chociaż kawa nie jest aż tak esencjonalna, jakbym się tego spodziewał. Balans i wielowarstwowość to dwie najważniejsze cechy tego trunku. Prawdopodobnie najlepsze piwo AleSmith i w 100%-ch najlepsze z serii Speedway Stout.

4.7
PotjeBier (4514) - NETHERLANDS - JUL 20, 2018
Bottle from one of my IP trades with rischiesd, massive thanks! Pours a pitch black color and a brown head with little retention. Aroma's: roasted, umami, wood, bourbon, vanilla, some chocolate and coffee. Retronasal it's sweetish, chocolate, bourbon, vanilla, a bit dark fruit. Flavor is moderate to heavy sweet, chocolatey, light roasty, bourbon, just delicious. Full bodied. Not too boozy. Long finish, with some wood, dark chocolate, roast, light bitterness. Superb!

4.5
ciocanelu (4480) - Timisoara, ROMANIA - JUL 11, 2018
Black color with brownish head. Aroma is a bit spicy with chocolate notes, bourbon and some booze. Taste has roasted malt, chocolate, coffee, bourbon in the background. Medium plus body with soft carbonation. Overall it's a really nice, well rounded imperial coffee stout.

4.5
Borresteijn (8902) - Zaandam, NETHERLANDS - JUN 2, 2018
UPDATED: JUN 4, 2018 75cl Bottle, massive thanks for sharing Kermis! Black colour, beige head. Aroma of perfect barrel ageing, soft bourbon, vanilla, chocolate, smooth coffee well-integrated in the beer, very fruity, roast, fudge. Flavour is sweet, lovely deep roast, soft smooth coffee, oak, vanilla, subtle bourbon, chocolate, fudge, bitter finish. Full bodied, slick. Are you paying attention green apple-loving Dutch brewers? This is how you barrel age a beer.


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 20


A tick is a star rating
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5