Otokoyama (Mans Mountain) Junmai Sake

overall
81
100
style
Brewed by Otokoyama Shuzo Co., Ltd.
Style: Saké - Junmai
Asahikawa-shi , Hokkaido Prefecture, Japan
Serve in Guinomi, Masu, Ochoko

bottling
unknown

on tap
unknown

distribution
unknown

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 17   MEAN: 3.54/5.0   WEIGHTED AVG: 3.43/5   EST. CALORIES: 465   ABV: 15.5%
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
SMV +10; Acidity 1.6

Tick this beer for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5


3.6
kermis (12869) - The Hague / Amsterdam, NETHERLANDS - APR 2, 2017
Bottle shared at a Japanese restaurant in The Hague. Near water appearance. Aroma of sweet rice, light floral notes, vanilla and light grape. Flavour is above moderate sweet.

3.8
Marheb (5717) - San Diego, California, USA - JUN 16, 2016
(Bouteille ŕ Maneki Seattle): Un nuage d’ammoniac, des tons hyper terreux, secs et amers pour compléter le chocolat blanc.

3.8
douglas88 (9058) - Portland, Oregon, USA - FEB 14, 2014
Bottle at a party. Ever the hunter..Anyway, pours a clear yellow color. A fruity pear nose with light grains. The flavor is pretty smooth: sweet dry rice, pears, almost paper like grains, white grapes. There is a big sweetness to this Sake but not overpowering. Smooth. Good.

2.8
csaso (2266) - Missouri, USA - AUG 21, 2012
Bottle - crystal clear, aroma and flavor were mild fruit (apple?), mild sour, fair alcohol, and of course the fermented rice - don’t know much about sake, but this wasn’t bad, especially seemed to go really well with the sushi I ate along with it

4
JoePeesie (925) - Long Lake, Illinois, USA - AUG 29, 2011
served chilled in a chilled glass, pours a crystal clear, light cucumber notes in the nose and taste. No booziness at all. Very solid, very drinkable

3.3
flatmatt (1563) - Northville, Michigan, USA - MAY 24, 2011
Chilled glass at a restaurant. Pours clear and just slightly darker than water. Aroma is of slightly sweet vanilla/frosting. Flavor is quite light, again mostly the medium sweet vanilla frosting, with just tiny hints of cucumber and light fruit like pear. No real alcohol aroma or taste. Body is fairly light for my taste, but it’s a decent sake.

3.5
after4ever (8025) - Mukilteo, Washington, USA - MAY 4, 2011
Decanted at sushi zen. Pours crystal brilliantly clear. Bright lemony nose, mild cucumber undertone. Light watery body. Pleasant cucumber mid palate with a long dry finish.

3.2
3fourths (9331) - Boulder, Colorado, USA - APR 8, 2011
nearly clear and still. neutral nose with notes of pear and floral perfume. mild acid; medium body. perfume floral flavor with major notes of soap and rice and minor notes of peach. alcohol provides a moderate zing. still unsure i’m prepared to evaluate sake all that well, but i found this one somewhere between enjoyable and tolerable, whatever that means.

3.4
BeerBelcher (972) - Columbus, Ohio, USA - OCT 25, 2008
I had this at the nicer sushi restaurant (Nanakusa) here in Milwaukee, and this is my 2nd sake, so not quite sure what I’m supposed to taste here, but I’ll do my best. This sake was crystal clear and slightly more viscous than water. It was served in a wine glass. Aroma was a touch sweet and plum-like. Flavor was mild and a bit fruity, but the first thing I noticed was a warming feeling in my mouth and chest. Flavor is maybe also a touch caramel-y...flavors are very subtle and the diction of sake describing is still a mystery to me. Mouthfeel was very clean and dry. Pretty good - I’d have this again. This is the first genuinely enjoyable sake experience I’ve had...others I’ve sort of choked down while trying to smile for whomever ordered it for me.

3.6
IslandHaole (1261) - Misawa, JAPAN - NOV 8, 2006
Clear, no color at all. As soft as a snowflake on the tip of your tounge. Lightly scented of koji…like a sweeter version of the white paste you used in first grade. A mild sweet flavor like roasted almonds. I know I keep using “almonds” as a flavor but that is what it really tastes like! Good thing I like almonds. The alcohol is very mild, only noticeable in the finish/follow but still very easy to drink. A great feel, a bit thicker than most sakes but not syrupy like some Junmai can be. The combination of the feel, flavor and ease of drinking make this another “dangerous” yet delicious sake. It’s below freezing out, snowing and I’ve got the curtains pulled wide open the heater and some Bossa Nova blasting and a fridge full of sake, I’m sure going to miss the Tohoku area!


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2
Tick this beer for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5