overall
100
99
style
RATINGS: 2946   WEIGHTED AVG: 4.28/5   SEASONAL: Spring   IBU: 70   EST. CALORIES: 369   ABV: 12.3%
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
A bit of backwoods pleasure without the banjo. This strong stout is brewed with a hint of coffee and vanilla then aged in oak bourbon barrels. Our process ensures that strong bourbon undertones come through in the finish in every batch we brew. We recommend decanting at room temperature and best enjoyed in a brandy snifter.

2016 vintage - 12.4% abv
2017 vintage - 11.9% abv
2018 vintage - 12.3% abv

A tick is a star rating
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5


  • Rate This
  • Statistics
  • Locate Sellers




4.3
jdelafuente01 (72) - Texas, USA - JUN 15, 2019
UPDATED: JUN 15, 2019 2018 beer dark brownish black color tan foamy thick creamy head oily lacing smell of vanilla coffee chocolate roasted malts taste cofffee roasted malts tabbacco taste how it smells taste the bourbon at the end alcohol isn't strong though but does creep in

4.4
Pshowell (8) - Wisconsin, USA - JUN 14, 2019 does not count
UPDATED: JUN 14, 2019 Bier Haus, New Glarus, WI. Almost black in appearance. Dark bronze head. Effervescent. Very rich, complex flavors. Heavy, dark chocolate flavor...like chocolate flourless torte in a bottle. Hint of bourbon. Dry, but mildly sweet. Very rich. Best at room temperature. Multiple bottles tried. Slight differences bottle-to-bottle.

4.6
DonPapi (2) - North Miami, Florida, USA - JUN 9, 2019 does not count
UPDATED: JUN 9, 2019 2019, 12.2% (ouch!) Pours black as night, not a hint of transparency. Minimal head and lacing, maybe should have poured harder. Super rich, complex, strong bourbon, but almost dizzyingly complex, so many flavors competing for your attention, vanilla, coffee, dark chocolate; nose is sweet candy, toffee; body is viscous and slightly boozy but alcohol is still very subtle for such a monster, very smooth and warming; lingering bourbon tail lasts for a long, long time. Exceptional, but too rich to make a daily drinker.

4.1
PowY (2455) - Vienna, AUSTRIA - JUN 9, 2019
UPDATED: JUN 9, 2019 375 ml bottle at home, 2016 release. Pours a very dark brown with a tan colored head. Aroma of mild bourbon, toffee, chocolate, soy sauce, some cocoa, some sweetened coffee, hints of vanilla. Full creamy body with a medium sweetness and a light to medium roasty bitterness along hints of alcohol. The flavor starts with bourbon, burnt chocolate, cocoa, coffee, toffee, tobacco, burnt wood, caramel and nuts. Finishes with a medium roasty bitterness, mild bourbon and light burnt notes. Pretty good - the roasted malt are pretty dominant with quiet some burnt notes while the bourbon barrel is more in a complementary role. Aroma: 8 Appearance: 4 Taste: 8 Mouthfeel: 4 Overall: 17

4.3
TkmLinus (225) - POOLER, Georgia, USA - JUN 8, 2019
UPDATED: JUN 8, 2019 12 oz bottle. Aroma smells of bourbon and chocolate. Burnt motor oil in color. Really nice, can taste the coffee, chocolate, and bourbon. They all work together great. Rather thick and syrupy, nice sweet aftertaste. Excellent!

4.6
Adamsbrews (26) - - JUN 1, 2019
Holy hell. What a great stout. Wonderful roasty, caramelly aroma. Pours rich, dark, creamy coffee head Tastes malty caramally goodness. A must try for any stout fan ---Rated via Beer Buddy for iPhone

5
erling1000 (1149) - DENMARK - MAY 26, 2019
UPDATED: MAY 26, 2019 2015 edition, ABV 11,2%. An american, black Imperial Stout with chocolate and coffee and with very low, brown head, aged in oak bourbon barrels. aroma is coffee, chocolate, bourbon, light prune, Taste is bitter sweet. Soft. Vineous.

4.4
AcctError491641 (30) - - MAY 24, 2019
UPDATED: MAY 24, 2019 Ha, this is a funny and amazing beer. Not much (tan) head or retention, but big nose. But what is it? It's kind of a giant coffee and treacle chocolate tart. If such a thing were possible, this is what it would taste like. It's delicious, but it's not beer. What is it? Amazing.

4.5
pajaczeq (399) - POLAND - MAY 18, 2019
UPDATED: MAY 18, 2019 Aromat: wanilia, kokos, dębowe drewno, słodkie nuty whiskey/bourbonu, stonowane nuty beczki, jednak czuć że piwo leżakowane w beczkach później, słodka kawa i mleczna czekolada. Bardzo czysty aromat, zero alkoholu. Wygląd: nieprzejrzyście czarne, bardzo ładna drobna piana w kolorze toffi, pięknie zdobi szkło. W smaku słodkie, palone, imperialna klasyka, zajebista mleczna czekolada z wanilią i kokosem, jest też nuta orzechowa na koniec. Bardzo bardzo dobre piwo. Doskonale ułożone, zero jakiegokolwiek alkoholu. Klasyka imperial Stout BA, brak jakichkolwiek niechcianych nut, wyleżakowane i dopieszczone. Podniebienie: wysycenie lekko za wysokie, ale tylko a little bit :) Tekstura fajna jednak mogła by być minimalnie bardziej oleista i pełna ale to już takie czepianie się :) Piwo polecam bez dwóch zdań przyjechało do mnie z drugiego końca kuli ziemskiej i bardzo dobrze że tak się stało :) 4.5/5.0 jestem fanem klasyki i tutaj dostałem ją w wykonaniu prawie perfekcyjnym. Polecam każdemu!

3.9
Hubbe (3) - - MAY 17, 2019 does not count
UPDATED: MAY 17, 2019 Doft och smak av choklad, kaffe, skogsbär och lite fat. Hade väntat/önskat mig mer Bourbon i både doft och smak. God? Ja, men definitivt en överskattad fatlagrad Imperial Stout. Hoppas att vi kan få Founders Imperial Stout tillbaka hit, IMO deras bästa Stout.


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 312


A tick is a star rating
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5