overall
100
100
style
RATINGS: 2638   WEIGHTED AVG: 4.28/5   SEASONAL: Spring   IBU: 70   EST. CALORIES: 336   ABV: 11.2%
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
A bit of backwoods pleasure without the banjo. This strong stout is brewed with a hint of coffee and vanilla then aged in oak bourbon barrels. Our process ensures that strong bourbon undertones come through in the finish in every batch we brew. We recommend decanting at room temperature and best enjoyed in a brandy snifter.

Tick this beer for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5


4.3
Pintofjoe29 (43) - Dingman Ferry, Pennsylvania, USA - JUN 23, 2017
UPDATED: JUN 23, 2017 Bomber from Sabatini?s poured into my snifter. Dark pour with a finger width khaki head that dissipates but doesn?t disappear. Enticing aroma of bourbon, chocolate, coffee, smoke, & vanilla. Upon tasting this tastes very similar to Weyerbacher?s Sunday Morning stout from my home state of PA. But as this warms it becomes clear that this is the superior beer. Far more complex and tasty and easy drinking. Light bourbon, chocolate, coffee, vanilla, coconut & soy sauce. Medium mouthfeel with more carbonation then what i was expecting. Imperial stouts don’t get much better than this. Overpriced but clearly worth it. Amazing beer

4.1
bjorn77 (344) - Kraków, POLAND - JUN 23, 2017
Aromat: wspaniały, mocny, bardzo intensywny. Czekolada, kakao, wanilia, pralinki, subtelnie bourbon. Słodki i zawiesisty. Wygląd: czarne, smoliste, bardzo wysoka i ładna beżowa, wysoka warstwa drobnopęcherzykowej piany. Utrzymuje się dłuższą chwilę na powierzchni. Piękny lacing na szkle. Smak: tona gorzkiej czekolady, dużo dobrej kawy, kakao, dębina mocno wyczuwalna na języku, sporo paloności. Wanilia też wyraźna, suszone ciemne owoce bardziej w tle, bourbon z beczki też subtelny, dobrze wkomponowuje się w piwo, może nawet zbyt subtelny. Na finiszu lekka cierpkość od kawy i wiśni w czekoladzie, ale leciutko, alkohol ukryty, sporo ciała, choć mogło być trochę więcej, pełne, gładkie, aksamitne. Dosyć wytrawne, sporo kawy i paloności dobrze balansuje słodycz, balans bardzo dobry, bardziej przez kawę przesunięty w kierunku wytrawnego. Wady to za łagodny bourbon z beczki i ogólny brak efektu wow, taki bardzo dobry imperialny stout z kawą, pachnie trochę lepiej niż smakuje, aromat z wyglądem trochę podciągnęły notę, wyróżnia go jak dla mnie bardzo mocna dębina, w trakcie picia zaczyna trochę brakować ciała. Byłem lekko zawiedziony, ale w sumie to jest bardzo dobre piwo, dobrze skomponowane, ułożone i smaczne. 9/5/7/4/16

4
stekzwolowiny (36) - Częstochowa, POLAND - JUN 23, 2017
Barwa smoliście czarna, ładna beżowa piana, długo się trzyma, w aromacie dużo kwaskowej kawy i bardzo wyraźny aromat orzechów, czuć też przyjemną wanilę z beczki. Smak niestety pozostawia pewien niedosyt po genialnym aromacie, czuć głównie kawę i nuty beczkowe. Ciała mogło by być troszkę więcej, wysycenie średnie. Bardzo dobre piwo!

3.9
Rask0lnikov (1257) - Tallinn, ESTONIA - JUN 22, 2017
355ml bottle. Pours pitch black. Thin beige head. Chocolate, spices, notes of bourbon, cocoa, coffee in the aroma. Coffee, coffeebeans, chocolate, vanilla, spicy notes in the taste. Coffee in the aftertaste. Rather heavy bodied, well balanced imperial stout.

4.2
mats1337 (70) - POLAND - JUN 21, 2017
On tap @ Browariat
Brak dokładnych notatek
Aromat: kawa, słodycz, czekolada.
W smaku paloność, kawa, wanilia, nuty beczkowe, jest bardzo dobrze.

5
cmusche (1) - - JUN 20, 2017 does not count
Pours dark with minimal head. If opened early has strong coffee and chocolate taste finishing with a strong barrel aged notes. As it ages the barrel notes become more prevalent. ---Rated via Beer Buddy for iPhone

4.6
victorsampson96 (91) - North Yorkshire, ENGLAND - JUN 20, 2017
(355 ml bottle) Having searched high and low for this infamous beer, I finally found a small stock, in a bottle shop in Hannover. Four months later, I finally decided to crack it open, to celebrate finishing another round of university exams. As soon as the cap leaves the bottle, the aroma rises in wisps of smoke. This beer is no ordinary beer. A syrup-like fluid glugs into the glass: close to jet-black, with a chestnut hue. It’s carbonated with little streams of fine bubbles, which form a small, tan-coloured head. The aroma is irresistibly seductive: bags of dark chocolate and roasted coffee; then vanilla, and smooth Kentucky bourbon; rich brandy cream; raisins, and cinnamon; clove and walnuts; mineral water, tobacco smoke, charred oak, brown sugar, rum, alcohol, and freshly-tanned leather. Despite being served at cellar temperature, the alcohol immediately warms the mouth, throat, and stomach. The whisky combines and magnifies the aromas - it’s a drink within a drink. And the mouthfeel is silky, creamy and smooth. It lies on the palate and coats the tongue like no other beer I’ve ever tried. It’s almost a shame that this stout is flavoured. But, the coffee and chocolate only bring out the best in what the malt and hops provide. A wonderful beer - surely one of the world’s best.

4.4
VDuquerroux (1639) - Airvault, Haut-Poitou, FRANCE - JUN 19, 2017
Bottle, 355mL. Home. Best before 1/12/2017. A sparkling black beer witha big beige foamy creamy head ; good retention and lacing. Chocolate bourbon nose, same in the mouth with roast and coffee. Medium round sweet warming, light dry bitter. Full body, light to medium texture, soft carbonation, bourbon chocolate lasting finish. Overall, awesome !

4.3
pawos (149) - Sosnowiec, POLAND - JUN 19, 2017
Kolor czarny, piwo nieprzejrzyste. Aromat świetny. Bardzo intensywny - dominuje mocna gorzka czekolada, z nutami waniliowymi, mlecznymi i odrobiną kawy. Wszystko bardzo dobrze się zgrywa. W smaku również piwo jest świetne. Wysoka słodycz, dużo ciała, gęste jak na RISa przystało. W posmaku bardzo wyraźna beczka po bourbonie, która nie przysłania całości. Jest również czekolada, kawa, wanilia. Goryczka średnia, przyjemnie kontrastuje z ciemnymi słodami. Wysycenie niskie.

4.4
MatiF96 (188) - POLAND - JUN 19, 2017
Nieprzejrzyście czarne z niską kremową pianą. Dużo dobrego w aromacie - kawa, wanilia, mleczna czekolada, beczka, sporo słodyczy. W smaku już tej słodyczy jest trochę mniej, jednak reszta bardzo podobnie jak w aromacie. Kawa, czekolada, wanilia. Na finiszu pojawiają się lekkie nuty bourbonu. Jest słodko, bogato, z pełnią smaku. Świetny balans, kawa stanowi kontrę dla słodyczy wanilii i czekolady. Nie zawiodłem się, sporo się dzieje, jest słodycz, jest kawa, jest beczka i to świetnie skomponowane w całość


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 264
Tick this beer for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5