Hakutsuru (White Crane) Sayuri Nigori Sake

overall
87
98
style
Brewed by Hakutsuru Sake Brewing Co.
Style: Saké - Nigori
Nada, HYOGO Prefecture, Japan
Serve in Guinomi, Masu, Ochoko

bottling
unknown

on tap
unknown

distribution
unknown

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 86   WEIGHTED AVG: 3.49/5   EST. CALORIES: 375   ABV: 12.5%
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
SAYURI means "a little lily", which reminds us of the delicate image of Japanese culture. In actuality, the word "yuri", or "lily", has the meaning in floral terms of "chastity" and "innocence", and "SAYURI" is also used as a name for Japanese girls and women. We created SAYURI as an embodied gracefulness of Japan. Using only selected rice and rice koji, this is pure Nigori sake brewed up carefully with the natural water of Rokko.

Tick this beer for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5


3.1
   AROMA 6/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 6/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 12/20
Ferris (14363) - Burnaby, British Columbia, CANADA - APR 11, 2017
Bottle - Creamy light sweetness, almost strawberry. Cloudy white. Sweet and creamy with a light yeast and rice notes.

3.8
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
tia (2047) - Sandston, Virginia, USA - APR 4, 2017
Glass at Peter Chang’s. Pretty milky white. Smell is almost grapes and lightly floral- not as boozy as some sakes. Mild flavor. Pleasant.

3.4
   AROMA 5/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 14/20
BrewWhatIWant (142) - Ontario, CANADA - MAR 7, 2017
Pours milky white with lots of fine sediment. Aroma is very mild. Taste is slightly sweet with a warming alcohol finish. There is a mild floral, mint and rice notes. The rice sediment lends a creamy smoothness. Very good, much smoother than cheaper filtered sake.

3.1
   AROMA 6/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 6/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 12/20
Moravius (1238) - Beijing, CHINA - JAN 30, 2017
Flasche (300 ml) aus dem Sunrise Supermarket, Pyongyang (1.480 KPW). - Weißlich, schön milchig trüb. - Matter Duft nach süßlichem gedämpfem Reis, Blüten und Pfirsich. - Im Geschmack mild, rund und weich mit zarter fruchtiger Herbe, aber etwas matt bzw. mehlig. - Reißt mich nicht vom Hocker.

5
   AROMA 10/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 10/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 20/20
BrewLieutenant24 (1) - Long Beach, California, USA - JAN 2, 2017 does not count
I stoped by a local specialty liquor store, Uncorked, looking for a nigori sake. I’ve had it in restaurants and really enjoyed it. I figured it was time to have a bottle or two at home. I decided to try this brand and a lower price brand to compare. This product gave me exactly what I wanted. A slight sweet taste, pleasant aroma and the milky color I expect with a nigori sake. I will be sure to always keep a bottle on hand as in continue my sake education journey.

2.9
   AROMA 6/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 6/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 11/20
hershiser2 (2795) - Charlottesville, Virginia, USA - OCT 21, 2016
Pink bottle from World Market, Charlottesville. I love me some nigori saki. Let’s hope this one is a good one. Pours milky, similar to almond milk. Milkd rice aroma, with hints of delicate fruit and glue. Flavor is meh overall: gluey rice, tiny bit of floral hints. I can get better at Kroger.

3.5
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 6/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 13/20
DuffLover (126) - Hoboken, New Jersey, USA - OCT 10, 2016
Unique white milk colored sake. Great aroma with floral notes. However the taste is a little lacking in flavor. Not sure I would get again.

3.7
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 16/20
marcus (9970) - Sacramento, California, USA - JUN 24, 2016
Bottle from bhensonb. Pours cloudy white with a few bubbles and a floral aroma. There is a delicate fermented rice flavor that leaves heat on the palate, but otherwise disguises the high alcohol content. I’m not really a fan of sake, but this one was actually pleasant to drink.

4.2
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
Marheb (5632) - San Diego, California, USA - APR 3, 2016
UPDATED: APR 23, 2016 (Bouteille): Un liquide magnifique, divinement laiteux et raisonnablement homogčne qui hurle son onctuosité. Le nez est hyper frais, noisettes, angles bananesques et riz collant qui se retrouve également en bouche. On est dans l’élégance, la texture fondante et une discretion exemplaire de l’éthanol.

3.7
   AROMA 6/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
bhensonb (14881) - Woodland, California, USA - MAR 23, 2016
Bottle from Bine & Vine. Pours rather translucent water/perry color. Aroma is floral and rice. Smooth, smooth medium body. Flavor is clean without a trace of fusil oil. Call it rice with floral aspects. This may be the most delightful sake I can recall. I’ll recap the rest and frig it for the next time Chinese takeaway enters the house.


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Tick this beer for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5