overall
99
98
style
Brewed by Orkney (Sinclair Breweries)
Style: Old Ale
Stromness, Scotland

bottled
available

on tap
unknown

Broad Distribution

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 452   WEIGHTED AVG: 3.88/5   EST. CALORIES: 300   ABV: 10%
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
Bottled, Filtered, Special;
Dark Island Reserve is a strong and full Orcadian Ale - lagered for 3 month in old Dalmore whiskey oakbarrals. This slow proscess makes a classic - a fruity, spiced, oak roasted malt flavour.

A tick is a star rating
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5


4.9
Jarlesinfo (22) - Sauda, NORWAY - DEC 15, 2017
Et fantastisk øl med en anelse av wiskey, det kommer av at ølet ble lagret lenge på gamle whiskey fat. Anbefales. ---Rated via Beer Buddy for iPhone

4.6
loscovar (777) - Villeneuvette, FRANCE - SEP 8, 2017
Bottle near Inverness, Scotland. As Drk isld rsrv. 2015 vintage. Wow, this is great staff. Roasted malts, perfectly balanced whit a wooden whiskey aroma. Genius beer!!

4.7
shawnmurphy (637) - Plattsburgh, New York, USA - JUL 27, 2017
Large bottle was a gift from my friend Damon from his distillery/brewery visit last year in Scotland – thanks, Damon! It pours nearly opaque black with some tan highlights when held up to bright light, along with creamy tan lacing (head dissipates immediately). Aroma: figs, dates, prunes, raisins, molasses, smoke, ash, espresso. Flavor: all of the above, ramped up, along with black pepper, cigar, caramelized brown sugar, oak, Scotch whisky, earth, vanilla beans. Mouthfeel: full-bodied, rich, oily. It romances my taste buds.

4.5
TheBeerMason (7) - - JUN 11, 2017 does not count
I really enjoyed this, a bit different but very tasty. Got it as a present from a friend who got it from fairtex convention.

4.1
cmacklin (1340) - Lethbridge, Alberta, CANADA - MAY 18, 2017
750ml bottle. Pours an opaque mahogany with a thin, creamy, short lived, fully dissipating, brown head. Sweet aroma of figs, prunes, raisins, roasted malt, caramel, oak and just a hint of whisky. Sweet flavour of roasted malt, figs, prunes, raisins, licorice, molasses, tobacco, caramel, chocolate, vanilla and oak with a warming whisky finish. Full body with a creamy, smooth, rich, oily texture and soft carbonation. Excellent complexity. Almost sinful. A world class old ale.

4.8
colui72 (1122) - HONG KONG - APR 14, 2017
Pitch black, with no sign of carbonation, head or lacing: motor oil. However aroma is fantastic: strong wood infused in whiskey, smoke, vanilla and berries. Tastes follow the nose, with wood, whiskey, smoke, leather, roasted malts, caramel, vanilla and dark fruits, medium sweet with a dry finish. Slick mouthfeel, booze very well hidden. A real ale. Fantastic!

3.3
Graham77 (515) - SCOTLAND - APR 1, 2017
750ml bottle. The aroma is pleasant with chocolate, smoke & whsiky. The taste promises much but fails to deliver with a chocolatey sweetness then a vinious astringency in the middle. Full flavoured but not near as good as I expected. Considering the £20 price paid it probably doesn’t deserve the score given

3
likeatrainwreck (572) - Stockport, Cheshire, ENGLAND - MAR 23, 2017
Hmm... like a few below have mentioned, I think my bottle must have been from a bad batch... I’m getting very little of the flavours people are mentioning in other reviews, it’s all overpowered by a dry, vinous tartness. Bit weird... going to have to seek it out again and re-review if it is indeed a bad batch, as it stands I didn’t enjoy this very much at all.

3
Antzrhere (181) - Blackpool, Lancashire, ENGLAND - MAR 7, 2017
UPDATED: MAR 14, 2017 330ml bottle, House of Bruar. Aroma is quite inviting, vanilla, roast. First taste is burnt dry roast, smokey peat but followed by a strong sherry-like sourness. Slightly thin for the style. I couldnt tell if the sourness was intentional or mistaken. Very unusual, but off putting. I didnt enjoy this beer and at £10 a bottle I expected alot more. From reading other good reviews I wonder if this is a bad batch as the tanginess was very pronounced as if it contained Lactobacillus

2.9
UXO (1922) - CANADA - FEB 13, 2017
Appearance: near opaque black with a short, short-lived beige head, no lacing. (3/5) Aroma: burnt sugar, black strap molasses, dark chocolate, wood, dried fruit, cardboard. (5/10) Taste: moderate-high sweet, moderate-high bitter. (6/10) Palate: medium body, low carbonation, lingering moderate bitter finish. (3/5)

Looks kind of like a stout, but tastes like a cross between a Barley Wine and an Old Ale. Quite a bit thinner than I’d’ve expected based on its appearance. Seems a bit oxidised, so I guess it was a mistake to cellar a flip-top for more than three years. A bit meh, especially for the price. (12/20)


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 46
A tick is a star rating
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5