overall
100
100
style
Serve in Snifter

bottled
available

on tap
unknown

Regional Distribution

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 1002   WEIGHTED AVG: 4.3/5   SEASONAL: Special   EST. CALORIES: 324   ABV: 10.8%
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
One of the most sought-after stouts in Bell’s history, Black Note Stout blends the complex aromatics of Expedition Stout with the velvety smooth texture of Double Cream Stout, each aged in freshly retired oak bourbon barrels for months. The resulting harmony of flavors captures the finest features of all three components: malty notes of dark chocolate, espresso and dried fruits, all buoyed by the warmth and fragrance of the bourbon barrel. Aimed squarely at the stout and bourbon aficionados, Black Note makes a grand statement about the art of the dark.

A tick is a star rating
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5


  • Rate This
  • Statistics
  • Locate Sellers




4.2
IrishBoy (4368) - Bakersfield, California, USA - JUN 10, 2019
UPDATED: JUN 10, 2019 12 oz bottle from Bottleworks 2 years ago, Vintage 2014. Nose is chocolate, vanilla, oak, bourbon, and a hint of char. Black with a tiny cinnamon tan head. Flavor is lightly sweet with bourbon and vanilla to compliment the chocolate.

4.4
hauxe (1754) - Butzbach, Hesse, GERMANY - JUN 8, 2019
UPDATED: JUN 8, 2019 Bottle from a New Braunfels HEB. Thanks to wombat23 for helping me track this one down. 2017 bottle listed at 11.2%. Shelf life listed as “unlimited”. Aged a year and a half in the cellar before giving into temptation. Big milk chocolate aroma with the oak and bourbon underneath, complementing nicely. It’s the big, creamy chocolate note that’s in charge though. Taste is bittersweet, leaning to the sweet side, full of fudge and prunes, ends in a warm and boozy finish. Full bodied and sticky with mild carbonation. Delicious, although a bit overpowering with its big ABV punch.

4.7
Andgun87 (58) - Linköping, SWEDEN - MAY 28, 2019
Extremely thick and viscous with a ton of dark complex notes of coffee, dark chocolate and hints of vanilla. Smooth and boozy to drink. ---Rated via Beer Buddy for iPhone

3.2
AmEricanbrew (7317) - Same Trailer, Different Park, Louisiana, USA - MAY 15, 2019
UPDATED: MAY 15, 2019 Bottle at trailer park Oktoberfest tasting. Dark body with tan foam. Oxidized chocolate, dry wood, bourbon, dark fruit roast aromas. Syrupy mouthfeel with soft carbonation. Dark fruit coffee dark roast vanilla whiskey flavor--- vanilla and boozy char to finish ___ not bad

4
GTAEgeek (3533) - Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA - MAR 29, 2019
UPDATED: MAR 29, 2019 2016 bottle, thanks to Brett. Pours black, with a thin, bubbly, brown head. The aroma is mocha, cinnamon, dark chocolate, light soy, vanilla, and charred oak. Sweet and malty, with a mild, roasty bitterness. Heavy body, with a sharp, grainy mouthfeel. This is a bold, spicy, and aggressive stout. Nice.

3.9
mR_fr0g (18268) - Hertfordshire, ENGLAND - MAR 6, 2019
Keg at the Beavertown Extravaganza, day one, 08/09/17. A jet black coloured pour with a loose tan head. Aroma is nutty earthy roast, mineral, blacked roast. Flavour is composed of rich milky roast, coconut, milky earthy roast. Palate is semi sweet, milky. Earthy finish. Really blanced.

4.3
Samuel214 (2825) - Örebro, SWEDEN - FEB 3, 2019
UPDATED: FEB 3, 2019 Flaska från trade, vintage 2012. Svart med liten brun krona. Låg kolsyra. I doft och smak bourbon, toffee, kaffe, salmiak, tjärpastill, mörk choklad, likörpralin, lite marsipan, viol, kaffesump. Riktigt jämn och fin med en mjuk och rund kropp. Smakerna har mognat och integrerats väl. Bra balans mellan sötma och mer rostade toner/kärvhet. Åldrats med värdighet samtidigt som det nog var hög tid att dricka den. Mycket fin impy av den gamla skolan.

2.4
2OLD4BS (200) - west windsor, New Jersey, USA - JAN 30, 2019
UPDATED: JAN 30, 2019 Chocolate with dark fruits. I was very disappointed given the high expectations. Sour taste that does not sit well with me. I bought 4 bottles of the beer and every time I tried a new one it was the same disappointing feeling. Finally I finished the last bottle. Too bad! I will stay away from this one.

4.2
Andrew196 (2211) - Katy, Texas, USA - JAN 11, 2019
UPDATED: JAN 11, 2019 A dear friend brought this back from Michigan for me to enjoy. Pours black with a thin tan head. Nose is full of chocolate, fudge, vanilla bean, and dark malt roast. What a great feel... Smooth but not lactose or sweet heavy. Dry finish with bitter chocolate. We'll make ABV.

4.3
gripweed57 (3859) - Hamilton Square, New Jersey, USA - JAN 1, 2019
UPDATED: JAN 1, 2019 12 ounce bottle from Cranbury BuyRite. Thanks Ryan! Bottled on 10/05/17. I've been saving this one for a special occasion. Happy New Year! My last beer of 2018. Oaky, ashey roasted malt nose. Bittersweet chocolate flavor, first and foremost. Subtle notes of oak, charred wood and perfectly roasted dark malts. Mind blowing. A Bell's stout masterpiece! Happy 2019!!!


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 104


A tick is a star rating
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5