Great Divide Yeti Imperial Stout - Espresso Oak Aged

overall
100
95
style
RATINGS: 1390   WEIGHTED AVG: 4.12/5   SEASONAL: Winter   EST. CALORIES: 285   ABV: 9.5%
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
Espresso Oak Aged Yeti Imperial Stout is a new addition to the Yeti clan. A generous infusion of Denver’s own Pablo’s espresso adds yet another layer of complexity to this beer, combining with the vanilla oak character, intense roasty maltiness and bold hop profile to create a whole new breed of mythical creature. It’s official, you can now have Yeti with breakfast.

Suggested food pairings: Breakfast burrito, eggs Benedict, hash browns, cheesecake, creme brulee.

A tick is a star rating
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5


  • Rate This
  • Statistics
  • Locate Sellers




3.9
LovibondTapper31 (25) - - APR 24, 2019
UPDATED: APR 24, 2019 355 ml bottle. Very dark brown with a small brown head. Full-bodied with a malt and roasted taste, accentuated by the coffee.

4.1
KegPours26 (11) - - APR 5, 2019
UPDATED: APR 5, 2019 Aromi on täynnä kahvia, mokkaa sekä hasselpähkinöiden ja tupakan muistiinpanoja. Keskikokoinen, kermainen runko, jossa on alhainen hiilihappo

4.3
Choos (1127) - Taylors Hill, AUSTRALIA - MAR 8, 2019
UPDATED: MAR 8, 2019 Aroma: balanced malt and espresso Appearance: perfectly black, tan head, sudsy lacing Flavour: hint of grain side note with mocha malt sweetness Palate: thick and finishes carbon and balanced

4.2
eRock_2013 (636) - South Carolina, USA - OCT 13, 2018
Enjoyed sharing a bottle of this around a backyard firepit last night, paired perfectly with a cool Autumn night! This particular bottle was aged 18 months, and it turned out to have matured particularly well into a smooth medium-bodied and complex imperial stout variation! Poured a completely opaque murk dark brown, some khaki foam, still a healthy amount of mild carbonation to it. The aroma was surprisingly not all that charred and roasty, and rather was a very smooth espresso bean flavor. The taste followed as a well-balanced medium roast espresso coffee flavor, mellow roasted malts, notes of vanilla and chocolate. Not vinous at all or tannic from the oak aging in my experience as others have said, the only barrel flavor I tasted was the vanilla. Not really any hoppy flavors to note, but I wouldn't expect the hops to stay around after being aged for such time. There was still a subtle hop bitterness in the finish. The aging seems to have smoothed out any potential booziness to this beer. Overall a fantastic espresso-infused stout!

3.8
beskid (927) - GERMANY - MAY 7, 2018
On tap at Belgium Chimipalooza. Aroma is very dark chocolate, dark roasted coffee, ash. Dry, lots of wooden notes in addition to strongly roasted coffee.

3.4
mieszal92 (1346) - Gliwice, POLAND - APR 26, 2018
Draught. Acidic, sour, heavy roast, lacks body and balance. Tannic, "wood aged" on a cognac side. Overcarbonated. Poor. 3.4 Fruity a bit

3.4
simontomlinson (1766) - Blackburn, Lancashire, ENGLAND - APR 15, 2018
Fluffy dark beige head stayed well on a very dark brown still body. Boozy aroma of bitter berry & bitter coffee Medium to full bodied, smooth on the palate and a sharp clean finish. Bitter espresso tastes with berry & malt

3.7
GregMooreNH (2314) - Bedford, New Hampshire, USA - MAR 24, 2018
UPDATED: MAR 24, 2018 Aroma is heavy roast, coffee and light earthiness. Taste is light chocolate, warming to heavy roast, espresso and a strong hop backbone. Finish is hoppy.

4.3
KevinReddirt (524) - Midland, Texas, USA - FEB 3, 2018
When I find a new Yeti I tend to put it away for awhile. This Yeti Espresso Oak Aged was found at a liquor store on Cerillos Road in Santa Fe last summer. I have held off until now. Cooled and now poured into my Buffalo Bayou tulip glass, I see the usual Yeti dark brown, almost black body. The head comes on strong, a medium tan color, and dissipates into a rim of foam around the glass. I take a sniff, ah, delightful. Baker's chocolate, fresh bread, caramel. Finally a taste, Coffee, yes I get that, chocolate, strong ash or charcoal, a bit of berry. It comes heavy with the bitterness start to finish. Perhaps not my favorite of the Yetis but better than the vast majority of imperial stouts. Great Divide delivers again.

4.4
bigcat03 (406) - Columbus, Nebraska, USA - DEC 24, 2017
UPDATED: DEC 24, 2017 Booked on Dec 11, 2011. Didn't plan on hiding it away for THAT long! Poured into a globe glass. Black color and a thick chocolate colored head. Aroma is HUGE and has espresso, coffee, chocolate, cocoa, black licorice and oak. Initial taste is rich with everything listed above plus a little booze. Kind if an oaky finish. Palate is full and smooth.I'm sure this developed a little past the 9% listed on the bottle. Man, this is good. 9/5/8/5/17


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 143


A tick is a star rating
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5