overall
93
96
style

bottled
available

on tap
available

Broad Distribution

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 623   WEIGHTED AVG: 3.61/5   SEASONAL: Summer   EST. CALORIES: 240   ABV: 8%
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
Our Summer seasonal, Trade Winds Tripel is a Belgian-style Golden Ale with a Southeast Asian twist. Instead of using candi sugar (typical for such a beer), we use rice in the mash to lighten the body and increase the gravity, and spice with Thai Basil. The result is an aromatic, digestible and complex beer made for a lazy summer evening. (ABV: 8%, IBU: 25, SRM: 5, Release: Summer, Format: 750 mL bottles)

A tick is a star rating
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5


3.7
hershiser2 (3832) - Charlottesville, Virginia, USA - JAN 5, 2018
Bomber, Whole Foods. 2016 edition. Pours hazy pale gold with a large off-white head. Aroma is yeast, basil, grasses, stone fruit, gum. Flavor is nice: stone fruit including bitter peach and apricot, basil, grain, yeast. Lightly floral. Very nice.

2.8
erikaraeb (325) - Edinburgh, SCOTLAND - JAN 2, 2018
Boyfriend hit it on the nose when he said this tastes like stewed tomatoes - overpowers the rest of the flavors once you think about it. Some honey, though quite a bit too sweet for me. Not enough of the rice aspect. Not enough yeast to counteract the sweetness and acidity.

3.7
BlackHaddock (7961) - Shropshire, ENGLAND - DEC 24, 2017
750 ml bottle on 23rd Dec 2017. Easy drinking Tripel with lots going on. Golden pour, hazy towards the final glass, off-white head on each pour. Aroma has a delicate spicy feel, some floral notes, a yeasty undertone and a mild bubblegum afterthought. The taste was a pleasant mixture of light fruitiness with a citrus leaning, spicy fried rice and yeasty flavours. Liked it.

3.5
Jyrsa (1011) - - DEC 22, 2017
UPDATED: DEC 22, 2017 Bottle at tasting. Hazy med orange with light grayish head. Wine yeast, barley malt. Sweet with wine, grapes, anise, potato. An interesting tripel to be sure.

3.7
Tide (4566) - Helsinki, FINLAND - DEC 22, 2017
UPDATED: DEC 22, 2017 Bottle from online shop. Amber color, white head. Bitter taste with citrus, hops, thai basil, earthy notes, toast and grass. Bitter finish with citrus, hops, thai basil, toast, earthy notes and grass. Very nice tripel.

2.7
Bill Becker (2010) - Casper, Wyoming, USA - DEC 21, 2017
From Sept 2008 I bought this bottle from South Bay D&L. Thanks Joey! 750ml capped bottle: As soon as I popped the cap, the liquid started to slowly gush out of the bottle but I didn't lose a drop. A hazy, then cloudy, orange gold in colour, I got a 2 finger head of foam with some good lacing. Very nice looking brew. The smell is very fruity and yeasty and spicy(coriander mostly) and yeah, I can smell the basil that they mention on the label. A good nose. The taste is very fruity up front. I get notes of pear and some apple tartness but then the spices move in and take control. Coriander tops it along with some basil and there's an overall tartness that tastes lemony to me. It also has some sweetness that's very candy sugar like and overall, the flavours are pleasing but...and I've seen the comments about this and have to agree...this one is *way* over carbonated. Very prickly on the tongue and cuts down on the drinkability and enjoyment big time. Also, I don't think the alcohol is all that well hidden. This is a light bodied brew, the carbonation, again, is over the top, and it finishes spicy and bitter. Bottom line: This is my first sampling from The Bruery and well, I'm not very fond of this Tripel and I'm a big fan of well made Tripels. A step in the right direction would be to cut down on the carbonation. That's the one factor in this brew that really made it tough to drink never mind enjoy.

3.3
blackflag321 (705) - Lansing, Michigan, USA - NOV 7, 2017
I don’t drink much of this style so don’t turn this down based on my rating. I didn’t think the spices helped the overall flavor. IMHO, they were a negative.

3.6
Quick3Beers (1513) - East Falmouth, Massachusetts, USA - OCT 26, 2017
Pours a nice dark straw from a bottle, thick white head. Sweet herbal aroma dissipates into a yeasty sweet basily wonder. Round, nearly oily mouthfeel. Pretty good beer.

4.1
tandembrauer (1669) - Stavanger, NORWAY - OCT 16, 2017
UPDATED: OCT 16, 2017 Shared bottle at Cardinal, Stavanger. Pours hazy golden with white head. Aroma of light bread, flowers, herbs, mint, lemon balm, fruity notes. Tastes pretty sweet with fruity sourness and a little bitterness. Medium bodied, fruity finish.

4
llkc (2839) - århus, DENMARK - AUG 20, 2017
Duft frisk appelsin malt kant lidt æble most smag sødlig frugtig sød æble saft malt kant lidt krydret eftersmag fra gær


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 63
A tick is a star rating
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5