overall
100
100
style
RATINGS: 2881   WEIGHTED AVG: 4.27/5   SEASONAL: Special   IBU: 60   EST. CALORIES: 441   ABV: 14.7%
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
"I really wanted to do something special for our 1000th batch at the original brewpub. Goose Island could have thrown a party. But we did something better. We brewed a beer. A really big batch of stout-so big the malt was coming out of the top of the mash tun. After fermentation we brought in some bourbon barrels to age the stout. One hundred and fifty days later, Bourbon County Stout was born-A liquid as dark and dense as a black hole with a thick foam the color of bourbon barrels. The nose is a mix of charred oak, vanilla,carmel and smoke. One sip has more flavor than your average case of beer. It overpowers anything in the room. People have even said that it’s a great cigar beer, but I haven’t yet tried a cigar that would stand up to it." Brewmaster Greg Hall;
IBU’s 60-High Color - Midnight
Was 11% abv,
2007 and 2008 - 13% abv
2011 - 14.5% abv
2012 - 15% abv
2013 - 14.9% abv
2014 - 14.4% abv
2015 - 14.2% abv
2016 - 13.9% & 13.8% abv
2017 - 14.1% abv
2018 - 14.7% & 15.2% abv

Editor’s Note: Baudoinia Fulton & Wood Series offering (And the Low Storage entry from FoBAB 2012) is simply Bourbon County Stout aged in the same barrels. It has been alted as it offers no different recipe or barrel type simply the presence of a distillers fungus on the barrels that adds no distinct characteristic to the beer from the fungus itself except for possible oxygen exposure changes. While Brewers Intent indicates that they consider it a new beer, no true distinction aside from this oxidation amount and possible aging time differences separates the beers. It’s essentially a single barrel Bourbon County version something we have always treated as regular Bourbon County Stout in the past.

A tick is a star rating
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5


  • Rate This
  • Statistics
  • Locate Sellers




4.6
explosivedog (3756) - New York, New York, USA - APR 16, 2019
UPDATED: APR 16, 2019 500ml bottle, 2017 vintage. Pours pitch black with a dark tan cap. Chocolate, dark chocolate, walnuts, coffee, raspberry, cherry, strong vanilla, fudge, not much booze and a controlled sweetness. Thick fudgy body. incredible.

4.1
Cokemonkey11 (1538) - - APR 6, 2019
UPDATED: APR 6, 2019 [2018] Bottle at home. Dark dark brown and headless. Smoky appearance. Scent is big, gorgeous, juicy caramel notes. Taste is huge caramel brownie sweetness. Finish is clean. Great beer.

4.2
FROMTHEBOTTLE (103) - Ontario, CANADA - APR 4, 2019
UPDATED: APR 4, 2019 2012 version. Huge bourbon aroma. Dries fruits dominate on the palate. Have been saving it for a few yrs.

4.1
kassner (2221) - Wexford, Pennsylvania, USA - APR 1, 2019
UPDATED: APR 1, 2019 All kinds of cherries and dried fruit, dates and just a bit of port, definetly a big beer, not quite black and a bit oily, a little too sweet but fits the abv. This is on Tap at Wexford Pub.

4.4
blaface (150) - Collaroy Plateau, AUSTRALIA - MAR 30, 2019
UPDATED: MAR 30, 2019 2018 batch. Huge bourbon aroma straight away, followed by super thick body and boozy chocolate at the end

4.2
Jabah (2080) - Bethesda, Maryland, USA - MAR 28, 2019
UPDATED: MAR 28, 2019 No complaints here....just is super-sweet and STRONG! More of a dessert beer. Neighbor who works at Total Wine & More was lucky enough to bring one home and shared. Probably could split this 3-4 ways, as it adds up after a few sips. Heavy bourbon aroma up front. Flavor is the same...whiskey, smoke, chocolate, coffee, molasses, etc. I could see this being better with age though.

4.9
mike67 (1479) - , New Jersey, USA - MAR 11, 2019
UPDATED: MAR 11, 2019 22 oz bottle, 2018. Pours black with tall, long lasting, creamy, brown head and nice lacing. Aroma is of chocolate malt, toast, dark fruit, bourbon, vanilla and spices. Body is full, creamy and smooth. Taste is of bourbon, nutty, roasted malt, coffee, chocolate, brown sugar, dark fruit, vanilla and spices. Finish is long, massive and spicy. Delicious brew.

2.5
NobleTeam26 (219) - Kyiv, UKRAINE - MAR 3, 2019
UPDATED: MAR 3, 2019 Black color, no foam. Sweet alcohol and chocolate aroma. Very alcoholy strong and sweet taste. Too strong, too sweet for me. I don't get why this beer has so huge rating. It's really hard to drink.

4.6
Vighals (5689) - Sørumsand, NORWAY - MAR 2, 2019
UPDATED: MAR 2, 2019 Svart med fingerhøyt lys brunt skum. Lukter fat, eik, vanilje, bourbon, blomster, mørk sjokolade, kokos og melasse. Fyldig. Lett bitterhet, mørk sjokolade, søt kakedeig,, vanilje, salt lakris. Tykk, fløyelsmyk. Lang, alkoholvarmen sitter lenge.

4.7
Daboch (532) - Gdansk, POLAND - FEB 25, 2019
UPDATED: FEB 25, 2019 Ciemnobrunatne prawie czarne nieprzezroczyste piwo z niezłą beżową pianą, która opadając nie zdobi szkła. Aromat intensywny na pierwszym planie bourbon z czekoladą, potem wanilia i ciemne suszone owoce, w tle nuty palone i trochę kawy. W smaku mocarne, króluje bourbon z deserową czekoladą, trufle czekoladowe, karmel i ciemne owoce. Posmak kawy i słodow palonych. Finisz wytrawny przełamany słodyczą, lekko alkoholowy. Ogólnie super piwo, ścisła czołówka imperialnych stoutow


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 304


A tick is a star rating
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5